We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Okiwa Bay Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$382
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$373
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anakiwa Lodge(Anakiwa)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anakiwa 401(Anakiwa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveller rating
250
9
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
250
9
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssusie martinsouth islandother guestsqueen charlotte soundhot tubmarlborough soundswonderful hostshoneymoon suitenew zealandthree course mealgoattwo nightsbreathtaking viewswarm hospitalitydelicious dinnermaking us feelwonderful stay
Filter
Updating list...
202 - 207 of 265 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We stayed here for one night prior to catching an early morning ferry from Picton back to Wellington. We arrived to an array refreshments, fantastic mince pies (coveted by locals), lavender biscuits and assorted savory nibbles. The location gave stunning views over the bay. Our room was spacious and immaculately clean, as was the entire home and grounds. The hosts gave their time and knowledge of the area freely.
We booked the evening meal which was 3 courses with good wine. The quality and presentation of the food was excellent and superb value for money at just $50 per person. Breakfast provded was also exceptional with a wide variety on offer for the 'pickiest' of palets.
We really enjoyed staying here and would highly recommend for short or long stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lowe103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okiwa_Bay_Lodge, Owner at Okiwa Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We were delighted to be of assistance to you and share our wonderful home and ever changing views with you. We do hope that you will come again. We are here for you to relax and unwind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We rarely stay at B&Bs, usually preferring self cont, but as we were finishing the QCT we decided to treat ourselves to a little luxury.

From the moment we booked , to all the extra bits and pieces we asked for , nothing was too much trouble. The hosts Susie and Martin were very friendly , warm and accommodating.The house was just lovely, with views to die for, and we were just encouraged to feel at home.

Our room was No1, with the best views of the house, and although it was more expensive we were glad for the extra space, private bathroom and glorious views. It was lovely to have the comfort after finishing the Queen Charlotte Track.

Breakfast and dinner were enjoyed with the hosts and 1 other couple, which to novice B&B-ers
like ourselves , was no problem. We enjoyed the conversation and the food was lovely. Although there was no "menu" , Susie is very flexible with her meal preparation, and all one needs to do is be specific about likes / dislikes / needs etc and she remarkably fits in.

The hot tub was a winner, which we went straight to as soon as we arrived , without even putting our stuff away. Martin dropped down towels / robes for our convenience and popped our bags away.

It was a lovely way to finish our trip. Thankyou to Susie and Martin for their wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okiwa_Bay_Lodge, Owner at Okiwa Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

It was an absolute pleasure to be of assistance to weary travellers. We were so glad you enjoyed your warm up in our glorious hot tub. It gives us great pleasure to share our home/B&B with others enabling them to take full advantage of our spectacular views. We were delighted to see you recover and relax.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Having booked 17 days of motels ( all good thanks to Tripadvisor comments but without views because of prices) around the south island over Christmas and New Year and looking for a night on way back to Christchurch from Collingwood, I was enticed by the picture of the view from the Okiwa Bay Lodge on Tripadvisor. I had not even thought about whether it was a lodge or B&B or what meals were available.
My husband and I were tired from travelling, drove up the very steep hill to the lodge (so realising the view would be spectacular), to be greated by Martin, who made us immediately feel very comfortable about staying in his home. The house and the grounds are really lovely. We stayed in a beautiful room, great bed, furnishings, ensuite and fantastic view of the sound. We went downstairs and spent half an hour in the spa tub outside, again- the view, had a nap, chatted with Martin and then climbed around the property, then another chat and wine with Martin. Susie came home and we had a lovely three course, good value meal prepared by Martin. We really enjoyed their company and learnt a lot about the area. I couldn't stop wandering around the 270 degree verandah just transfixed by the view.
Breakfast was excellent with scrambled eggs, homemade bread, honey and lots of coffee and again more good conversation as well, including a Swedish couple who were there for two nights. We could have sat on the expansive verandah all day but we had to move on to return to Sydney.
I highly recommend staying at Okiwa Bay Lodge and would do so again without hesitation. It was great value for money and very nice to enjoy dinner with such lovely local people.
My only disappointment was that I did not have the self discipline to wake up early enough to see the sun rise over the sound!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okiwa_Bay_Lodge, Owner at Okiwa Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Thank you for your lovely words of support and encouragement. We were delighted that you enjoyed our ever changing spectacular views and hope that your photographs are a wonderful memory for you. The sunrise is exceptional!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Well what can we say? Suzie and Martin were wonderfull hosts to the point of a neck masage from Martin to releive my stress. The house is imaculate and we were made to feel very welcome on our honeymoom. We spent 15 nights traveling the south island and this was the highlight. Views to die for which we photographed at sunset and will take pride of place on our wall at home. The dinner was wonderfull and home cooked by Susie, also a lovely cooked breakfast by Martin. Its a shame we live 2500 kms away as these are the type of people we would love to call our friends.
David & Annalisa
Melbourne
Australia

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnalisaAndDavidS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okiwa_Bay_Lodge, Owner at Okiwa Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

We both felt very honoured to be part of your Honeymoon travels. You have a very thoughtful friend who booked a meal for you as a treat. We wish you both all the happiness in the world for your wonderful future together and hope that one day you will be able to return to our Piece of Paradise. Our ever changing sunsets will be here to delight you. Keep in touch with the photography.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

This would be more accurately described as a 'homestay', rather than a 'lodge' or 'luxury accommodation' as it is billed.

Positives: Nice view, nice hot tub.

Negatives: overpriced, very average food, and owners who won't leave you alone.

If you are looking for a secluded, comfortable place to relax and enjoy the view, and perhaps have some nice food, book somewhere else. This is not a B&B in the conventional sense, but a house that you share with the owners. And you'd better be ready to share. The owners were ever-present for the duration of our stay - they wouldn't leave us alone when we arrived (although we just wanted to relax and enjoy the view), spent much of the afternoon watching TV (which rather ruined the single living space), and joined us with their awkward conversation at the same (indeed, the only) table for dinner and breakfast. The experience was not unlike staying with tiresome relatives to whom you feel obliged to be polite. The husband was caught more than once ogling my partner, which tipped the balance from comically awful to genuinely offensive.

Don't be fooled by the dinner offer either. I asked what was on the menu when I booked, and it sounded tempting. Turns out there is no menu - you get what you're given (stodgy meat stew for us). There was absolutely no hint of this from the owner when I booked, and at $50 a head this is very steep. After our meal, the owners took great pride in boasting that we had unknowingly eaten a goat that they had shot. I have nothing against eating goat (let's assume they have the permits for shooting preparing their own meat), but I have a lot against people who actively maintain a population of a major pest right next to a national park, and then boast about how clever they are. Any of the nearby restaurants will give you a much better meal for a fraction of the cost, and you'll even get your own table.

If everywhere else in the Malborough Sounds is full, I'd recommend visiting another time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Crangon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okiwa_Bay_Lodge, Owner at Okiwa Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Management Decision for 2013 - No children under 16 years of age.

As all our photographs show our B&B is an open-plan design ensuring that the spectacular views can be enjoyed by all.

You were not the only guests staying.

The goat curry was a special request and an alternative was offered.

Your wife breastfed the baby at the table which was awkward for others.

Had you wanted total privacy you could have asked for an upgrade to Room 5/honeymoon suite which has its own sitting room.

You chose to sleep three in a bed with your nine month old child.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews