We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okiwa Bay Lodge”
Review of Okiwa Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Okiwa Bay Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Anakiwa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We rarely stay at B&Bs, usually preferring self cont, but as we were finishing the QCT we decided to treat ourselves to a little luxury.

From the moment we booked , to all the extra bits and pieces we asked for , nothing was too much trouble. The hosts Susie and Martin were very friendly , warm and accommodating.The house was just lovely, with views to die for, and we were just encouraged to feel at home.

Our room was No1, with the best views of the house, and although it was more expensive we were glad for the extra space, private bathroom and glorious views. It was lovely to have the comfort after finishing the Queen Charlotte Track.

Breakfast and dinner were enjoyed with the hosts and 1 other couple, which to novice B&B-ers
like ourselves , was no problem. We enjoyed the conversation and the food was lovely. Although there was no "menu" , Susie is very flexible with her meal preparation, and all one needs to do is be specific about likes / dislikes / needs etc and she remarkably fits in.

The hot tub was a winner, which we went straight to as soon as we arrived , without even putting our stuff away. Martin dropped down towels / robes for our convenience and popped our bags away.

It was a lovely way to finish our trip. Thankyou to Susie and Martin for their wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okiwa_Bay_Lodge, Owner at Okiwa Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

It was an absolute pleasure to be of assistance to weary travellers. We were so glad you enjoyed your warm up in our glorious hot tub. It gives us great pleasure to share our home/B&B with others enabling them to take full advantage of our spectacular views. We were delighted to see you recover and relax.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2013

Having booked 17 days of motels ( all good thanks to Tripadvisor comments but without views because of prices) around the south island over Christmas and New Year and looking for a night on way back to Christchurch from Collingwood, I was enticed by the picture of the view from the Okiwa Bay Lodge on Tripadvisor. I had not even thought about whether it was a lodge or B&B or what meals were available.
My husband and I were tired from travelling, drove up the very steep hill to the lodge (so realising the view would be spectacular), to be greated by Martin, who made us immediately feel very comfortable about staying in his home. The house and the grounds are really lovely. We stayed in a beautiful room, great bed, furnishings, ensuite and fantastic view of the sound. We went downstairs and spent half an hour in the spa tub outside, again- the view, had a nap, chatted with Martin and then climbed around the property, then another chat and wine with Martin. Susie came home and we had a lovely three course, good value meal prepared by Martin. We really enjoyed their company and learnt a lot about the area. I couldn't stop wandering around the 270 degree verandah just transfixed by the view.
Breakfast was excellent with scrambled eggs, homemade bread, honey and lots of coffee and again more good conversation as well, including a Swedish couple who were there for two nights. We could have sat on the expansive verandah all day but we had to move on to return to Sydney.
I highly recommend staying at Okiwa Bay Lodge and would do so again without hesitation. It was great value for money and very nice to enjoy dinner with such lovely local people.
My only disappointment was that I did not have the self discipline to wake up early enough to see the sun rise over the sound!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okiwa_Bay_Lodge, Owner at Okiwa Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Thank you for your lovely words of support and encouragement. We were delighted that you enjoyed our ever changing spectacular views and hope that your photographs are a wonderful memory for you. The sunrise is exceptional!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Well what can we say? Suzie and Martin were wonderfull hosts to the point of a neck masage from Martin to releive my stress. The house is imaculate and we were made to feel very welcome on our honeymoom. We spent 15 nights traveling the south island and this was the highlight. Views to die for which we photographed at sunset and will take pride of place on our wall at home. The dinner was wonderfull and home cooked by Susie, also a lovely cooked breakfast by Martin. Its a shame we live 2500 kms away as these are the type of people we would love to call our friends.
David & Annalisa
Melbourne
Australia

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnalisaAndDavidS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okiwa_Bay_Lodge, Owner at Okiwa Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

We both felt very honoured to be part of your Honeymoon travels. You have a very thoughtful friend who booked a meal for you as a treat. We wish you both all the happiness in the world for your wonderful future together and hope that one day you will be able to return to our Piece of Paradise. Our ever changing sunsets will be here to delight you. Keep in touch with the photography.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

This would be more accurately described as a 'homestay', rather than a 'lodge' or 'luxury accommodation' as it is billed.

Positives: Nice view, nice hot tub.

Negatives: overpriced, very average food, and owners who won't leave you alone.

If you are looking for a secluded, comfortable place to relax and enjoy the view, and perhaps have some nice food, book somewhere else. This is not a B&B in the conventional sense, but a house that you share with the owners. And you'd better be ready to share. The owners were ever-present for the duration of our stay - they wouldn't leave us alone when we arrived (although we just wanted to relax and enjoy the view), spent much of the afternoon watching TV (which rather ruined the single living space), and joined us with their awkward conversation at the same (indeed, the only) table for dinner and breakfast. The experience was not unlike staying with tiresome relatives to whom you feel obliged to be polite. The husband was caught more than once ogling my partner, which tipped the balance from comically awful to genuinely offensive.

Don't be fooled by the dinner offer either. I asked what was on the menu when I booked, and it sounded tempting. Turns out there is no menu - you get what you're given (stodgy meat stew for us). There was absolutely no hint of this from the owner when I booked, and at $50 a head this is very steep. After our meal, the owners took great pride in boasting that we had unknowingly eaten a goat that they had shot. I have nothing against eating goat (let's assume they have the permits for shooting preparing their own meat), but I have a lot against people who actively maintain a population of a major pest right next to a national park, and then boast about how clever they are. Any of the nearby restaurants will give you a much better meal for a fraction of the cost, and you'll even get your own table.

If everywhere else in the Malborough Sounds is full, I'd recommend visiting another time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Crangon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okiwa_Bay_Lodge, Owner at Okiwa Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Management Decision for 2013 - No children under 16 years of age.

As all our photographs show our B&B is an open-plan design ensuring that the spectacular views can be enjoyed by all.

You were not the only guests staying.

The goat curry was a special request and an alternative was offered.

Your wife breastfed the baby at the table which was awkward for others.

Had you wanted total privacy you could have asked for an upgrade to Room 5/honeymoon suite which has its own sitting room.

You chose to sleep three in a bed with your nine month old child.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

To be called a "Lodge" is something of a misnomor in the case of Okiwa Lodge, which is situated in the South Island's Marlborough Sounds. At best, it is an acceptable B & B which falls far short of genuine New Zealand Lodge standards.
POSITIVES: It is meticulously clean with a spectacular view.
NEGATIVES: While the English host and hostess were warm and welcoming, we found the Okiwa experience to be characterised by frugality. Dinner (at $50 a head and booked in advance) featured rice,broccoli and a type of fish which our hosts told us proudly was very cheap and thrown away by the locals ----information which didn't surprise us! Breakfast toast, prepared earlier for other guests, was re-heated and I had to ask for a cooked breakfast (poached eggs). Although advertised as a choice, it was not offered.
As a freelance travel writer, I've had considerable experience of Lodges and ----in all honesty -- I could not recommend Okiwa Lodge to anyone seeking genuine Lodge accommodation.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank MikeyNorthOtago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okiwa_Bay_Lodge, Owner at Okiwa Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2013

We do state we are B&B accommodation.
We were sorry you left early for a better offer on a boat. Our policy is 7 days' notice for cancellation.
Kahawai is the fish used for bait.
Menu:
Marlborough asparagus wrapped in prosciutto with grain bread crumbs and parmesan cheese.
Thai style Tarakihi fish with kafir lime leaves, spring onions, ginger, chillies and coconut cream, jasmin and wild rice with broccoli florets.
Mini individual sticky date puddings.
A choice of cooked or continental breakfast is always offered.
All rooms have queen sized New Zealand made Ferngrove beds with Lynx beauty rest mattesses, Guradsman ultimate comfort mattress protectors and magnetic wool underlays and Egyptian cotton sheets.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

we spent 2 nights at okiwa bay lodge and felt very welcome by the wonderful hosts, susie and martin. the lodge is immaculately clean, our room was very comfy with a modern spa/bathroom and a toilet next door. the living area is vast and inviting but the best feature for us was the beautiful terrace with the gorgeous view of the entire bay. breakfast was very yummy too, there is the possibility to have dinner too, but i had a sore throat and opted out of that one. we can recommend okiwa bay lodge if you are staying in the area. you will love it.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank clivia g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okiwa_Bay_Lodge, Owner at Okiwa Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Thank you for your kind words. We were delighted you found our "Piece of Paradise" so relaxing. It gives us great pleasure to share our beautiful home with others. We very much look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We stayed 2 nights with Susie & Martin after they bailed us out from a defaulted reservation nearby. They were the greatest of hosts and have created a wonderful setting for a spectacular vacation trip of a lifetime! They have a fabulous kitchen and are both professional chefs! The view of the Sound is awesome and the location is so tranquil that you can easily put your worldly tribulations behind you and truly unwind. Since the drive up there, including their driveway, will take your breath away (both beauty and driving excitement) it is very rewarding that they have presented a spot so awesome that you won't want to drive away for anything.

Patty & Dave Hagen
St. Paul, MN, USA

Room Tip: The Bay View Room is Breathtaking Scenery
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okiwa_Bay_Lodge, Owner at Okiwa Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

Thank you for your kind words. It was a real pleasure to have you stay at our "Piece of Paradise" and we are so glad you enjoyed our spectacular views. As you know the Lodge is a "Labour of Love" and we are constantly working to enhance the beauty of the location. We were delighted that you were able to unwind in the peace and tranquillity. We look forward to your return visit when we will no doubt have more developments to show you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anakiwa
7.1 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
16.6 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
681 reviews
14.9 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
340 reviews
4.8 mi away
Kiwiss B & B
Kiwiss B & B
#1 of 3 in Havelock
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sounds Retreat
The Sounds Retreat
#2 of 5 in Anakiwa
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Okiwa Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okiwa Bay Lodge

Address: 169 Anakiwa Road | Marlborough Sounds, Anakiwa 7281, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Anakiwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Anakiwa
Price Range: £153 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Okiwa Bay Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our modern lodge caters for people who enjoy peace and tranquillity and the special things that nature has to offer. Whether you are just looking for a night’s rest after your walk along the Queen Charlotte Track, or wanting a few days "away from it all", the warm hospitality of your hosts Susie and Martin will ensure that your stay is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Okiwa Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing