We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Orchard Pond Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Sorrento Hotel(Cambridge)
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Helen Hotel(Cambridge)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Centennial Hotel(Cambridge)
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Cambridge Central Station(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Tamburlaine(Cambridge)
US$229
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown House(Great Chesterford)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
115
16
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
115
16
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewson arrivaliwm duxfordthe imperial war museumwonderful hostslarge pondhome from hometea and homemade cakedinner reservationsa great place to staybacon sandwichground coffeebreakfast was deliciousnext morninga lovely staygreat location for exploring the areacooked to perfectionstayed for two nights
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Orchard Pond in the Cambridgeshire village of Whittlesford is a great place to stay if you're planning to visit Cambridge. There are also lots of other attractions nearby - Duxford Airfield is just a few minutes away and excellent hosts Janet and Simon have lots of local knowledge and were really helpful with ideas. Our room was lovely with views over the garden and a nice modern bathroom. Breakfast was delicious and nothing was too much trouble. Tea and homemade cake on arrival. Will definately go back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janet t, Owner at Orchard Pond Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Hello Julie S. Thank you for posting this review and for your kind comments. Feedback is always most welcome, and very helpful to us. It was a great pleasure for us to have you here and we hope you will return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

It's really nice and clean, the rooms are always immaculate and Janet & Simon are wonderful hosts. I also liked the location, 5 minutes walk down the hill to the village train station with links to London and easy motorway access to the M11, despite being tucked away in a quiet, rural village. And the bacon sandwiches are spot on.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janet t, Owner at Orchard Pond Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2013

Thank you so much for this. Your comments are very helpful to us and to other potential guests,and we do appreciate your taking the time to post the review. We hope to see you again Orchard Pond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights while visited IWM Duxford. Very comfortable and clean. Super beds. Hosts Greg (or is it Simon?) and Janet were most accommodating. Try the scrambed eggs and salmon for breakfast. Closest pub is the John Barleycorn - booking advised.

Room Tip: Close to the Imperial War Museum at Duxford.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janet t, Owner at Orchard Pond Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Thank you so much for this review. It was a pleasure to have you and your family here, and I'm delighted that you enjoyed the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon. Very pleased too that you liked the John Barleycorn and I've passed your comments on. We really appreciate your feedback, thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

We stayed here because it was very close to the imperial war museum but found it to be quite a cozy place. The owners were very accommodating to our schedule and suggested some great places to go and visit. Greg and Janet were very nice...even waking up early to fix us some breakfast before heading back to London. Greg suggested we drive up to Cambridge, which we did, and found it to be a beautiful campus. It inspired us to drive down to Oxford, which is also a great place to be. There are only 2 rooms and since it wasn't peak time we got our choice. The heater was set a bit high but overall it was a great place to stay after a dreary walk I'm the war museum.

Room Tip: Sorry but there was no swimming pool. Both rooms were good but the one upstairs had an ensuite bathroom, which made it a bit more private. I think the heat was turned up because it was January and they must think Americas aren't used to the weather but the comforters were more than adequate.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pear B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janet t, Owner at Orchard Pond Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2013

Thank you so much for your comments. We enjoyed having you to stay and glad that you enjoyed visiting Cambridge and the surrounding area. We don't have a swimming pool but can offer guests use of the hot tub. We take on board that the room was a little warm and will ensure that guests are shown how to adjust the heating controls in future. Thank you again, your feedback is much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Stayed at Orchard Pond last week and was a lovely b&b. It was a lovely welcome that we were given. The rooms were beautiful, really homely and beautifully clean with great facilities (TV, water by bed, selection teas and coffees). The bed was sooo comfortable. The breakfast was fantastic as well - soo much choice. Lovely home and excellent b&b. Would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rachel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janet t, Owner at Orchard Pond Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2012

Thank you so much for posting this review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and were nice and warm despite the bitter weather. Good to hear too that you appreciated having a choice of what to eat at breakfast and the little extras such as water by the bed, - it's very helpful for us to know that these things make a difference. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews