We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Facilities and Location”
Review of Anakiwa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anakiwa Lodge
Ranked #5 of 5 Anakiwa B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Facilities and Location”
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Straight off the Queen Charlotte Track, in a small residential tract, Anakiwa Lodge is a simple looking cinder block building bristling with services and amenities. The hosts are completely prepared to provide just about anything you need. It became our inside joke, "what ever you need ask Darrell at the desk".

Even with a handful of kids, we loved the experience and came to appreciate another nuance of New Zealand life in the Marlborough Sounds.

One draw back was the weak wi-fi signal in the common areas, no doubt due to the block construction but needs a booster or wi-fi bridge installed.

Room Tip: The terraced room on the end looks bigger and very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    4
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
20
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2011

I stayed here the night before and on completing the Queen Charlotte Track. The family running the lodge are welcoming and have arranged many thougtful extras such as being able to buy ready meals and breakfasts. They had great facilities including use of their kayaks. I particularly appreciated the use of the hot tub after completing my walk.
Debby kindly ran my bag down to the wharf to meet the boat onthe day I left.
The drive from Picton is very scenic but takes slightly longer than the twenty minutes suggested by online route planners

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dilemma32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2010

The Anakiwa Lodge/YHA is by far the nicest YHA that we stayed at on both islands. They have a soft bed, comfortable bedding, and a glass shower. They also have a hot tub, ~300 DVDs to choose from, and free internet. The hosts are kind and service-oriented. They even have kayaks available for free. You get all of this for very reasonable prices (I think around $70 NZD in the fall). My girlfriend and I would definitely recommend this place, and it is convenient the night before going to Blenheim for wine tasting or before catching the ferry at Picton.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott_B_Grant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2010

We stayed at this place only one night as we were driving through, and were sad we weren't able to stay longer. We stayed at multiple hostels/backpackers (mostly YHAs) throughout New Zealand, and have to say that this lodge, while it has backpacker rates, is not a backpacker accomodation -- it is by far the nicest we have ever seen. All of the rooms are remodeled and beautifully decorated, and the lodge has many amentities -- including a brand new spa pool, a movie theater full of DVDs, and free use of kayaks on the lake immediately adjacent to the lodge.

I rarely write reviews online but felt compelled to spread the word about what a great place this is -- and especially at such amazing prices! Definitely worth going out of your way to stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank backpacker94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2010

Picton is so noisy with traffic and trains. If you dont have food ready meals and drinks and survivakl rations for tramps and breakfast can be purchased. nzseakayaking.com will pick up from here.and theres the opportunity to get the mailbus to havelock. Most luxurious YHA I ever stopped at and it did not break teh bank

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BinhamBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2010

Anakiwa Lodge was a magic place to stay after finishing 4 days walking the Queen Charlotte. The hosts were very welcoming and the facilities amazing for the price. They have great sun decks, a massive hot tub, fab tv room and lounge and a huge kitchen. The microwave meals were also very good, and breakfast was great. Do yourself a favour and stay in Anakiwa after finishing the walk instead of heading straight back to Picton, the only thing is that the water taxis only pick up from Anakiwa in the afternoon, however we managed to get the mail run back in the morning that we organised before the walk.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EH78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2010

We are a group of 4 women, we booked 2 rooms for 2 nights January 16-17, 2010, The first night we had 2 double rooms with bath, the 2nd night the lodge was full so all 4 of us stayed in a quad with adjacent bath, but we didn't mind, the room is very clean, bathroom also clean. Kitchen is lovely with lots of space, fully equiped to cook anything you want to. There is a lovely patio you can sit and read or have breakfast or watch the sunset in the evening. The lodge is in the park setting, very peaceful, you hear the bird chirping in the morning. This is not a place for partying, but if you look for a quiet place to relax then this is it. There is no restaurant, no grocery store nearby, you need to bring food in or order home cooked meal from the lodge, but we didn't mind, Internet and wireless are free, there is herbal tea all day around. and a spa you can sit in after a day hiking in QCT. We feel at home in Anakiwa lodge. Darrell and Debby made us feel welcome in their house. We strongly recommend this place if you want to walk QCT, Darrell can take you out on a scenic cruise and drop you off at Toray Bay or Mistle Toes then you walk back to the lodge. We wish we can stay longer. We went for a month tour NZ and Australia, we stayed at 12 places overall, but Anakiwa is our favorite place. One suggestion though, Please put a note in the bathroom telling us to close bathroom window otherwise moths will come in at night!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hnt838689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anakiwa
13.2 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
313 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
1.1 mi away
Okiwa Bay Lodge
Okiwa Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Anakiwa
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Anakiwa 401
Anakiwa 401
#3 of 5 in Anakiwa
127 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tanglewood Bed & Breakfast
1.2 mi away
The Sounds Retreat
The Sounds Retreat
#2 of 5 in Anakiwa
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anakiwa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anakiwa Lodge

Property: Anakiwa Lodge
Address: 9 Lady Cobham Grove, Anakiwa 7281, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Anakiwa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Anakiwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA Anakiwa Lodge is a new modern 5 star hostel similar to a small boutique hotel. You should note that we are located a 30min scenic drive (25kms) from Picton, into the stunning Marlborough Sounds. We guarantee it is worth the drive to experience our premium rooms and sparkly clean facilities. The popular Queen Charlotte Track is only 2 mins walk from our doorstep. The pace here is quiet, comfortable and relaxed. Explore the bays, kayaking, swimming, mountain biking or walking the local tracks. Wind down with a soak in the large luxury hot spa and then retire to the movie lounge for some big screen entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Anakiwa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing