We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second time same wonderful experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rockville Inn B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mindemoya
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rockville Inn B&B
Ranked #2 of 3 Mindemoya B&B and Inns
Toronto
1 review
“Second time same wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Myself and family had a great experince last july at Rockville Inn.
The property is very well maintened and the hospitality is exceptional.
Located in a quite surrounding with front lake view and access, this place can offer a rare relaxation experience. The rooms are very clean and well maintained. A big bonus can be the location of this property in this island because if you like hiking, going to the beach or visiting all the attractions Manitoulin has to offer you do not have to drive a lot.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Altin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
26
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kassel, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We had such a lovely stay the first time that we decided to come back, explore the island, and stay at Rockville Inn again. Although it's not located in any of the little villages on Manitoulin, it's very well signed and easy to find. Carol is a wonderful hostess and a thoroughly lovely person. The rooms are cozy and comfortable, decor a bit kitschy but in the nicest possible way. The setting on the lake with a beautiful garden is really priceless- we were sad that the weather didn't allow us to sit outside and fully enjoy it. Both times we enjoyed chatting with other guests in the cozy living room. Excellent breakfasts and Carol offered us different things each day. A peaceful, warm, and friendly stay is a given here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyGKassel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orillia, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

This is a great place to stay near Mindemoya.. It was a relaxing experience from beginning to end. Rockville Inn is very well marked with lots of signs to get you from the main road to the inn without a minute of concern. Just when you ask, "Where are we?" there is another sign letting you know you are going in the right direction.
We found this home immaculately clean and well stocked. The gardens were incredible and sitting on the deck overlooking the yard and lake was like finding an oasis.
Carol was friendly and easy going, making us feel welcome and comfortable. She brought us breakfast muffins one morning, and slipped by and put the fireplace on one evening when we were out at dinner so we came back to a crackling fire.- so nice.
We used this location as a central spot to explore the central part of island on our bicycles. With Mindemoya so close, we were able to treat ourselves to the organic foods store every day. Maia?? - cant remember the name but the owner is also on the biking association of Manitoulin so was very helpful in planning our daily trips.
I would be hard pressed to go anywhere else in Manitoulin after staying at the Rockville Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puslinch, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

It was a little sanctuary on the shore of Lake Manitou where the hummingbirds entertained you as you relaxed on the back deck. The rooms and washrooms were very clean. The only downside was that we didn't get a chance to go out in the canoe or kayak because either the water was choppy or there was no one around to help us get the canoe in the water. The hospitality was very friendly and the breakfast was delicious!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Birdsnest which has it's own kitchen, however, we made arrangements with the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luci W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We spent three nights at the Rockville Inn and it was the perfect place to explore the island from. The grounds are beautiful with lovely flowers and the view of the lake is great. Plenty of places to sit and relax. We were in the Navajo room which was very comfortable. Breakfasts are good and filling and Carol is friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanineL_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

My wife and I discovered this B&B last year when we stayed for 2 nights. We decided to return this year and stay 6 nights in order to explore more of this vast island. We had a wonderful time again. Everything is in good condition and Carol is very helpful with any request we make. We spent each day going somewhere different on the island and came to appreciate the central location. Carol is very familiar with the island and has helpful suggestions. We stayed in the Birds Nest this time and really like the ability to make our own meals. The garden at the back is a beautiful place to relax after a day of exploring and just read a book or just enjoy watching the hummingbirds.

Room Tip: Birds Nest is like a separate apartment. Great if you want to cook some of your own meals and just w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IpreferInns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

What a wonderful experience! Five nights and six days of bliss in a beautiful setting on the lake. The house and gardens are delightfully charming and welcoming, as is host Carol. She is surely the ideal to which all hoteliers should aspire. No request by guests was too much for her. We enjoyed the restaurants that Carol suggested, especially The Schoolhouse (reservations required) for dinner and The Garden Shed for lunch. (We found everybody on Manitoulin super friendly!) It is quite far from the B & B to any restaurant at all, so if you would like to at least occasionally stay on Rockville's property without having to venture out for meals (wonderful breakfasts are provided - apart from her many other talents, Carol is an excellent cook), I strongly suggest that you bring a hamper of food/snacks that do not require cooking. I am pretty sure that Carol wouldn't mind your leaving a couple of items in the fridge, but next time, I'll take a small plug-in Coleman refrigerated hamper with me. (I wish I had known that in advance.) While my husband and I went to Manitoulin specifically for the annual First People's pow-wow, which was an outstanding privilege to attend, I wouldn't mind returning to the Rockville Inn for a "do-nothing" type of vacation. (However, there are many, many natural attractions on Manitoulin.) The garden is a showpiece! It was a thrill to see all the hummingbirds. Thank you, Carol!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mindemoya
7.3 mi away
Manitoulin Inn
Manitoulin Inn
#1 of 1 in Mindemoya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
13.2 mi away
Manitoulin Hotel & Conference Centre
13.3 mi away
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
#1 of 2 in Manitowaning
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
The Hawberry Motel
The Hawberry Motel
#5 of 7 in Little Current
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
2.2 mi away
Red Lodge Resort
Red Lodge Resort
#1 of 28 in Manitoulin Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
7.5 mi away
Mindemoya Motel
Mindemoya Motel
#3 of 3 in Mindemoya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockville Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockville Inn B&B

Property: Rockville Inn B&B
Address: RR 1, Mindemoya, Ontario P0P 1S0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Manitoulin Island > Mindemoya
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mindemoya
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 rooms with B & B. Home cooked breakfast with a great variety of fruit. Each room has a private bathroom, a queen size bed, 135.00 pc, per night. Ask about the discount offer. One self contained unit, fully equipped kitchen with 2 queen beds upstairs, and 4 peace bath downstairs, bar-b-que on deck overlooking the lake. Do your own cooking in this unit. 155.00 per night. See my web site for more details. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing