We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sounds Retreat

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Sounds Retreat
Ranked #2 of 5 Anakiwa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Heusden, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unique”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

How UNIQUE a stay can be??!! Magnificent views over the bay, perfectly located in this extraordinary area. The best hosts imaginable (always present when needed, but never too present either, just perfect!) Not only a nicely large, very neat and fully 'dressed' suite, but also the best bathroom ever, a very 'welcome' laundry room and lots of space all around. Very good food, prepared by a communicative chef (Tony) and served to perfection by his lovely wife Anne. On top of all this you have access their (very large) professional fitness room. And you also get a car at your disposal for the whole duration of your stay; not just a car, but a very fancy Mini convertible, making it an even greater pleasure to tour around this lovely Marlborough area. And before touring, Anne & Tony provide you with the best detailed travel itineraries, making all the bookings you want in advance, so no worries, no searching,... Just sit back and relax, apparently their aim for their guests, both in and outside of their wonderful property. Having traveled a lot already, my husband and I have already been to quite some luxurious, top of the bill places, and we have to admit that the Sounds Retreat is now very high on our list after having stayed there a couple of weeks ago. At a certain moment I thought: 'there has to be something that is missing or not all that perfect', but I could not come up with one single detail, and for me, that means it all. Undoubtedly highly recommendable, especially if you like to stay at the best places possible, not having to worry about whatsoever...!! And really unique in its concept! Worth more than a detour, and next time we are in the (even far) neighborhood, we will definitely go back to the Sounds Retreat, for us being the PERFECT RETREAT! Martine & Yves De Somere / Ghent (Belgium).

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSoundsRetreat, Owner at The Sounds Retreat, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
We're so thrilled that you found our lodge UNIQUE and the PERFECT RETREAT! Anne and I were delighted to pamper you and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. The Mini awaits you...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
90
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

My wife and I are experienced 5star travellers and we well know about the slightest differences in top notch hospitality. So just for fun we developped a scoring system many years ago to remember the nicest places we've been to. With the maximum of 100 everything above 90 is just incredible - here in The Sounds Retreat we have the rare and perfect 100 ! Why ?
First of all, Tony and Anne are the perfect hosts to pamper you with all the amenities you could think of, they really go every extramile just to see you smile, of course the food is delicious, having your private dinner with a view is extraordinary.
Secondly, the view is stunning - I mean STUNNING !, imagine sitting in the best whirlpool I ever saw under the stars overlooking the whole sound - Tony and Anne were lucky enough to find such a masterpiece of land on a hill at the very end of the Marlborough Sounds, so what a location !
Then the lodge itself is just amazing, it is spacious and modern, and you are the only guests enjoying your privacy - that's really exclusive.
It's just the perfect 100. We couldn't recommend higher.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans-Peter1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSoundsRetreat, Owner at The Sounds Retreat, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Many thanks for such a wonderful compliment. Anne and I thoroughly enjoyed your company and look forward to welcoming you back to our "stunning" view soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

The Sounds Retreat is over & above any other luxury accommodation we stayed at during our New Zealand vacation. The location is drop-dead gorgeous with a vista of the bay & countryside. The level of care for every detail was exceptional from the lovely & comfortable room, the wonderfully appointed bathroom, the fabulous outdoor spa tub, and the great gym. Every breakfast & dinner we were treated to the excellent culinary skills of host Tony Brooker and the charm of his lovely wife Anne. Additionally we were provided site seeing assistance for the Marlborough area including use of a Mini car convertible. We are already planning for our return visit in 2014 because it was such an extraordinary experience.

Room Tip: There's only one room at this exclusive retreat and it's the very best one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RussellArons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSoundsRetreat, Owner at The Sounds Retreat, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
It was our pleasure to host you both and we're so glad you enjoyed the retreat but really happy that you enjoyed Marlborough and it's untouched beauty. We're looking forward to hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

What a warm welcome by the owners Anne and Tony! Grateful that we found this awesome place where we spent a great time with our kids - enjoying the cordial hospitality, excellent food and wine (Tony is an incredible cook & sommelier), the amazing view, the jacuzzi and terrace. Unbelievable beauty! Situated close to the start of the Queen Charlotte Trail, not far from the wine region of Marlborough and surrounded by a peaceful, untouched nature. With the help of Anne we found much more to do than we expected: we had a nice, little challenging bike ride on the trail (the bikes are provided for free), some very nice recommendations for lunch, a session in the house-own gym and a relaxing massage on the terrace. We loved it. Auf Wiedersehen, Anne & Tony!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BBMau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony B, Owner at The Sounds Retreat, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Thank you for such a fantastic review! We're so pleased you had such a great time and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. And thanks for being our first TripAdvisor reviewer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anakiwa
14.7 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
14.2 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
5.9 mi away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
16.4 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#8 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.1 mi away
Okiwa Bay Lodge
Okiwa Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Anakiwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sounds Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sounds Retreat

Property: The Sounds Retreat
Address: 215 Anakiwa Road, Anakiwa 7281, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Anakiwa
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Anakiwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sounds Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the stunning Marlborough Sounds on New Zealand's South Island, The Sounds Retreat is a spectacular paradise showcasing nature and luxury living at its finest. With a focus on unparalleled service and exquisite creature comforts, this award-winning private lodge is an ideal way to vacation in a most marvellous destination. Located just 5 minutes from the famous 70km long Queen Charlotte Track. Spend plenty of time outdoors discovering the incredible Marlborough Sounds terrain, hiking or biking the Queen Charlotte Track, kayaking around placid waters, private fishing trip or venturing on a local wine tasting excursion. Whether you are looking to relax and opt for an art gallery crawl and trip to the spa, or you are seeking adrenaline-filled adventure and choose quad biking, zip lining, horseback riding, or eco tours - this destination has something for every interest and pursuit. With just a single bedroom suite, your time here is a private escape, and every amenity and facility is yours to enjoy in blissful exclusivity. The open-plan suite has private access or can be entered through the main property, and features picture windows and glass doors leading to spacious decks with private hot tub. All the thoughtful touches you could imagine are present and accounted for, including turndown service, heated bathroom flooring, heated cabana with stocked bar fridge, espresso maker, plasma television, iPod dock with iPod, and complimentary wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The Sounds Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing