We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noise, noise and more noise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whittlesford
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Noise, noise and more noise!”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

What a shame about the location of this hotel. It's a lovely place, clean and comfortable with helpful and friendly staff. Facilities are average, the bar is very expensive and although FREE WiFi is advertised as 'available everywhere' it wasn't available anywhere I was! This severely restricted my ability to work here.

The worst thing was the noise from the road and rail outside my window. There's no way of getting away from it and I was disturbed several times during the night, making me very tired for work the next day.

Breakfast is an odd affair; sausage, egg and beans (no other cooked items) or cereals/continental. Although this is offered as 'complementary', with room prices advertised on the day at £159 I would expect so much more.

There is a linked pub nearby which I would advise anyone to avoid, poor service and food quality and very expensive.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seapirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear seapirate,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. We are sincerely sorry to read about your negative experience over the noise. I understand the discomfort this caused you. Rest assured that this matter will be looked into. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. To better assist you on your next stay, please do not hesitate to approach the manager on duty.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    218
    120
    41
    12
See reviews for
105
173
26
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed for one night and the hotel was clean and comfortable. The reception staff were very helpful. The breakfast was also good and the hot food was hot and it was replenished very quickly.

I would nor recommend the Red Lion Hotel which seems to have links with the hotel. The food and service there was definitely substandard and if you can go into Cambridge or if you can't then go to M&S at the local BP station as it is better quality and considerably cheaper

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SummertimebluesUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

A warm welcome by friendly staff at check in. Clean, modern room as is rest of hotel. All five rooms that we booked were allocated away from the railway side as requested, very little noise around the hotel in general. Good selection at breakfast for budget hotel;cereals, fruit, yoghurt,toast, scrambled egg, sausage and beans. Very busy on the Sat morning with only one staff member refilling breakfast stations, clearing away AND managing the front desk, but all done with a smile and helpful with all requests! Sunday was better staffed and quieter. Train into Cambridge right on the doorstep, £5.50 return. The beds were not the most comfy, but the positives far outweighed that . Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inkybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

The location with free parking was excellent. We asked for a rear facing room which was provided. The bed was lovely and comfortable and the room along with the rest of the hotel very clean. Shower was brilliant. Staff were all very welcoming and friendly and great to have free wfi. Would have liked a few more healthy options for breakfast.
Excellent for a trip to explore Cambridge as next to the rail station and just up the road from the IWM at Duxford.

Room Tip: Room 126 good for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devonfluffy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
94 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Nothing exceptional, stayed 1 night on business. Asked for a room on car park side of the building and was given one facing the platform. Asked for an iron, and 1 hour later had to ask again. Just little things but added up to an unexceptional stay. Can't complain about the room, everything worked, plenty of parking, breakfast OK. Wireless lousy.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomadicmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear nomadicmatt,

Thank you for your feedback. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations.

Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay. Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts as this is our best resource for improving the quality and services we offer.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed here for two nights while visiting the Imperial War Museum Duxford site. The hotel was ideally located for that. Room was clean and theer was plenty of space. Staff friendly. Free wifi. We ate at the Red Lion just a ew yards away and teh hotel reception booked the table there for us.

Room Tip: Our roo was on the side next to the railway line but the occasional train passing didn't bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dukpond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a few nights and I can say I had a nice stay. The hotel is nice, the rooms are nice and breakfast is included. There is free parking at the hotel but the postcode on sat nav seems to take you to a different part of Whittlesford and I did seem to get a bit lost!! The shower is really nice and powerful and the hotel is quite modern.

The internet is free but it is rather slow which is annoying. The signal on my phone was very poor and most times only had one bar or sometimes nothing which I think is very poor as I wouldnt have been able to use it for emergency calls. All in all I had a nice stay and the hotel staff are friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara198426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whittlesford
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge Fourwentways
1.0 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
312 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
9.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#12 of 36 in Cambridge
1,002 reviews
6.4 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
Address: 42 Station Road | Whittlesford Bridge, Whittlesford CB22 4NL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Whittlesford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whittlesford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10 3.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Lastminute, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford m11 Jct 10 Hotel Whittlesford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing