We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whittlesford
ascot
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Dim lights”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Staying here at the moment. It's a modern hex, jammed right on the railway line next to the station, and right next to an inn, the red lion. A busy road runs behind it.

A good place to stay, as the internet is free-to-room and the breakfast is also free.

The rooms are a bit too trendy, with no drawers or wardrobe, just open hanging space for 5 items and only one towel rail for 2 people. The size is ok, but there are no bathroom niceties, just soap on the wall.

The main bugbear is the exceptionally dim bathroom lights. They are literally gloworms when first switched on, and after about 10 minutes brightening to the strength of a 40w bulb. Take a torch or one of those LED floodlights if you want to apply makeup or see your face in detail.

We stayed here because it was cheap and being next to the railway station we could get into Cambridge for £ 10 return in the space of 10 minutes.

Room Tip: One side the railway, the other side the road. Ok if window closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fastdave2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear fastdave2,

Thank you for your review. You have covered all aspects of your stay and I am particularly appreciative of your comments about our convenient location. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge the staff concerned. I'm sorry for any inconvenience the lighting in the bathroom caused. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer for to our guests.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    210
    119
    40
    12
See reviews for
104
165
26
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

What a shame about the location of this hotel. It's a lovely place, clean and comfortable with helpful and friendly staff. Facilities are average, the bar is very expensive and although FREE WiFi is advertised as 'available everywhere' it wasn't available anywhere I was! This severely restricted my ability to work here.

The worst thing was the noise from the road and rail outside my window. There's no way of getting away from it and I was disturbed several times during the night, making me very tired for work the next day.

Breakfast is an odd affair; sausage, egg and beans (no other cooked items) or cereals/continental. Although this is offered as 'complementary', with room prices advertised on the day at £159 I would expect so much more.

There is a linked pub nearby which I would advise anyone to avoid, poor service and food quality and very expensive.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seapirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear seapirate,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. We are sincerely sorry to read about your negative experience over the noise. I understand the discomfort this caused you. Rest assured that this matter will be looked into. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. To better assist you on your next stay, please do not hesitate to approach the manager on duty.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed for one night and the hotel was clean and comfortable. The reception staff were very helpful. The breakfast was also good and the hot food was hot and it was replenished very quickly.

I would nor recommend the Red Lion Hotel which seems to have links with the hotel. The food and service there was definitely substandard and if you can go into Cambridge or if you can't then go to M&S at the local BP station as it is better quality and considerably cheaper

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SummertimebluesUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

A warm welcome by friendly staff at check in. Clean, modern room as is rest of hotel. All five rooms that we booked were allocated away from the railway side as requested, very little noise around the hotel in general. Good selection at breakfast for budget hotel;cereals, fruit, yoghurt,toast, scrambled egg, sausage and beans. Very busy on the Sat morning with only one staff member refilling breakfast stations, clearing away AND managing the front desk, but all done with a smile and helpful with all requests! Sunday was better staffed and quieter. Train into Cambridge right on the doorstep, £5.50 return. The beds were not the most comfy, but the positives far outweighed that . Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Inkybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

The location with free parking was excellent. We asked for a rear facing room which was provided. The bed was lovely and comfortable and the room along with the rest of the hotel very clean. Shower was brilliant. Staff were all very welcoming and friendly and great to have free wfi. Would have liked a few more healthy options for breakfast.
Excellent for a trip to explore Cambridge as next to the rail station and just up the road from the IWM at Duxford.

Room Tip: Room 126 good for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank devonfluffy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Nothing exceptional, stayed 1 night on business. Asked for a room on car park side of the building and was given one facing the platform. Asked for an iron, and 1 hour later had to ask again. Just little things but added up to an unexceptional stay. Can't complain about the room, everything worked, plenty of parking, breakfast OK. Wireless lousy.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nomadicmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear nomadicmatt,

Thank you for your feedback. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations.

Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay. Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts as this is our best resource for improving the quality and services we offer.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed here for two nights while visiting the Imperial War Museum Duxford site. The hotel was ideally located for that. Room was clean and theer was plenty of space. Staff friendly. Free wifi. We ate at the Red Lion just a ew yards away and teh hotel reception booked the table there for us.

Room Tip: Our roo was on the side next to the railway line but the occasional train passing didn't bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dukpond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whittlesford
1.1 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge Fourwentways
3.0 mi away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
9.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Cricketers' Arms
The Cricketers' Arms
#2 of 3 in Saffron Walden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
Address: 42 Station Road | Whittlesford Bridge, Whittlesford CB22 4NL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Whittlesford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whittlesford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10 3.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Agoda, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford m11 Jct 10 Hotel Whittlesford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing