We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility and utter bliss”
Review of The Sounds Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sounds Retreat
Ranked #2 of 5 Anakiwa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We were so impressed with the easy welcoming manner of Tony and Ann and how they endeavoured to make our stay as pleasant and enjoyable as possible. The accommodation was incredibly thoughtfully put together, and made it all so easy just to relax and soak in the views. The outdoor dinner in the cabana is a lovely touch and we felt very spoilt. A fabulous couple offering a very special retreat.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSoundsRetreat, Owner at The Sounds Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you Sue for your kind words and I hope we lived up to our name and you left feeling relaxed and rejuvenated. Hopefully we'll see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

If your idea of a holiday or a short break is one of relaxation, good food and wine incredible views
being pampered, adventure, super comfy bed ,privacy, luxury amenities, cruising around in a Mini S Cooper car, well The Sounds Retreat is the place to go. We have just had the pleasure of staying 2 nights and from the minute you arrive and experience the views and ambience you are in a relaxed state of mind. The views are jaw dropping, the facilities state of the art and the little extras like the chilled champagne on arrival, the fruit bowl, the chocolates, the mini bar make it feel extra special. Well then all you have to do is relax, have a spa, watch a movie, wait for your massage and then get a call for your evening meal in the private cabana on the deck overlooking the Queen Charlotte Sounds. A sumptuous four course meal with matching wines, and the view well I say no more. Wake up to a fully cooked breakfast with the best freshly squeezed juices and then head off for a boat cruise on the Sounds to swim with the dolphins makes for a very special day. Are you feeling it, you really have to experience it for yourself, if you need a recharge The Sounds Retreat is the place for you..

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnandKim65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSoundsRetreat, Owner at The Sounds Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review! We never get tired of seeing the look on guests faces when they first see the view from the suite. It's a shame the weather wasn't perfect but you managed to get a lot done which is great. I hope the memories stay with you for a long time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We absolutely enjoyed our stay with Tony and Ann. It was almost like staying at a friends house, albeit a very luxurious one. Everything was in place to just sit back and relax. Obviously there is a lot to explore in the area as well and you can use the cute Mini car to do it.
We travelled with our baby daughter Rosalie (6 months old) and there was a baby bed and a highchair available.
The food was incredible and Tony makes sure that you have the right wine to accompany it.
The best part though is the view of the Sound, especially from the hot tub on the terrace.
Too bad that all this is at the other end of the world otherwise we would already have been back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSoundsRetreat, Owner at The Sounds Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

We're so glad you had a great time in Marlborough and with us the The Sound Retreat. We loved having your gorgeous daughter stay here too. I know it's a long way to come but we hope you make it again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My husband and I came here for my birthday. We travel a lot and have done a lot of 6 star cruising and feel TSR should be rated 6 star. Anne and Tony have gone to a lot of trouble to make sure that your every need or want is catered for. Anne asked me if there was anything I could think of that they could improve and there was nothing it was just perfect. The view is to die for, the room is beautiful, loved the heated floor in the bathroom( as it was quite cool when we stayed), loved the perfumed lilies in the entry which perfumed the entire area, the well appointed laundry was great as we had been travelling, wonderful comfy bed, the very private jacuzzi , the little mini convertible in fact anything that we wanted was there at our fingertips. The attention to detail is just superb. The evening meal in the cabana, well how do I describe....beautiful ...perfectly presented, wonderful tastes,superb wines,service was discrete but they were there if you needed them. Anne and Tony are the ultimate perfect hosts and go out of their way to ensure that your stay is total perfection. I can see the day, as the word spreads about this perfect place, when you will need to go on a waiting list to get in. A memorable visit that will stay inside my heart forever!

Room Tip: You will only find perfection here! ( I ticked pool in error and was unable to untick)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSoundsRetreat, Owner at The Sounds Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

We're thrilled you spent your birthday with us and hope you remember your stay here for a long time to come. Hopefully we'll get to host you again in the not too distant future! Thank you for the wonderful review too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Thank you so much Anne and Tony for an unbelievably wonderful short stay. We felt as though we had been away from the hustle and bustle of the city for ages! You should be incredibly proud of your product and the level of service you deliver - just the right amount of everything! We're your biggest fans and will tell everyone we know :-)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moomootweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSoundsRetreat, Owner at The Sounds Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Thank you for the lovely review and for being such fans. It's a shame you only had time for a short stay but we're glad you felt relaxed. We're looking forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

My wife and I were fortunate enough to contact Tony and Anne right as they were getting a cancellation, and once we arrived we realized how lucky we were. The setting, the architecture and design, the sensitivity to the Marlborough Sounds site, the care with which the amenities have been unobtrusively provided, and the locally sourced, always delicious meals and wine, all added to one of the best vacations we have ever experienced. For us, a perfect spot, and one we hope to return to many times. In addition, Tony and Anne are warm, intelligent, and caring hosts. You can feel how much they care about The Sounds Retreat, and how much they genuinely want their guests to have a completely satisfying visit - this is an extraordinary achievement. I can't recommend The Sounds Retreat too glowingly!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSoundsRetreat, Owner at The Sounds Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Thank you so much for the compliments. We're thrilled you had such a great New Year's Eve with us and hope that your work brings you back to this stunning part of the world again soon. I hope LA is treating you well too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Veni, vidi, vici said Caesar when he defeated Pharnakas the 2nd within five days. Although we had only three days, we already said at the first day: We came, we saw, we were fascinated! It's such an amazing place, it's an incredible view, in front of us a calm sea, green Mountains which gently ascending from the sound, a remarkable tranquility and at the end a sensual scenery. Ann und Tony our hosts, gave us a maximum of attention. We felt like being at home Tony the new Star-Cook in New Zealand got an additional star from the German Gourmet-Team, Mascha and Peter. Now he is the first one who has 4 stars. Congratulations Tony! We are sorry that we couldn't stay longer. The three nights we had, were definitely too short. Dear Anne, dear Tony: Thank You very much for your warm welcome and for your friendly pampering. We wish you all the best and a lot of success with The Sounds Retreat.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSoundsRetreat, Owner at The Sounds Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2013

What a fantastic review! We're so thrilled that you felt like being at home. It is a shame you couldn't stay longer especially as the rain fell for a whole day. We hope you have a fantastic summer in Germany and look forward to welcoming you back again in the not so distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anakiwa
14.2 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
328 reviews
7.1 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
14.8 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
654 reviews
0.1 mi away
Okiwa Bay Lodge
Okiwa Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Anakiwa
232 reviews
1.3 mi away
Anakiwa 401
Anakiwa 401
#3 of 5 in Anakiwa
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sounds Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sounds Retreat

Address: 215 Anakiwa Road, Anakiwa 7281, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Anakiwa
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Anakiwa
Price Range: £433 - £646 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sounds Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the stunning Marlborough Sounds on New Zealand's South Island, The Sounds Retreat is a spectacular paradise showcasing nature and luxury living at its finest. With a focus on unparalleled service and exquisite creature comforts, this award-winning private lodge is an ideal way to vacation in a most marvellous destination. Located just 5 minutes from the famous 70km long Queen Charlotte Track. Spend plenty of time outdoors discovering the incredible Marlborough Sounds terrain, hiking or biking the Queen Charlotte Track, kayaking around placid waters, private fishing trip or venturing on a local wine tasting excursion. Whether you are looking to relax and opt for an art gallery crawl and trip to the spa, or you are seeking adrenaline-filled adventure and choose quad biking, zip lining, horseback riding, or eco tours - this destination has something for every interest and pursuit. With just a single bedroom suite, your time here is a private escape, and every amenity and facility is yours to enjoy in blissful exclusivity. The open-plan suite has private access or can be entered through the main property, and features picture windows and glass doors leading to spacious decks with private hot tub. All the thoughtful touches you could imagine are present and accounted for, including turndown service, heated bathroom flooring, heated cabana with stocked bar fridge, espresso maker, plasma television, iPod dock with iPod, and complimentary wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Sounds Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing