We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Okiwa Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Okiwa Bay Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Anakiwa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 8 May 2014

A lovely B & B located in a very tranquil part of the Marlborough Sounds. Very much enjoyed the stunning sea views and the peacefulness of the surroundings. Wonderful finishing touches with the interior design throughout the property. Warm & welcoming hospitality with lovely tea & cake on arrival. The outdoor hot tub is a great feature of the accommodation. Many Thanks Susie & Martin for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Room 5 highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okiwa_Bay_Lodge, Owner at Okiwa Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thank you for your kind review. It was lovely to have you both stay with us at our Piece of Paradise. Walking a part of the Queen Charlotte Track is certainly a wonderful way to experience part of this region's panoramic scenery. The cedar hot tub is great for relaxing and restoring the muscles. We do hope you will come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

We spent two nights with our hosts Susie and Martin, who could not have been more welcoming. The accomodation is top drawer, the views up Queen Charlotte Sound are drop-dead gorgeous and we felt that it was, to use a cliche, a home away from home. We thoroughly recommend Okiwa Bay Lodge.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okiwa_Bay_Lodge, Owner at Okiwa Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review. It was an absolute pleasure to have you both and your Mum stay here at Okiwa Bay Lodge. We were delighted your cousin's recommendation did not disappoint you. We do hope you will be able to come again to this wonderful region and explore the Queen Charlotte Track. The hot tub will be ready to soothe your muscles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We were a bit torn about reviewing this B & B as we did enjoy our stay but felt it really didn't live up to our expectations of a luxury B & B. We stayed here during a one month visit to New Zealand, staying in mostly B & B accomodation and having stayed in about 10 other B & B's before arriving here. Okiwa Bay Lodge was the most expensive one by a long shot - we paid nearly double most of the other B & B's at $305 a night and this was a discounted rate off the advertised full rate of $460 on Wotif. This was advertised as a romantic escape in the honeymoon room with a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine. We feel as we are giving an average mark we will explain each aspect separately:

LOCATION - Lovely view of the Marlborough Sounds, with view from honeymoon suite. This place gets 5/5 for view. Although be aware it is a drive out of Picton along a very windy road.

ROOM - Clean and tidy room with nice outlook. Standard ensuite with shower and toilet. Basic adjoining sitting room - no TV, selection of books or magazines. Although there was a tea and coffee station, limited choice of tea/coffee and no real milk in the fridge (long life capsules only). Despite being the honeymoon suite absolutely no extras - no fruit bowl or biscuits or luxury toiletries in the bathroom (only a cake of soap, small sachet of shampoo and a refillable pump pack of shower gel). The room was on the cold side.

FACILITIES - Hot tub outside was nice. All other facilities are in main house upstairs. The "media room" for example is the owners tv room with a three seater couch facing the TV on the wall. If you want to watch the TV you join the owners (not sure really where you would sit/fit), as with the main lounge. If weather permits nice deck upstairs also.

FOOD - The food was a big let down. Breakfast was ok. Basic continental with cooked options. Nice homemade jams but appeared as if the jam had been stored in the ramekin for a while. Homemade bread is a nice touch, but to be toasted it requires not to be just dipped in the toaster for one second (very under cooked).Yoghurt was served in its tub and on the first day was on best before date (second day it was Out of Date!), orange juice fermented (for both days). Only offered one cup of tea. Again not exactly a luxury breakfast and presentation really lacked here. We also paid $60ea for a three course meal. Again this was OK. Smoked fish pâté for entree, roast lamb for main and a pancake for dessert. I think for $60 we expected a nice romantic dinner, but this was a dinner with the hosts - ie we just ate what they ate, sitting opposite them. The food was average, lamb was a but dry, entree and dessert nothing exciting. I think for $60 we expected a bit more than an average home cooked meal. In addition, the package we paid for included a bottle of sparkling, but this was also shared with the hosts. One of us only had one glass but there was never any question as to whether we actually wanted to share this or not.

We actually got on really well with the hosts and they are both really friendly. Some might find their approach intruding though, and although it is a B & B some may prefer more privacy even during meals etc.

We have marked this average as although we had an enjoyable stay we really don't believe it hits the luxury standard it is marketed too. We have stayed at other B & B that hit the mark with the extras and little touches that this B & B is lacking. Yes it has a great view and its a nice house but we don't think it's worth what they are charging.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank LabRat23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okiwa_Bay_Lodge, Owner at Okiwa Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for your review.

We have taken note of your comments and would like to apologise for the oversight of the orange juice and yoghurt and will in future ask guests how cooked they would like their toast.

We do try to ensure our guests' requirements are met. We feel it was a shame you did not mention your concerns at the time as they would have been rectified immediately.

We would like to wish you both every happiness with your forthcoming event.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We enjoyed last weekend here for two nights. Beautiful views, comfortable bed, lovely bathroom, good food and wine. We also enjoyed the area and drove up to Portage for lunch one day - bit of a mistake. The hot tub was great - we enjoyed that with a glass of wine both nights. Thank you Susie & Martin.

Room Tip: Room one or the Honeymoon suite (room 5) have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okiwa_Bay_Lodge, Owner at Okiwa Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Thank you for your kind review. Yes, Room 1 and Room 5 have the spectacular views right down the Queen Charlotte Sound but Room 2, the room you stayed in and Room 3 do have beautiful views of the grounds. We do hope you will come again for another relaxing weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We were on our way from Wellington to Golden Bay for the wedding of our daughter, Rachel, to James ... bride, groom and both sets of parents (Mike & Karen had flown in from Minnesota) took over the lodge. Susie cooked us all a fabulous meal (special vegan food for Rachel & James) in the evening. Both Susie & Martin were the perfect hosts - the location is stunning, the rooms spacious and comfortable. We will certainly stay again next time we are in the area and can highly recommend Okiwa Bay Lodge to anyone looking for something special.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raems3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okiwa_Bay_Lodge, Owner at Okiwa Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review. It was an absolute pleasure to have you all for a special pre-wedding evening. We were sorry the weather was not too good on your arrival but the next day did enable you to experience the magnificent views in all their glory. We do hope that you will come again soon to enjoy more of our "Piece of Paradise". We wish the bride and groom every success and happiness for their future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Thank you Susie and Martin for sharing your beautiful home, your special piece of paradise with us. The view from the balcony is absolutely stunning as you watch it change from day to night to day, the yachts sail in and out, and the clouds gather and part. We stayed in room 5 which was downstairs from the main house, and the bedroom faces the same direction as the balcony with 180 degree view of the Sounds.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AwTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okiwa_Bay_Lodge, Owner at Okiwa Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted you loved our constantly changing views as much as we do. Next time you come we hope you will be able to stay longer and really explore this wonderful area. When you need to escape to peace and tranquillity just give us a ring.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Highly recommend stay at Okiwa Bay Lodge. Susie and Martin's house is set high up on the hill overlooking Okiwa Bay, with views from our room looking right out throughout the Sounds. It is a stunning view, and very beautiful house. We stayed in the bottom room (Room 5 I think) which was like a mini lodge with our bedroom, lounge, outdoor area and bathroom all downstairs from the main house. Very private and relaxing, it was perfect for us. Martin and Susie were great hosts, pointing us in the right direction for walking sections of the Queens Charlotte track, restaurants and even gave us fishing rods to borrow to go fishing!
Beautiful place to stay, thanks very much - we will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okiwa_Bay_Lodge, Owner at Okiwa Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you for your kind review. It gives us a great deal of pleasure to share our beautiful home with others and of course the spectacular views. We were pleased you found our Room 5 suite so relaxing and private. We do hope you will come again and we can guide you to explore some more of this outstanding region. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anakiwa
7.1 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
16.6 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
666 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sounds Retreat
The Sounds Retreat
#2 of 5 in Anakiwa
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Kiwiss B & B
Kiwiss B & B
#1 of 3 in Havelock
52 reviews
5.9 mi away
Kippilaw House
Kippilaw House
#3 of 24 in Picton
129 reviews
5 mi away
Historic Sennen House Boutique Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Okiwa Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okiwa Bay Lodge

Address: 169 Anakiwa Road | Marlborough Sounds, Anakiwa 7281, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Anakiwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Anakiwa
Price Range: £149 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Okiwa Bay Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our modern lodge caters for people who enjoy peace and tranquillity and the special things that nature has to offer. Whether you are just looking for a night’s rest after your walk along the Queen Charlotte Track, or wanting a few days "away from it all", the warm hospitality of your hosts Susie and Martin will ensure that your stay is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Okiwa Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing