We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very comfortable stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whittlesford
Northern Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A very comfortable stay!”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We recently spent one night in the hotel. From arrival, the staff were extremely helpful especially the receptionist on duty. The hotel was bright clean and modern and quiet despite being near a railway line and a major road. Our room at the front of the hotel was spacious, clean, quiet and very comfortable. The bathroom was superb, with a huge shower. The only negatives were that the air-conditioning did not work properly nor did the hairdryer. The breakfast was excellent and more varied than we had expected. We ate in the Red Lion pub beside the hotel. Despite some negative reviews, we had an excellent meal which was reasonable vale and the service was excellent. All in all, a very pleasant experience and we would definitely stay in this hotel again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    220
    123
    42
    14
See reviews for
108
175
27
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights so that we could go to the Air show at Duxford. It was very close to the IWMuseum, less then a mile. The staff were just super great! George Hi :-) the only problem (not for me, but hubby) was getting out of the VERY LOW bed (hes 6'6") he was wishing there was a bar on wall to help pull himself up.
Had a really good breakfast with scrambled eggs and sausage with beans. We just really enjoyed it. We had dinner next door at The Red Lion...fish and chips were heaven, greasy so ask for extra napkin to soak up grease or ask them to let it drip longer. Didn't care for their flank steak... Really tough... Which usually it is anyway.. This just seemed tougher. Ate a pepperoni pizza at hotel WOW really good...we were surprised!!! Would defiantly stay there again., cambridge Whittlesford train station, right by hotel..

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sitkasky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

To be honest I had a dreadful sinking feeling when we got off the train and saw just how close to the railway the hotel is (it really is next door to the station) . However all the staff have been exceptionally helpful , our rooms are clean and well maintained, the traffic noise is not really noticeable when the window is closed and the location is very convenient to the Duxford war museum (and Airshow) which was the reason for our visit. We would happily stay here again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busybeeAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel in July while covering the Flying Legends airshow at Duxford.I found the rooms to be acceptable and the breakfasts OK - not great, just OK. The one thing that I did not like was the fact that we were put on the station side of the building. Let me explain. The train line between London and Cambridge passes right next to the hotel. For the four nights we were there (I brought a tour group to the UK) I was woken up at the crack of dawn by the express rushing past. It felt a bit like a bomb going off in the room! I would recommend the hotel - but not the back side. Book in the front of the hotel rather.

Room Tip: Stay away from the back side of the hotel. Too noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PixmanSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear PixmanSA,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. My apologies for any disappointment you may have had. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lymm
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Having read about the closeness of the railway line I requested a room away from the track.I was told that it was not possible to allocate rooms prior to arrival.The train noise was significant, such that it was not possible to sleep with the window only slightly open in room 321.
Food prices in the associated Red Lion were high,standard fish and chips costing in excess of £14.Staff appeared to be poorly trained,they enquired,'is everything alright for you?' with little or no conviction.After paying for food we were asked for our room number because,as the young man said,'people sometimes leave without paying and we have to pay out of our tips'
Whist the hotel is conveniently situated I would struggle to make a positive recommendation without being assured that the above were being addressed.

Room Tip: away from the rail track
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidr448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear davidr448,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was negatively affected by the service you received from our hotel. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Booked for two nights - family room, two adults and one child. Room on first floor at front of hotel. Very large shower, and lots of white towels. Beds comfortable with crisp white sheets and duvet covers, the air conditioning was efficient and the room comfortable, breakfast adequate, all adding to make our stay enjoyable. The hotel staff were extremely helpful giving good advice on places to visit and providing detailed maps. Would certainly stay there again. The Hotel is adjacent to Whittlesford Station and would recommend a room at the front of the hotel which is quieter. The Red Lion Pub/Restaurant is just 2 minutes walk and has a good choice of food and is child friendly.

Room Tip: Room at front of Hotel which is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Checked in to find that the toilet had not been checked by cleaning staff as there was a floating rubber object in the toilet bowl.!!!
After complaining at reception we were given another room and a full refund
Staff were very apologetic about the incident.
A Guest Relations questionnaire was subsequently completed and I asked for additional compensation as we thought that a change of room and a refund was not really adequate, This was refused

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Chris F,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate you taking the time to help us improve our guest services.

I sincerely apologize for the level of cleanliness particularly in the bathroom area fell below your standards. We regret the negative experience you have encountered during your stay. We are really sorry that you left with such a negative impression about our hotel.

Your feedback is not only essential but is also a helpful tool to measure the level of service we extend to our guests and at the same time provides us with an opportunity to improve our standards. We hope that you give us a chance to change your perception of our hotel.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Whittlesford hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whittlesford
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge Fourwentways
1.0 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
321 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
9.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#13 of 36 in Cambridge
1,016 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Saffron Hotel
The Saffron Hotel
#3 of 3 in Saffron Walden
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
Address: 42 Station Road | Whittlesford Bridge, Whittlesford CB22 4NL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Whittlesford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whittlesford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10 3.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford m11 Jct 10 Hotel Whittlesford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing