We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whittlesford
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Holiday Inn Express Duxford is situated just off junction 10 of The M11.It is a lovely modern building which is very attractive throughout.Our room was quite spacious, even having a settee so that we could relax comfortably.A bonus was to find that it was near to a Railway station.(Not at all noisy as the trains are electrified) A train in to Cambridge was cheap and quick, only taking 10 minutes.Next door also was a lovely old pub,The Red Lion.It had been an old Coaching Inn and we were able to have a meal there ,discounted because of our stay at The Holiday Inn.We spent 2 nights at the hotel.The breakfast(part of the deal) was excellent,the atmosphere and service very efficient and friendly,and the cost extremely reasonable.Parking is free.Quite a find! Needless to say, The Imperial War Museum Duxford is only up the road.

Room Tip: With a double room as opposed to a twin bedded room, there is a settee as well as another chair.Usef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeduxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your wonderful feedback.

I was delighted you enjoyed your stay in our hotels.

We very much appreciate your custom and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards


Ross Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    212
    120
    41
    12
See reviews for
104
169
26
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I've currently been resident here for a month Mon-Fri with work. I initially was excited to stay in a holiday inn express due to the reputation of the holiday inn brand. Unfortunately the place has not lived up to expectation. The most bothersome thing about the place is the location on the A505, great for access to the M11 and literally on top of the railway line both of which produce an enormous amount of disturbance for the light sleeper. I also have reason to believe the hotel is purposefully placing myself and my colleagues in substandard rooms, road or rail side due to the arrangement they have with our employer. My room this evening has been complained about this evening by the previous occupant due to the strong smell of cigarette smoke present, they have moved the other person but have allowed me to take the room with the stench still there. They were kind enough to open the window though and the air con was on 'full blast'. I have been to the bar now on four occasions although have not managed to buy a drink probably best since a pint here costs the earth anyway, the reason being there aren't enough staff to serve on the bar due to the fact they are constantly checking people in, I waited fifteen minutes last week before giving up. The room cleaning is of a good standard although towels are not changed every day. The Wi-Fi was abysmal last week and the week before although it now seems to have improved. Breakfast is reasonable although the only warm food available every day is sausages, baked beans, and some type of egg imitating substance, the coffee machine does however make a decent cup of coffee. Would I stay here if I was paying myself? No would be the answer indefinitely. I'm afraid the place doesn't live up to the price tag which can be £200+ some nights, no way near worth it. I will be informing my employer of the situation here and hopefully get something done about it in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonAndFaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeduxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your feedback.

I would ask you to please contact me as soon as you can. I am not aware of the issues with your room however i may be able to move you to another room.

In terms of singling out customers, we don't do this. All our rooms are of a very high standard but it seems noise is the main issue and that is something i can help you with.

The wifi was an issue last week however this is now rectified. It did take us some time to figure out the issue with help from our internet provider however it is back to its normal standard which is very fast indeed.

I urge you to contact me as soon as you can and i will do everything to help.

Kind Regards

Ross Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Very reasonably priced, This hotel is an excellent base for cambridge. It is very close to duxford and next to the railway station where trains can be caught to london and cambridge about every 20 minutes.
Staff are friendly and efficient and always willing to help. Rooms are clean, quiet and comfortable. There is plenty of parking space. Free breakfast is very good.
The only problem is finding the hotel as sat navs take you to the railway station. Poor/ lack of signs mean that you cannot see the hotel despite it being only 50 yards away across the track. I suggest the management address this problem asap as it is the only negative point.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank draig1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeduxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your feedback.

I was pleased you enjoyed your stay.

My apologies about the postcode for the hotel. It doesn't recognise the train tracks for some odd reason however we have highlighted this on our website to ensure future customers do not experience the same issue as you did.

Thank you for your custom and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Ross Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
170 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here as we were visiting Cambridge to play golf at Gog Magog Golf Course and this hotel was very convenient. We also went into Cambridge on our last morning, catching the train from the nearby station. We were with friends who had stayed here before. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. We were on the railway side of the building but were not bothered by noise. There was a bar in the hotel (which we didn't use), and an ice machine (which we did). Breakfast was included in the price of the room; it was buffet-style, adequate rather than outstanding, though we could have paid extra to have more choice and food freshly cooked. Would stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: Some guests may prefer to be away from the railway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeduxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your feedback.

I was very pleased you enjoyed your experience in our hotel. The noise from the train tracks is lessened by the thicker walls and glass however if all else fails we do supply ear plugs. The trains are electric so this certainly limits noise.

We are changing some products on our breakfast buffet to ensure it is outstanding rather than adequate so we hope you will visit again to sample the improvements.

Thank you for your custom.

Kind Regards

Ross Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Incline Village, Nevada
Level Contributor
219 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

My wife and I spent a nice evening here. We came up from London solely to see the Fantastic Air museum at Duxford just 2 miles away. We came on the train which is hard by the hotel. Super convenient. Rooms on the twain side have 3x glazed windows, but as there were plenty of rooms available we had one on the "road" side. It was nice and quiet. The room was clean and the staff friendly. A solid 4.5 rating from me. I would have given a 5, except that the bed was hard and I think that the mattress was worn out. EVERYTHING else was perfect. The nice staff even made dinner reservations across the street at the Red Lion Inn. The staff even called to cab for us to go over to the museum. £9 for the cab ride to Duxford museum one way.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airmike943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeduxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear reviewer

Thank you for your constructive feedback.

I was pleased that one the whole you enjoyed your time in our hotel.

We will look into the bed issues, it may be the mattress needs replaced but thank you for letting us know.

If your next in the area, we hope to welcome you back to our hotel.

Kind Regards



Ross Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
451 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

This hotel is well located for Duxford and the M11, good if you're travelling but there is little else in the area. Basically its a pitstop overnight hotel rather than a destination.

The rooms are well furnished, comfortable, clean spacious - however my room was a bit like being in a cave - why do hotels think that people want rooms without lighting ?

The hotel doesn't have a restaurant/bar - only a breakfast area - however there is a very nice pub/restaurant next door.

There were a couple of other downsides. Firstly, the hotel backs onto the railway line and the trains coming through are audible. Secondly there is very short of parking space, on the day I was there the car park was totally full and I (and others) had to find spaces in the nearby streets and railway station car park.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAR-AM-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeduxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your feedback.

I was pleased you enjoyed your experience in our hotel.

I apologise about car parking, we have 80 spaces which 99% of the time is enough. The trains tracks are near to the hotel however we do have thicker windows and walls at the back of the hotel to prevent noise from the electric trains that pass through, if that fails we do offer ear plugs.

Thank you for your custom and we hope you will return in the future only this time we will allocate a front facing room for you.

Kind Regards



Ross Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth U K
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

You know what you are getting with this chain of hotels, modern rooms that are well-maintained and clean. The included breakfast that was introduced a while back adds to the value for money element. This particular hotel delivers all of the above with the bonus of friendly, helpful staff (not universally the case in other locations).The location is very convenient for the Imperial War Museum at Duxford (but the room rate rockets when they are doing anything special there!) and also visiting Cambridge itself which is only a short hop further up the M11.The drawbacks are that the site is sandwiched between the main railway line to London and a very busy A road, the latter generating far more noise than the former. Even with double glazing the traffic noise is intrusive and if you have a problem with this you should try and ensure that you are allocated a room as far away as possible. Even facing the railway line is preferable, since the electric trains are fairly quiet and not that frequent anyway. We did not eat at the adjacent Red Lion pub, but the menu indicated that this is pretty expensive for pub grub.With little apart from McDonalds nearby, this is probably not too surprising! Recommended, but be aware of that noise issue, particularly during Monday to Friday, the road seemed a liitle less frantic at the weekend.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the front near the Reception end to miss the worst of the road traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanHBournemouthUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeduxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your constructive feedback.

I was pleased that one the whole you enjoyed your experience in our hotel.

The traffic noise can intrude some however we have preventative measure to ensure a restful night’s sleep. We have ear plugs, triple glazed windows and reinforced walls.

The Red Lion is a great place to stay, the prices may be more expensive however everything they cook is created and prepared in the kitchen using fresh local ingredients which we feel is well worth the money you pay.

Thank you for your custom and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Ross Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whittlesford
1.0 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
6.4 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
10.9 mi away
The Cricketers' Arms
The Cricketers' Arms
#2 of 3 in Saffron Walden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
Address: 42 Station Road | Whittlesford Bridge, Whittlesford CB22 4NL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Whittlesford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whittlesford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10 3.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford m11 Jct 10 Hotel Whittlesford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing