We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Great”

The Wheatsheaf Hungry Horse
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Pub, Grill
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Welling, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not Great”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed in a caravan nearby to this pub
Looking for somewhere to eat yesterday 10th April. We drove by and stopped and went it. Not geat loads of people and lots of young children running around. We didnt stay too long and decided to eat elsewhere

On the plus side there was a good sized beer garden with a playgound for children

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank 61woods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    70
    29
    31
    77
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Hungry Horse makes an donkey of itself”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The Wheatsheaf in Swalecliff is probably the best in the area for reasonably priced food and good service. But unfortunately, it’s one rule for the ‘locals’ and another for visitors… We asked for a table for 12, but we were told from the Horse’s mouth – i.e. the manager – ‘impossible’ we can only seat eight at a time. But we have pictures (get with the tech) of parties of 12, that were seated together. Also told that no reservations could be taken on a Sunday – yet there were two tables with reserved notices on them. Other than that, the food might not be outstanding, but you pay for what you get, and you get what you pay for, with a good service from staff. Spicy chicken wings a must…

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank toptripper186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very poor”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Went to the hungry horse....it was very busy but we found a table, having looked at the wide varied menu we were told that there was hardly any scope for my wife with a nut allergy....however we were advised what she could eat....anyway we ordered 4 different meals...each one was poor...the wife's was completely wrong first of all and the steak cooked wrong...the mother in law had a roast and the roasties were black and nuked and so we're the replacements, my son's burger wasn't fully cooked through or hot and my curry didn't have any poppadoms and for a "large" portion was certainly lacking in size. Never again will I darken its doors.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This rating is based on my last visit here and it was very busy (half term). Although I enjoyed the meal it was a bit overcooked and therefore the meat was a little dry. Tables were not very clean. Quality of food is usually better when the restaurant is quieter. Desserts are always very good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carly5360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
936 reviews
484 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 459 helpful votes
“MISSED THE GRAVY BOAT !”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

There is a good choice of real ales and lagers . The food choice was wide and varied we plumped for a Roast each which came swiftly . Well cooked although its always the same where ever you go NOT ENOUGH GRAVY ! One day some one will join the dots up between what they would have at home and what they serve in a Restaurant ,Lashings of GRAVY.
The service was good and on the whole enjoyed our experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LOBSTER64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wheatsheaf Hungry Horse also viewed

 

Been to The Wheatsheaf Hungry Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing