We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful”
Review of Anakiwa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anakiwa Lodge
Ranked #5 of 5 Anakiwa B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 January 2013

This is one of the best and nicest places I've stayed in. The owners are great and really helpful, happy to give lifts and help where they can. This is just of the Queen Charlotte track which runs through some stunning scenery.
Great place I'd recommend anyone give it a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaAJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
There are newer reviews for Anakiwa Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2012

Anakiwa Lodge was the perfect ending to our South Island trip - it ticked all the boxes! Beautiful location,great facilities and the hosts were amazing and very accommodating - Darrel took us out on a personal tour of the Sounds then dropped us off at a bay from which we did a 3hour walk. It was very enjoyable and reasonably priced! Would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We stayed at the Anakiwa Lodge for three nights in September. We were the only ones at the hostel at the time and couldn't have had a better time.

The location is great, and so beautiful, right at the start of the Queen Charlotte Walk. The hostel also has free kayaks to use, which we did a couple of times. There is a spa pool too which is great after a long walk etc. (there's a slight charge for those in dorm rooms)

The hosts were fantastic, we hadn't taken enough food with us (we didn't realise the nearest town was Picton, half an hour drive away) but they were very helpful in selling us food from there store.

Rocky the dog was adorable as well!

We loved this hostel and would love to go back again!

Room Tip: Make sure you organise to be picked up/dropped off in Picton when you book, if travelling without a...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmp90_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Anakiwa Lodge was the perfect way to relax after our tour of the South Island. The lakeside location is beautiful and peaceful. The lodge facilities are excellent: a large and well equipped kitchen, great movie lounge with a huge selection of DVDs and a big hot tub for escaping the cold. Our private room was totally comfortable and clean, as were all of the common areas. Darryl was a very welcoming and thoughtful host who went out of this way to make our stay enjoyable.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacob_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Excellent stay!! we had just come off the Queen Charlotte Track, and the accommodation provided by Darrell and his team was amazing!! There are extreamly good facilites there, at a resonable price. there is also a big DVD collection. the rooms are comfortable, and the position of the lodge is very convenient to the water front, and to the Anakiwa township. It is a small spot, so there are not as many people wanting to use the same facilities. Thanks for the stay!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HuddL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I booked Anakiwa lodge due to the good reviews I had read. Myself and a friend had just finished riding the QCT, were staying one night before returning to Picton in the third week of March 2012. The bed room was clean and spacious, the kitchen and tv lounge facilities more than adequate, though a little unusually located, (separate from the bedroom and bathroom)needed to go outside, down stairs and walk around the back of the house. However it was the owners attitude that was most disappointing (Darrell, we never met his wife). On arrival, after checking in I asked about the frozen meals available. Their website states meals are usually available to March, so we had counted on this after a decent days riding. However, Darrell replied, we have no meals, I have to order them 80 at a time from Wellington and I can't have 80 meals in my freezer throughout the year. He offered us a choice to buy off a list of items such as canned spaghetti, canned sardines. He managed to find one frozen meal, so between the two of us we had this and two cans of spaghetti for dinner.I asked him if the backpacker down the road would have meals and he replied most indignantly, No we are the only ones who have meals, they get their meals from us. The next morning we rode down to the Anakiwa Backpackers to have a look around. A welcoming couple, very homey and wouldn't you know, a variety of different meals available, year round, plus the option to buy ingredients there to make a meal. Anakiwa backpackers source their own meals, not from the Anakiwa lodge.If I returned to Anakiwa, I would definitely stay with Anakiwa backpackers. It wouldnt hurt for the Anakiwa lodge to state on any correspondence re bookings, to advise guests if meals are available at that time or not, due to the fact there are no shops around.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anakiwa, Manager at Anakiwa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Hi - A little sad to read our first average review in 5 years, but to be honest I did sense we had a problem when you initally phoned to complain about the booking deposit on your credit card.prior to even staying here. I did offer to cancel your booking and refund your deposit - you declined.

When you arrived expecting meals ( sorry - usually available does not mean guaranteed availability) I knew we had a further problem. Your travelling companion seemed quite happy with other options, it was only you that had the issues.

Yes, we could email other guests re the frozen meal status but we would also need to include the weather, track conditions, kayaking, fishing etc . etc. It is much easier for guests to inquire via email prior to staying re the specific areas that actually concern them.

Anakiwa Backpackers has meals? That is great but to be honest I have never seen or heard about them before now. If you wish to stay with them in future I do feel that would be an excellent solution for both us here and our guests.

I do hope that your travel experience improves in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

It has to be said, this accommodation owes its excellent reviiews a good deal to the outstanding location. As slow travellers, we had booked the "de lux" room for a week way in advance. But just after our arrival we were taken in so much, that we extended our stay to four weeks, part of the time staying in a cheaper room (which did not impact on our over all impression).
4 weeks left us with enough opportunity to edge gently towards our good humored hosts Darrel and Debby,
Lovely sunny days in the kayaks on the sound, long. long runs and cycle rides on the Queen Charlotte Sound track, breakfasts on the terrace, strolls along the beach, dips into the whirlpool....

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nichtenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anakiwa
7.6 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
13.2 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
320 reviews
1.0 mi away
Okiwa Bay Lodge
Okiwa Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Anakiwa
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Anakiwa 401
Anakiwa 401
#3 of 5 in Anakiwa
128 reviews
2.3 mi away
Smiths Farm Holiday Park
Smiths Farm Holiday Park
#1 of 1 in Linkwater
132 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Sounds Retreat
The Sounds Retreat
#2 of 5 in Anakiwa
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anakiwa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anakiwa Lodge

Address: 9 Lady Cobham Grove, Anakiwa 7281, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Anakiwa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Anakiwa
Price Range: £31 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA Anakiwa Lodge is a new modern 5 star hostel similar to a small boutique hotel. You should note that we are located a 30min scenic drive (25kms) from Picton, into the stunning Marlborough Sounds. We guarantee it is worth the drive to experience our premium rooms and sparkly clean facilities. The popular Queen Charlotte Track is only 2 mins walk from our doorstep. The pace here is quiet, comfortable and relaxed. Explore the bays, kayaking, swimming, mountain biking or walking the local tracks. Wind down with a soak in the large luxury hot spa and then retire to the movie lounge for some big screen entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Anakiwa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing