We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sonne Lifestyle Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mellau
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great getaway!”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We've just spent 4 days in th "Sonne" in Mellau, located in the beautiful Bregenzer Wald. From the first moment until our departure, we felt completely at ease and welcome, like visiting good friends.
All of the staff, including the owner Klaus and his charming wife Beate, were always willing to go the extra mile just to make you feel at ease and to cater for your wishes. A role model for so many hotels we stayed in...
Staying in a Penthouse suite, which was spacious and very well furnished, we enjoyed a sunny balcony with great views on the mountains and the benefits of the penthouse lounge, a help- yourself bar on third floor, open all day (and night!) and the "Wälder Stube" as a separate dining area for the great dinners provided by 3 young, ambitious and very talented chefs, who manage to create a 5 course dinner every evening with various options to choose from. Klaus, the owner, not only fixes a great Cosmopolitan, named "Klausmopolitan", but takes care of the cellar as well and offers an interesting selection of Austrian and Italian wines (amongst others) that will surprise you, last not least by the fantastic price/quality ratio. Listen to his suggestions, you will not rue it.

The Spa is very modern, functional and has something to offer for everyone, be it low temperature steam baths or high temp saunas, whirlpools, swimming pools etc. etc. and it's spotlessly clean, like the rest of the hotel as well.

The one and only drawback is the limited availability of treatments in the Spa, because they are so well performed and priced that they are sold out 3 weeks in advance, so make sure that you book and reserve them as early as possible.

We enjoyed our stay and will gladly come back soon!

Room Tip: Take a Penthouse suite poolside if you are looking for the quietest rooms possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedhouseSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    32
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
121
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We have just returned from a summer week in Mellau and enjoyed the Sonne a lot. Great spa, in and outdoor-pool which was perfect for our children, clean a nicely styled rooms, great breakfast and lunch on the beautiful terasse, very friendly stuff - we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evo37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

There's so much that's good, no - excellent, about this hotel.

Everything you could want for a walking/cycling/relaxing break is here. No need to go out in the car for long trips.

The walks are well signposted and relatively easy for walkers of average fitness. Sometimes in Austria they say walks are suitable for older persons and people with pushchairs and we've practically felt like we needed a defibrillator half way up! The walks here are gentle and enjoyable, through rolling countryside and farmland. There are great cycle paths as well, very safe and flat. No nasty stones or 4 wheel drive vehicles to worry about. You can marvel at how fit the Austrians are who whizz past you en-route.

If it's a number of years since you've been on a bike, then you could hire an electric bike from Sport Broger (I think that's near enough the name) which gives you all the pleasure of cycling without the pain. Alternatively, you can walk to the tourist office in Mellau and phone your credit card details through and (with Swiss efficiency!) you can hire a bike - similar to the "Boris Bikes" we have in London. They all have baskets which is useful. If you decide you want to walk back, you can drop the bike off, call in, and the charge is per stop.

When we stayed, we received a card that gave us free travel on the bus and cable cars which was very handy as we used each service on one occasion.

Make sure you get back for lunch though! This is undoubtedly one of the best lunches that we have known to be laid on in an Austrian hotel and, if it's nice, sitting out on the terrace is very pleasant. Eat wisely, as you need to have an appetite for the sumptuous evening meal that you will enjoy later.

The spa - this certainly exceeded our expectations. It is by far the best one we have been to in a hotel. It's also quite clear it's a naked zone.

We had a Penthouse suite on the river side of the hotel which overlooks the town. When we first arrived I wasn't sure about the location because we don't usually stay in the middle of town. However, this is a quiet town during the evening (well, it was in early June) and we found it nice to see people going to church or shopping. You might also think that the sound of the river will be annoying if you are used to the quiet (as we are) but actually you get used to it quite quickly and as it's consistent, it blends in. If you stay in the penthouse suites you have access to the lounge where there was a selection of alcohol and soft drinks laid on, free of charge.

I can't praise the staff highly enough. The couple who own the hotel are very much a presence - you can tell the lady is checking standards in a quiet, efficient way and doing her part as well. From the greeting upon arrival, right up to our departure, we were treated like VIPs.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiorana5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zurich
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We just spent a "girls' weekend out" in this hotel and can highly recommend it. Although three in one room, the Superior Design Room was spacious enough. Very modern bathroom with a separate toilette. Nice wooden floors in the actual bedroom area which gives the rooms a touch of alpine atmosphere. Delicious food, a large variety to choose from, good and affordable wine list. Sunday breakfast goes until 12:00! Backpacks and hiking sticks can be borrowed. We loved the Spa which wouldn't have been half as nice without treating ourselves to different massages and other treatments. A great thank you to the Spa team which was outstanding! Only point of criticism: the large bar area with the piano is closed in the summer. The alternative bar was small and overcrowded the night we checked it out. It didn't seem all too inviting. But on the whole, we felt at home and are looking forward to coming again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwp266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East of England
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Fantastic wellness centre, good pool (perhaps a little on the small side) everywhere clean and tidy. Nice bar with friendly and helpful barman. Excellent large modern rooms. Good food and inexpensive wine list.

Worth paying a little more for a penthouse suite as the rooms are larger with their own hamman and access to the penthouse lounge which has a very good coffee machine and unlimited free drinks - gin, vodka etc for penthouse users.

Less than 3 mins drive to Mellau gondola lift into the very impressive Mellau/Damuels system. Well prepared pistes. Warth is only 25 mins drive.

Good value, would book again.

Room Tip: Go for one of the penthouse suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank supermummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed at the Sonne Lifestyle Resort for a ski minibreak for 4 nights. The stay was really great. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious (we stayed at a Superior Design Room) and very well designed. The only thing I still don't get is why all these modern design hotelrooms do not have a door for the bathroom. Of course it is stylish but a bit more privacy would be great. But at least the restroom is separated and has a proper door.

Food was very good with buffett in the morning and afternoon and a menu in the evening. The only thing I felt was that sometimes the staff in the restaurant wasn't enough. It took a while until we got our drinks or bill. What I really liked was that the owners of the hotel were around all the time, talking to guests and even working in the bar during a very busy night.

The wellness area is great, too, with lots of different saunas and steam-baths. All very clean. Just the room for resting after the sauna was slightly too cold.

The hotel is a bit far from the slopes but there is a bus that goes every 15mins directly in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

A+ hotel, I'll return for sure, good hotel, great staff, good food, great location if you want to relax and forget about problems.

Room Tip: ask for your room with a view at the mountain/ back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CristiDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellau
13.6 mi away
Travel Charme Ifen Hotel
Travel Charme Ifen Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hirschegg
384 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#2 of 3 in Mellau
37 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Post
Hotel Post
#2 of 4 in Bezau
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hotel Krone
Hotel Krone
#1 of 3 in Au
350 reviews
7.3 mi away
Das Schafer
Das Schafer
#1 of 1 in Fontanella
41 reviews
19.0 mi away
Loewen Hotel Montafon
Loewen Hotel Montafon
#1 of 5 in Schruns
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonne Lifestyle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonne Lifestyle Resort

Property: Sonne Lifestyle Resort
Address: Uebermellen 65, Mellau 6881, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Mellau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mellau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonne Lifestyle Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From an aging historic inn to a design and wellness hotel - that the Sonne, in Vorarlberg's Bregenzerwald region, today shines brighter than ever before is due to the foresight of its owner and the commitment of its employees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Sonne Lifestyle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing