We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By the lake on an Island in a Lake”
Review of Rockville Inn B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mindemoya
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rockville Inn B&B
Ranked #2 of 3 Mindemoya B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“By the lake on an Island in a Lake”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Sounds confusing, right?! was to me too when my husband described where we were going on the long weekend. Manitoulin Island is a gem in the North Channel area of Lake Huron. It is an island of freshwater lakes. Rockville Inn B&B is a beautiful cottage/ B&B on Manitou lake, the largest freshwater lake on an island in the world - phew! but the description does not do justice to the island, its people and its charming geography. Rockville Inn embodies the spirit of the island - Carol and Ron are welcoming, warm hosts who are ready with stories, anecdotes and little historical facts of the island and its settlers. Carol is generous host and an excellent guide.
We had 2 kinds of rooms - one was a cottage that slept 4 and one was in the B&B part of the property. The kitchen was well equipped and rooms immaculate. It was interesting to find little "antiques" all over the cottage! The garden and boardwalk area was well maintained and you could just dive in to the clear water! I would love to visit again and highly recommend this cottage and B&B!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, if you are travelling in a group of 4 or even as a couple, take the cottage! i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Himachal_2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
27
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights. We chose this place based on reviews we read here. We were not disappointed. Our hostess was very gracious and helped us find our way around Manitoulin Island, in addition to providing great breakfasts on both days. When we returned in the evenings, there was a fire burning in the living room fireplace. This was very welcoming, and romantic as well. Our room was very comfortable and clean, The view from our window was overlooking the amazing garden and Lake Manitou. We would definitely return..

Room Tip: We were in the Irene room, which had a magnificent view of the garden and lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldenbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 1 January 2013

When two best friends go on a Thelma and Louise roadtrip,the Rockville Inn B&B was the perfect destination. And yes we made it back alive to talk about it. From first sight this lovely home did nothing but exceed expectations. With warmth and humour our hostess, Carol, introduced us to her property and all its amenities. The perennial gardens were alive with hummingbirds and butterflies and encircled the gazebo with its overstuffed chairs just waiting for us. Perfect spot for Scrabble and wine! Lake Manitou was warm, smooth as glass and quite possibly the best place to skinny-dip in the entire world. We seemed to turn into cackling 5 yr olds overnite with the sheer joy of being in this little paradise. Breakfast, homemade to perfection, was served up lovingly by Carol and her precious grand-daughter. Everything about this place reverberates with the wonderful memories of past guests and Sheppard family history. Carol and Ron both made us feel like we have known them forever. This haven will be an annual Thelma and Louise retreat for us. But must say...the only thing missing was Brad Pitt!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I just stayed the third time at Rockville over Thanksgiving and it never fails to live up to my high expectations. The Inn is lovely, beautifully landscaped, overlooking the lake. Each room is well done with an interesting theme. There is a lot of privacy if you like in your room or you can go into the common area to sit in front of the fire and watch TV and listen to music. I felt like I owned the whole place because the owners do not live in the Inn but just beside. At the same time I got all the attention I needed and Carol, the owner, is more than ready to do that extra bit to accommodate her guests. She is very well informed of all the events on the island and can recommend great places to visit and eat. Carol is also a great cook and her pancakes with fresh fruit and sausages were delicious! As I mentioned this was my third time staying there. Fall or summer, the quality is consistent. I had a wonderful stay and I had to write about it - I can't keep that secret any longer!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2012

What a wonderful surprise, my wife and I were on a Fall Colour Tour through Sault Ste Marie for 5 days; however we decided we would take in the picturesque scenery of Manitoulin Island on our way home, and for this we needed accommodation.
We came across the Rockville Inn B&B on the internet, called and spoke to Carol, very pleasant and accommodating. She informed us that there was one room left, directions on the location and a rough time we should expect to arrive from the Soo.
Well, what a happen chance, we rounded the corner and there sat the “Best kept Secret” on Manitoulin Island; the grounds were well kept, beautiful gardens, pristine lake setting, and seating for just relaxing.
The room was impeccably clean, organized and well furnished for our needs, and since the owners lived next door we had the “run” of the house; to which, according to Carol “just make your selves at home”.
The next two days are etched in memory for us, Carol gave us the most interestingly exquisite place to eat dinner, “The Red Lodge” which served up some of the best whitefish my wife can remember and the roast beef was done to perfection.
Carol served up a tasty plentiful breakfast each morning, gave direction and advice on what to see and the better places to eat, all of which exceeded our expectations.
The one memory that stands out the most is the trend that is sweeping the Island, walking your horses before dinner (just ask Carol…she loves real life stories and relaying them).
If you are ever going to be on the Island for a day, week, or longer we would highly recommend the Rockville Inn B&B, it truly does give the feeling of being at home.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Lane Gail", had a perfect view of the lake, and easy access to the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

My wife and I booked 2 nights at this B&B and loved it. Carol and Rob are wonderfull hosts. We stayed in 2 different rooms due to the last minute booking and both were clean and quiet. The grounds are very well kept. The garden at the back that leads to the lake is wonderfull. I have never seen so many hummingbirds. My wife and I liked the fact that the hosts live in the house next door instead of the same residence. The separation of living space is important to us. The breakfasts are quite good. The location is very peacefull and centrally located on the island. It is a 5 minute drive to the Cup and Saucer trail. We previously stayed in Gore Bay last year but prefer the location of this B&B. Great value and highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: The Navahoe is my favorite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IpreferInns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Carol you were such a lovely hostess. Thanks for making us such a yummy breakfast this morning! Your muffins & tea biscuits were delish! Your garden is immaculate. First time at a B&B and it was a fantastic place to stay with stunning views of lake Manitou. Our bedroom was complete with shower/bathroom and tastefully decorated in country chic. At night we enjoyed the fireplace in the common room. Hope to come back next year and swim at the lake.
Thanks & much appreciated.
The Myszaks, Mississauga,ON

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tree_M3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mindemoya
13.2 mi away
Manitoulin Hotel & Conference Centre
7.3 mi away
Manitoulin Inn
Manitoulin Inn
#1 of 1 in Mindemoya
60 reviews
13.4 mi away
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
#1 of 2 in Manitowaning
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Red Lodge Resort
Red Lodge Resort
#1 of 33 in Manitoulin Island
67 reviews
50.9 mi away
The Meldrum Bay Inn
The Meldrum Bay Inn
#1 of 2 in Meldrum Bay
73 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Hawberry Motel
The Hawberry Motel
#5 of 7 in Little Current
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockville Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockville Inn B&B

Property: Rockville Inn B&B
Address: RR 1, Mindemoya, Ontario P0P 1S0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Manitoulin Island > Mindemoya
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mindemoya
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 rooms with B & B. Home cooked breakfast with a great variety of fruit. Each room has a private bathroom, a queen size bed, 135.00 pc, per night. Ask about the discount offer. One self contained unit, fully equipped kitchen with 2 queen beds upstairs, and 4 peace bath downstairs, bar-b-que on deck overlooking the lake. Do your own cooking in this unit. 155.00 per night. See my web site for more details. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing