We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Stay”
Review of Anakiwa 401

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Anakiwa 401
Ranked #3 of 5 Anakiwa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Merimbula, New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Top Stay”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We had a great two night stay in mid March. The place is lovely, as are the hosts. The location is brilliant - could easily stay a week or more if you have time. The hostel is ideally placed at the end of the Queen Charlotte Track and within fairly easy reach of Havelock, Picton and the Kenepuru Sound area. Thanks Shane and Tanya.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnakiwaJacks, Owner at Anakiwa 401, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Hello - thanks you for taking the time to review us. It's great that you too, realise the fantastic location of Anakiwa Backpackers. Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    12
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
63
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oswestry
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We were on our way back to Picton after walking in the Abel Tasman my husband and 30 year old son we had booked the sea view apartment.I was very pleasantly surprised it was more beachfront hotel than backpackers ! The facilities were excellent and the location beautiful . Our hosts Tanya and Shane were excellent . We used the Kayaks one morning and had a trip on the sound.As another reviewer said make sure you pick up supplies on way as no shops or restaurants and Picton is a very windy trip

Room Tip: It depends if you want shared facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhianslip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnakiwaJacks, Owner at Anakiwa 401, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. Glad to hear all your positive comments and that you enjoyed your time in our free kayaks. We look forward to seeing some or all of you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in the Old Veranda and feel we enjoyed a comfortable and complete Queen Charlotte Sound experience with the accommodations Shayne and Tanya have created.

As said in other reviews, one feels as if visiting in a friend's home. Our room was ensuite, which we would recommend, and one we actually preferred to the self-contained apartment because we met so many fascinating people from around the world while cooking, dining, and relaxing in the community spaces.

The location of Anakiwa Backpackers is perfect. It is right next to the Queen Charlotte Track (and the glow-worms on it at night) where we walked daily. There also is a jetty right across the street with wonderful swimming off the end. We enjoyed an amazing kayak trip one evening along the shoreline. Not to mention the stars from the upper terrace picnic table!

As warned by the owners, bring your food and supplies from stores in Nelson or wherever. But the upside is the kitchen is large and stocked with all the necessities for cooking, plus free tea and coffee. Also there is a grill and large outdoor picnic table for group dinners and evening converstaions.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cen811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnakiwaJacks, Owner at Anakiwa 401, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Hello and thank you for your review - we always value feedback from our guests. It's good to hear you enjoyed our setup where you can interact with other guests as much as you want to and that you felt relaxed and comfortable as you would at home. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future should you be visiting Marlborough again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

"I stayed here for one night for an event I was doing in Anakiwa. Couldn't have been happier with my stay. The backpackers is effectively a house and because of this, and the clear commitment to attention to detail, the place feels more like you are staying in a friend's home. A lovely property right on the edge of the Queen Charlotte track and Anakiwa beach. Shayne and Tanya were both chatty and accommodating. Never had to wait to use the bathroom or kitchen amenities. Would happily stay here again if I am down that way."

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wellingtondweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnakiwaJacks, Owner at Anakiwa 401, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Hello - we're so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. If you are travelling to the Marlborough Sounds in the future, it would be a real pleasure to have you stay again. Thank you for your feedback, it is very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Would agree with all the other positive reviews here

We were on honeymoon and stayed for 1 night (would have loved to stay longer but they were full and we didn't book far in advance).

We had the double room with bathroom and enjoyed sharing the high quality lounge/ kitchen with other guests. Lots of great outdoor spaces too. Comfy bed. Overall more boutique than backpackers

Owners Shane and Tanya have created a tranquil paradise. Great base to explore Queen Charlotte Track

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEM1413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnakiwaJacks, Owner at Anakiwa 401, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on us. Glad to hear all your positive comments and so sorry we couldn't accommodate for an additional night - maybe next time you visit the Marlborough Sounds :) Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed here for two nights in 'The Old Library'. The main house sleeps 4-5, with 4 in a separate section with bunkbeds. All these share a kitchen in a cozy renovated house, which is well-appointed and absolutely lovely. However, because one of the rooms has a bathroom, only 6 people max share a bathroom, which works out well. There is also a separate apartment, which is self-contained.

The property is a lovely, bright blue house at the end of the road in Anakiwa, at the end of the Queen Charlotte Track. It is across the road from a pier from which you can swim, and they have kayaks for hire, and the Track is literally on your doorstep, so there is no shortage of things to do. But there are also lots of hammocks for relaxing, if that's more your pace.

It is clear that a lot of work has gone into the property, and it is thoughtfully arranged. It is one of the few backpackers that I've been to where they have herbs and spices to use, free of charge, and it has good appliances in the kitchen. Bed was very comfortable and we slept well.

The owners are very friendly and run a cafe out the front which has very reasonable prices, you can tell they are not there to price gouge, but rather to run a quality accommodation.

Notes:
No shops in Anakiwa, bring your own food (though they have some you can buy)
No washing machine
Water pressure in shower is pretty poor

Would love to stay here here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danastarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnakiwaJacks, Manager at Anakiwa 401, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for such a comprehensive review - we very much appreciate it as do other TA users I'm sure. If you are travelling to NZ in the future, we'd love to have you back to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed for two nights, one in the old verandah, which is in the main house and is really lovely, and the other in the bay-view apartment, which offers more privacy but is not well lit, and its a bit less styled than the main house. The water current in the shower was a bit poor, and there is no washing machine (which was limiting) but all-in-all it was a great stay, even though a bit pricey.
Shayne and Tanya are really very nice and accommodating, helping us with transportation to the QC track, and offering to help with anything else. They even offer their bikes for free.
I would recommend it.

Room Tip: if possible and if you dont mind sharing the living area- take the old verandah or old library rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moreen1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anakiwa
6.3 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
13.0 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
314 reviews
1.2 mi away
Okiwa Bay Lodge
Okiwa Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Anakiwa
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Anakiwa Lodge
Anakiwa Lodge
#5 of 5 in Anakiwa
62 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Sounds Retreat
The Sounds Retreat
#2 of 5 in Anakiwa
117 reviews
5.5 mi away
Raetihi Lodge
Raetihi Lodge
#5 of 84 in Marlborough Region
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anakiwa 401? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anakiwa 401

Property: Anakiwa 401
Address: 401 Anakiwa Road | Rd 1, Anakiwa 7281, New Zealand (Formerly Anakiwa Backpackers)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Anakiwa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Anakiwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Anakiwa 401 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, homely self-catering guesthouse accommodation with waterfront location in the stunning Marlborough Sounds. Perfect place to relax at the end of the Queen Charlotte Track or stay here and enjoy day walks, swimming, biking, kayaking, boat cruises, water-skiing, fishing, marine life, native birds & bush, glow worms and wine tasting in New Zealand's largest wine making region, Marlborough. Double, twin, en-suite rooms with shared full kitchen facilities & lounge or a self-contained apartment available. All beds are fully made up including towels. Free use of kayaks to explore the bays. BBH discounts apply when booked direct. Official Partner of the NZ Cycle Trail. The Green Caravan Cafe is on site offering delicious coffees, ice-creams, cold drinks & snacks during summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Anakiwa 401 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing