We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend to remember”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swalecliffe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seaview Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“weekend to remember”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Family occaision to celebrate mums 70th with 3 generations together.
Restaurant food was great all served by Jade( she needs a payrise). We booked 3 homes and we had a dog. Very surprised by the quality of the accommodation. Kids had a wonderful time and I am sure nanny did too.
Will definitely recommend to others.
Hannah at reception booked us in and out without any fuss.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siobhan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Seaview Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Glad to hear your birthday get-together went well, hopefully we will see you back on park soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    139
    46
    33
    36
See reviews for
218
81
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bicester, oxfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We just spent 4 nights at the park and honestly couldn't really fault it for what was on offer for us.
We are a 50+ couple with no kids, so we were using the park as a base rather than a holiday. Slightly annoying was that we had paid for Gold standard - 2pm check -in - but at reception, I had to wait 30 mins while people who had 4pm check-in's were going through the motions only to be told that they couldn't have their keys. Its not rocket science, if you're charging people extra to check in early, please dont make them queue up behind people trying to check in two hours early. That said, the reception staff were very polite and thorough in their checking in process. After reading reviews regarding the lack of net curtains, I rang the site weeks before our visit and made a specific request for a van with nets. On check in, the receptionist mentioned my request and said that she 'couldn't promise' the van we were allocated had them! As it happened it did, but why not just check? The caravan was smart and 'fairly' clean. You could see where someone had wiped the kitchen area over with a damp cloth, smears everywhere. And while I dont want to sound like a typical 'just moan for the sake of it' - I have to say that the bed-making service is ridiculous.
Management need to instruct their housekeeping team that just 'throwing' a quilt into a cover then throwing on a bed so it resembles a body covered by a sheet simply isn't good enough! How hard is it to make a bed?
The other facilities in the van were great. The bed was very comfy and pillows FAB!
Dont forget to take loo roll with you. Kitchen had everything you needed, apart from a tea cup - my personal preference - but I can make do with a mug.
The only thing missing was an iron, but you can hire one at the park laundry.
I was a bit disappointed that there was no entertainment at the clubhouse, bingo only.
If I had been visiting with a family, I dont think I would have been happy, but were just using it as a base.
The site is a bit 'lonely'. The bar area is nowhere near the usual Parks size (we have been to several sites) and this was, just a bar area with a tiny dance floor. But it was clean and tidy and the bar very staff polite and helpful.
The on site shop doesn't open until 9am, which I think is ridiculous if you want a morning paper. The nearest papershop is exactly 1 mile away ( I clocked it in the car). The buses run in an 'eternal triangle' from Canterbuy to Whitstable or Hearne Bay. The No.6 goes from just down the road from the camp (past the Plough pub - 10 Min walk) to Whitstable and cost £4.20 return for two . The bus to Hearne Bay is the no.4 and the stop is opposite the Plough. A taxi from Whitstable back to the park cost us £7.50. Whitstable is a charming little town with quite a few pub/eateries. There are also Indian/chinese takeaways etc.
A day trip to Canterbury is reccommended. If travelling by bus, its worth talking to the driver as we wanted to go to Canterbury, stop off at Whitstable on the return journey for a meal then catch the bus back to the park. The driver said that return to Canterbury would be £12.50 for the two of us but we would then have to pay £4.20 to get back to the Park, but a 'explorer' ticket at a cost ofn just £10.50 would let us get on and off all buses all day. Deffo the best value if you use public transport.
There is a great path that runs from the park to Herne Bay, just dont be fooled that the town centre is at the end of the walk - its not!
But if you like walking you wont mind the extra mile! I have no idea what Whitstable is like in the summer, but I'm guessing its nice! I would reccommend this place at this time of year to anyone who just wants a quiet break.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ginmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Seaview Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we will take your comments on board and have everything checked out.

The cleaners are supposed to put a toilet roll in each van and we have never had a complaint regarding the bed-making.

Our park is an ideal location to explore from and on this part of the coastline there is plenty to see and do.

Hopefully we will see you back at Seaview sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed at seaview over the may day bank holiday weekend, we booked a platinum grade caravan, we were very surprised when we found our caravan (Willerby Vacation), to be fair the van was nearly new and very clean but for a platinum was quite basic, not at all "finished to exceptionally high standards" "sumptuous furnishings" and "offers all the comforts of home and more" which was described on park holidays website. we had to double check that we had been given the right van, which we had. We were quite shocked however as the caravan was so clean we made the most of it. The park it self was clean and the clubhouse was modern and clean as well, having the barriers at the entrance made the park feel more secure.
We mainly used the caravan as a base to explore Whitstable, Herne Bay and Canterbury, the park was very close to all these towns.

Room Tip: Don't expect much luxury when paying more for a platinum grade caravan
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouiseL1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Seaview Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback on the park.

After your comments on the van you stayed in we reviewed the grading and have dropped it down to a Gold, I think it was put as a platinum because it had a deck (and of course it was new end of last season). Although the inventory in all the vans are the same the van itself could be deemed a bit bland.

The difference in cost is £25 so we can either refund this amount or give you £30 off your next stay if you decide to come back.

Please let us know and we hope to see you here again at Seaview.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Excellent caravan, cleaners, reception staff, position, service and club house, we have stayed at other Park Holiday parks, this was by far the best for everything. Last year we went to Marly park, the caravan and club house was filthy, we had no complaints at Seaview, the whole experience from stat to finish was excellent, we went on the 07/04/2014 and will certainly return to the best caravan park by far.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trickster49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Seaview Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thanks for your excellent review on the park I will pass it on to all the staff, it works wonders on Team morale to be appreciated.

Happy families are always welcome at Seaview, see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We booked a budget break at this site (bronze level,caravan m20) because it was near the train station and we are non-drivers. It is about a 10/15 minute walk from station to site down one residential road and very easy. We arrived at 3.15 and check in was at 4pm so they asked us to wait in the bar. The bar was surprisingly big and well designed - it is like a tardis -it looks small and ugly from outside. We went in a couple of times over our long weekend. The prices were not too bad. We didn't eat here but looked like pretty standard pub menu at reasonable prices.
The outside pool was open and looks really fun for kids although it is quite small so I can imagine would get very busy in the summer.it was a rainy day and you could see the steam rising from it so they obviously keep it nice and warm!
All the staff we encountered were approachable and friendly.
The van was obviously an older one but was clean and had all the utensils and things we needed. Good TV/DVD and new duvets and pillows I think. The bedding was on the bed for us to make ourselves. The beds were bouncy but did the job for a few nights for the price we paid.
The weather was quite rainy but we still had a brilliant time. Big Sainsbury by the station where we got some shopping and a Morrison's in Herne Bay. We walked along the coast to Whistable on one day which was really lovely and quaint with the fish market and craft huts on the harbour and quaint shops on the high street. The next day we walked to Herne Bay which is a more traditional seaside town with a peir and arcades. There was a really cute vintage tea shop/hut on the peir that we stopped at but my latte was quite watery. Brilliant vibe and views though. We got the bus back as we were a bit tired. The bus stop is 1 minute from the site entrance drive and the buses are every 20 minutes and run all along the coast line and into Canterbury.
For a budget break this was brilliant value and there is plenty to do locally although it is easy to get about on public transport if you prefer.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Seaview Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for your honest feedback on the park.

It is a great part of the coastline with plenty to see and do. The back streets and harbour in Whitstable are great to explore, there are also some great restaurants - although some of the fish restaurants can be a tad expensive.

Hopefully we will see you back at Seaview Holiday Park soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We arrived early and went straight to the bar area as the Caravan wasn't ready as we had arrived early. The bar area is very spacious with a couple of gaming machines and 3 pool tables, there is a stage and dance floor area. the bar staff are chatty and are pleased to serve you, they serve a good pint, compared to some sites i have stayed on, drink prices are what you expect to pay on holiday sites. There is outside seating at the front and rear.
They have a small amusement area with various machines, more for the kids.
Crazy golf is available at a good rate.
When we got the keys we made the short journey to the Caravan, there isn't any parking beside the Caravans unless your lucky enough to get one by the site roads.
The caravan we stayed in was spacious and clean, the beds were comfortable and we had good quality pillows, the kitchen area is of a good size with the utensils and pans etc you'll need to cook meals.
The evening entertainment crew work hard to please everyone even when it is quite, there are great with the kids and include them all, i didn't see any unhappy children during our stay.
We didn't use the shop on site but if rest of the park is anything to go by im sure it is of the same great condition as rest of the park.
there are easy to reach places around the park if you like sight seeing, example Dover Castle is about 40minutes away and a little further to the ferry port.
We would highly recommend this site to anyone considering holidaying here.

Room Tip: we had a silver band caravan
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DWest83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Seaview Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for the feedback, I will pass your comments on to the staff.

It is a true fact about this small stretch of coastline that the more you visit, the more you want to come back - it is great to explore.

Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I haven't stayed in a caravan for years and was slightly concerned but it was great value and they allow dogs in some of the caravans so we gave it a go. On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly reception team and told where our caravan was. The caravan was absolutely immaculate. It contained everything we needed (even a toilet roll!) for the weekend and was very comfortable despite only being Silver grade. There were lots of open spaces which the dog enjoyed and direct access to the beach. The on site entertainment venue was OK, probably great if you have kids and like bingo!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Seaview Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for yiour review.

Glad that you enjoyed yourself here at Seaview, there is a lot of open space for your dog to have a good run around.

Hopefully we will see you back on park again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swalecliffe
1.1 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 4 in Whitstable
876 reviews
5.9 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Whitstable
6.1 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Dunkirk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
391 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#4 of 4 in Whitstable
440 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#12 of 16 in Canterbury
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK

Property: Seaview Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK
Address: Seaview Holiday Park St. Johns Road, Swalecliffe CT5 2RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Swalecliffe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Swalecliffe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The park’s facilities are centred around the main entertainment complex with our new venue now EVEN better for our holiday guests. With so many places to visit, you will probably want to spend most days touring the garden of England. Famous castles, fishing ports, cathedral cities and dramatic coastal scenery are all within a short drive from Seaview. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaview Holiday Park Hotel Swalecliffe
Seaview Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK Kent/Swalecliffe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing