We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for IWM Duxford”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whittlesford
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed here for two nights while visiting the Imperial War Museum Duxford site. The hotel was ideally located for that. Room was clean and theer was plenty of space. Staff friendly. Free wifi. We ate at the Red Lion just a ew yards away and teh hotel reception booked the table there for us.

Room Tip: Our roo was on the side next to the railway line but the occasional train passing didn't bother...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dukpond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a few nights and I can say I had a nice stay. The hotel is nice, the rooms are nice and breakfast is included. There is free parking at the hotel but the postcode on sat nav seems to take you to a different part of Whittlesford and I did seem to get a bit lost!! The shower is really nice and powerful and the hotel is quite modern.

The internet is free but it is rather slow which is annoying. The signal on my phone was very poor and most times only had one bar or sometimes nothing which I think is very poor as I wouldnt have been able to use it for emergency calls. All in all I had a nice stay and the hotel staff are friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tara198426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We booked this hotel online at a very good rate (around 60 pounds a night with breakfast). It was very good value at this price. The rooms we modern and clean. All the beds in the room were fold up beds that we did not find comfortable, but it was OK for one night. We stayed here to visit the Imperial War Museum and it is a very good base for this purpose.There is a reasonable pub across the road. There is not much else around, but is is easy to get a train to Cambridge.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GBLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear GBLH,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the beds prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We were glad to see the positive scores for Cleanliness and Service. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Basic HIE, clean & modern but no frills. Our second floor room overlooking the car park was quiet.The rack rate quoted at reception was £229! I thought it was a joke but apparently not. Good value though if, like us, you pay £50 or less.
Only has double beds not kings - visitors from the USA could be in for a shock. Even so the duvets are not big enough, only being the same size as the bed, ie no overlap.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PetroniusMinor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I recently stayed here again (for 1 night only) and found things in the rooms to unchanged, clean/tea-coffe facilities/comfy bed/good bathroom & shower.
One thing that has changed is that the wi-fi is now free instead of the 5-pounds per 24hr charge I got on my previous stay, much appreciated.
Breakfast was included in the room cost and was available as a buffet type, unfortunately I overslept so I can't comment this time!
I would definitely recommend this location to anyone on a short term basis i.e. business stay

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trubby01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Delighted to walk in to see my name as 'Guest of the Day', so a good start! Reception staff very welcoming and friendly, including at 05:15hrs for breakfasts. Room good size with very good sized shower and nice touches such as the feint blue night lighting in the bathroom. The bed was very low though. One stay had twin beds the other time a double and a sofa in the room. Good sized working desk but could have done with a longer stretchy light there in that corner. No wardrobe, just a rail with 5 hangers and no drawers for underwear. Unless you don't mind using a blue liquid for hair and shower gel in one which is affixed to the wall in the shower unit, you'll need to take your own as well as soap - there is a bottle fastened to wall by the sink to use for liquid soap but it looked grubby. No nice little luxury bottles to use, which was rather a disappointment. Even if you get a front room, you can still hear the trains and positively so from the ground floor as they rumble into the station!

Room Tip: pick a room at the front as railway station right behind the hotel!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieG5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed here just prior to New Year having whizzed past it numerous times.Glad we stopped this time. We were welcomed by very helpful and friendly staff. Our request for a front facing room was met. The room itself was large and comfortable, at the right temperature.We didnt hear any road noise at all although the main road is close by. The windows are well glazed. The bathroom has a shower cubicle you could have a party in, one of the best I have ever come across with plenty of towels. Food wise we ate that evening at the Red Lion next door, which was outstanding but had the complimentary breakfast next morning. That was fine for what it was, somethings could have been better true, but for £45 it was fine. If you want the full monty freshly cooked, you can get a discounted rate at the Red Lion who do brekkie from 6am.

Not much to fault and will certainly call again

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room..The railway line is a bit close at the back
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whittlesford
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge Fourwentways
1.0 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
327 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
9.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#11 of 36 in Cambridge
1,055 reviews
8.1 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10

Address: 42 Station Road East | Whittlesford Bridge, Whittlesford CB22 4NL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Whittlesford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whittlesford
Price Range: £63 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10 3.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford m11 Jct 10 Hotel Whittlesford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing