We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful treat after the Queen Charlotte Track”
Review of The Sounds Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sounds Retreat
Ranked #2 of 5 Anakiwa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful treat after the Queen Charlotte Track”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We only had one night at The Sounds Retreat but wish it had been longer. Tony and Anne have created a truly 6 star experience on the Marlborough Sounds. The view is simply amazing and constantly changing. You could look at it all day. The accommodation was everything you could wish for in a luxury lodge. What a fantastic way to escape.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSoundsRetreat, Owner at The Sounds Retreat, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Angela, thank you for the lovely review. It's a shame you couldn't stay longer but I'm happy you had such a marvelous time on the track and with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
106
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Verbier
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Is the key to this extraordinary experience
It is only one room to rent but all of the finest ,plus a stunning view.the bed is very comfortable ,drinks al inclusive,use. Of a laundry,a real boon on a long trip. Superb private gym with Apple TV. The icing on the cake a cooperS convertible to tour the vineyards etc

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Thomaskerr7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSoundsRetreat, Owner at The Sounds Retreat, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
I'm so thrilled you enjoyed your stay here. It was unfortunate Anne was away at the time but I hope we made up for it with the special dinner. Can't wait for you to visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Superb views, excellent wines and food, and total pampering was a wonderful way to relax after the Queen Charlotte walk. The package of the mini Cooper was well appreciated, as was the fact that we were the only ones present (apart from our great hosts!) Running holiday accommodation at Monticello in Apollo Bay, we really appreciated and noted the attention to detail throughout our stay. We would definitely return!!.thanks Tony and Ann.
Suzanne and John W Melbourne

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greatoceanvistas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSoundsRetreat, Owner at The Sounds Retreat, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
We appreciate your great review and are very relieved you managed to unwind and relax after your long walk along the amazing queen charlotte track. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

We chose to spend the last few days of our honeymoon at the Sounds Retreat and what a perfect way to end! Whilst it's not cheap to stay it's absolutely worth every penny and we were amazed by everything we experienced here. Tony and Anne (the owners) have done a truly amazing job of creating a 5 star plus experience. The accommodation itself is spacious, modern and comfortable - with tiny little things (like the automated night time lights) that show how much thought has gone into its design. Tony does a fantastic job in the kitchen, serving up original and delicious meals everyday and matching each dinner course with complementing wines. The gym has a very impressive range of equipment that could rival many commercial gyms and the private deck with hot tub was perfect for relaxing on whilst admiring the stunning views down the Sound. We had decided to do a package with activities organised for us on every day and were very impressed. All the activities we did we're brilliant fun and very well run. Then on our return to the retreat we would find some freshly prepared chocolate treats waiting for us (how we managed to actually drag ourselves home is still a mystery)! Anne and Tony were attentive but not intrusive and created a relaxing, friendly atmosphere for our stay. There is nothing that we could think of to improve the retreat in any way. We hope to visit again some day but until then we have some amazing memories! Thank you so much Anne and Tony.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Will D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSoundsRetreat, Owner at The Sounds Retreat, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thanks so much for the beautiful review. We loved being a part of your "weddingmoon" and hope you make it back here again soon. PS Anne is in charge of the homemade chocolates :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2014

A perfect getaway with unique service.The stylish decor,comfortable lounges,with a view close to heaven.If your looking for a private couples retreat with great attention to detail and all the luxuries you need,this is your place!The food and wine was outstanding,all our needs were met.Greg especially loved driving the Mini Convertable!
Thank you Anne and Tony for a most memorable stay.Elissa and Greg.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kincoppal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSoundsRetreat, Owner at The Sounds Retreat, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
I'm thrilled you had such a good time here and that we provided everything you could want. The mini has been a huge hit with all our guests as it's the perfect way to explore Marlborough, especially with the roof down! Hope to see you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We were so impressed with the easy welcoming manner of Tony and Ann and how they endeavoured to make our stay as pleasant and enjoyable as possible. The accommodation was incredibly thoughtfully put together, and made it all so easy just to relax and soak in the views. The outdoor dinner in the cabana is a lovely touch and we felt very spoilt. A fabulous couple offering a very special retreat.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSoundsRetreat, Owner at The Sounds Retreat, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you Sue for your kind words and I hope we lived up to our name and you left feeling relaxed and rejuvenated. Hopefully we'll see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2013

If your idea of a holiday or a short break is one of relaxation, good food and wine incredible views
being pampered, adventure, super comfy bed ,privacy, luxury amenities, cruising around in a Mini S Cooper car, well The Sounds Retreat is the place to go. We have just had the pleasure of staying 2 nights and from the minute you arrive and experience the views and ambience you are in a relaxed state of mind. The views are jaw dropping, the facilities state of the art and the little extras like the chilled champagne on arrival, the fruit bowl, the chocolates, the mini bar make it feel extra special. Well then all you have to do is relax, have a spa, watch a movie, wait for your massage and then get a call for your evening meal in the private cabana on the deck overlooking the Queen Charlotte Sounds. A sumptuous four course meal with matching wines, and the view well I say no more. Wake up to a fully cooked breakfast with the best freshly squeezed juices and then head off for a boat cruise on the Sounds to swim with the dolphins makes for a very special day. Are you feeling it, you really have to experience it for yourself, if you need a recharge The Sounds Retreat is the place for you..

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnandKim65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSoundsRetreat, Owner at The Sounds Retreat, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! We never get tired of seeing the look on guests faces when they first see the view from the suite. It's a shame the weather wasn't perfect but you managed to get a lot done which is great. I hope the memories stay with you for a long time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anakiwa
14.2 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
315 reviews
7.1 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
8.7 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Okiwa Bay Lodge
Okiwa Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Anakiwa
224 reviews
1.3 mi away
Anakiwa 401
Anakiwa 401
#3 of 5 in Anakiwa
127 reviews
4.8 mi away
Kiwiss B & B
Kiwiss B & B
#1 of 4 in Havelock
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sounds Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sounds Retreat

Property: The Sounds Retreat
Address: 215 Anakiwa Road, Anakiwa 7281, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Anakiwa
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Anakiwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sounds Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the stunning Marlborough Sounds on New Zealand's South Island, The Sounds Retreat is a spectacular paradise showcasing nature and luxury living at its finest. With a focus on unparalleled service and exquisite creature comforts, this award-winning private lodge is an ideal way to vacation in a most marvellous destination. Located just 5 minutes from the famous 70km long Queen Charlotte Track. Spend plenty of time outdoors discovering the incredible Marlborough Sounds terrain, hiking or biking the Queen Charlotte Track, kayaking around placid waters, private fishing trip or venturing on a local wine tasting excursion. Whether you are looking to relax and opt for an art gallery crawl and trip to the spa, or you are seeking adrenaline-filled adventure and choose quad biking, zip lining, horseback riding, or eco tours - this destination has something for every interest and pursuit. With just a single bedroom suite, your time here is a private escape, and every amenity and facility is yours to enjoy in blissful exclusivity. The open-plan suite has private access or can be entered through the main property, and features picture windows and glass doors leading to spacious decks with private hot tub. All the thoughtful touches you could imagine are present and accounted for, including turndown service, heated bathroom flooring, heated cabana with stocked bar fridge, espresso maker, plasma television, iPod dock with iPod, and complimentary wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Sounds Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing