We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chewy steak, bad value and dog deficated at the bar in view of diners.”
Review of The Plough Inn

The Plough Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
bristol
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Chewy steak, bad value and dog deficated at the bar in view of diners.”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Really dissapointed with the. Visit to this pub as it had been recommended by a people who we thought were friends. No steak knives and the steak was just awful. Far too chewy and not cooked well at all. To top it all of a dog at the bar decided to open its bowels twice in full view of diners. Staff didnt even notice until tjis was pointed out. Absolutely disgusting . Will NEVER go back here again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank htimsrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePloughInnWhitstab, Public Relations Manager at The Plough Inn, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
We are sorry to hear that! My only suggestion is that perhaps the management were not present at this time and the situation was not being controlled adequately. You must have come on one of the very few evenings that we have something go wrong and I assure you that our food is very rarely criticised - however I will make sure that the quality of steak is closely examined from now on.

If you do choose to come back again (which we hope you do) you'll notice that there is now a manager present EVERY night of the week and that our food is as delicious as ever.

Thank you for your review - this has helped us improve our service :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    35
    10
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fantastic Friday night Fodder”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Or any other time I'd guess, but it was a Friday night when we arrived at the campsite just down the road, didn't feel like cooking & fancied a beer out. I'm really glad we did. The Plough looks good from the outside, but it's even better from the inside. The welcome was warm, the beer (Doombar, since you ask, in a jug) was perfect & my Hunter's Chicken was as good as I've had anywhere. The portions are pretty generous, we'd really have struggled to eat a pudding, which was a shame as the ones coming out looked fantastic. All in all, thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food was good but a Bully of an owner.”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Been in this pub on a couple of occasions, once to eat in the restaurant on a Sunday lunch time for the Carvery which I must say was very good, could not fault the food although the actual restaurant area needs some money spending on it as does the rest of the pub, the reason I have given such a low score on this pub is not for any fault of the food but for the pub owners conduct!! the guy who owns the pub is called ILtan and all I can say is that this man has no respect for his staff and no management skills, both times we have been here the guy has shouted at female members of staff in front of customers for no reason other than blatant bullying, he's a total slob and drinks too much!! I was totally disgusted by this mans behaviour on both occasions and refuse never to spend my money in his establishment again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePloughInnWhitstab, Public Relations Manager at The Plough Inn, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Dear Sandra

We are ever so sorry to hear that - we certainly do not wish to be seen as a pub with an owner such as this - however you are unlikely to have witnessed the full story and the context to which the criticism was given. I can assure you this review has been taken into account and used constructively - unfortunately we can not turn back time but we can assure you that you will not witness this again. We hope to see you back at the Plough soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Family Pub & Restaurant”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

The Plough Swalecliffe (The old Edderys) has always been a good venue but since it was taken over a few years ago (No longer a Thorley Tavern) it has been transformed and is now even better than ever with great staff a good selection of Beers, Spirits and Shots more importantly Fabulous well priced hearty Food and the best Sunday Carvery you'll find well worth a visit

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Norman N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePloughInnWhitstab, Public Relations Manager at The Plough Inn, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Thanks so much for your fantastic review - we hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay Kent
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We went for our xmas dinner from work, our food was lovely and tasty no complaints from any of my party and ther were 12 of us!!The waitressess were all lovely and everyone was so friendly. They made us so welcome and the price was brilliant well worth it. We all want to go back next year!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JulieHerneBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Plough Inn also viewed

 
Whitstable, Kent
 

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing