We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, luxurious accomodation at backpacker rates!”
Review of Anakiwa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Anakiwa Lodge
Ranked #5 of 5 Anakiwa B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 June 2010

The Anakiwa Lodge/YHA is by far the nicest YHA that we stayed at on both islands. They have a soft bed, comfortable bedding, and a glass shower. They also have a hot tub, ~300 DVDs to choose from, and free internet. The hosts are kind and service-oriented. They even have kayaks available for free. You get all of this for very reasonable prices (I think around $70 NZD in the fall). My girlfriend and I would definitely recommend this place, and it is convenient the night before going to Blenheim for wine tasting or before catching the ferry at Picton.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott_B_Grant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2010

We stayed at this place only one night as we were driving through, and were sad we weren't able to stay longer. We stayed at multiple hostels/backpackers (mostly YHAs) throughout New Zealand, and have to say that this lodge, while it has backpacker rates, is not a backpacker accomodation -- it is by far the nicest we have ever seen. All of the rooms are remodeled and beautifully decorated, and the lodge has many amentities -- including a brand new spa pool, a movie theater full of DVDs, and free use of kayaks on the lake immediately adjacent to the lodge.

I rarely write reviews online but felt compelled to spread the word about what a great place this is -- and especially at such amazing prices! Definitely worth going out of your way to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank backpacker94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

Picton is so noisy with traffic and trains. If you dont have food ready meals and drinks and survivakl rations for tramps and breakfast can be purchased. nzseakayaking.com will pick up from here.and theres the opportunity to get the mailbus to havelock. Most luxurious YHA I ever stopped at and it did not break teh bank

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BinhamBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2010

Anakiwa Lodge was a magic place to stay after finishing 4 days walking the Queen Charlotte. The hosts were very welcoming and the facilities amazing for the price. They have great sun decks, a massive hot tub, fab tv room and lounge and a huge kitchen. The microwave meals were also very good, and breakfast was great. Do yourself a favour and stay in Anakiwa after finishing the walk instead of heading straight back to Picton, the only thing is that the water taxis only pick up from Anakiwa in the afternoon, however we managed to get the mail run back in the morning that we organised before the walk.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EH78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2010

We are a group of 4 women, we booked 2 rooms for 2 nights January 16-17, 2010, The first night we had 2 double rooms with bath, the 2nd night the lodge was full so all 4 of us stayed in a quad with adjacent bath, but we didn't mind, the room is very clean, bathroom also clean. Kitchen is lovely with lots of space, fully equiped to cook anything you want to. There is a lovely patio you can sit and read or have breakfast or watch the sunset in the evening. The lodge is in the park setting, very peaceful, you hear the bird chirping in the morning. This is not a place for partying, but if you look for a quiet place to relax then this is it. There is no restaurant, no grocery store nearby, you need to bring food in or order home cooked meal from the lodge, but we didn't mind, Internet and wireless are free, there is herbal tea all day around. and a spa you can sit in after a day hiking in QCT. We feel at home in Anakiwa lodge. Darrell and Debby made us feel welcome in their house. We strongly recommend this place if you want to walk QCT, Darrell can take you out on a scenic cruise and drop you off at Toray Bay or Mistle Toes then you walk back to the lodge. We wish we can stay longer. We went for a month tour NZ and Australia, we stayed at 12 places overall, but Anakiwa is our favorite place. One suggestion though, Please put a note in the bathroom telling us to close bathroom window otherwise moths will come in at night!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hnt838689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2009

If you're looking for some luxury in a beautiful, peaceful setting this is the place for you. The hostel is a minutes walk from the shore and the scenery is stunning.

Debby and Darrell who run it are so friendly and helpful and we wish we had stayed more than 1 night.

The boys spent the morning using the hostels free kayaks to paddle along the bays - how cool is that!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Horace_HB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2009

very clien rooms friendly owner and the best service I experienced on my journey:
more than 300 dvd
Kajaks for free
free internet
relaxing spa
what else does one need?

beautifull nature around just bring your own food --no shop there

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sieben7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anakiwa
4.7 mi away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
1.2 mi away
Okiwa Bay Lodge
Okiwa Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Anakiwa
231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anakiwa 401
Anakiwa 401
#3 of 5 in Anakiwa
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hopewell Lodge
Hopewell Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kenepuru Sound
178 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Sounds Retreat
The Sounds Retreat
#2 of 5 in Anakiwa
125 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tirimoana House
Tirimoana House
#4 of 5 in Anakiwa
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anakiwa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anakiwa Lodge

Address: 9 Lady Cobham Grove, Anakiwa 7281, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Anakiwa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Anakiwa
Price Range: £30 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA Anakiwa Lodge is a new modern 5 star hostel similar to a small boutique hotel. You should note that we are located a 30min scenic drive (25kms) from Picton, into the stunning Marlborough Sounds. We guarantee it is worth the drive to experience our premium rooms and sparkly clean facilities. The popular Queen Charlotte Track is only 2 mins walk from our doorstep. The pace here is quiet, comfortable and relaxed. Explore the bays, kayaking, swimming, mountain biking or walking the local tracks. Wind down with a soak in the large luxury hot spa and then retire to the movie lounge for some big screen entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Anakiwa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing