We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The service was AMAZING!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel-Musee Premieres Nations
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wendake
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The service was AMAZING!”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend decided to book a last minute trip for our anniversary on February 11, 2014. It was a hotel de glace and hotel musee combo pack. We drove from Ottawa to Quebec City for our "special" night. When we arrived it had turned out that the agency we ordered it through booked us for March not February. (The French English was misunderstood?) It was no fault of hotel musee. They quickly found us a room and called the hotel de glacé and got us a room for the next night. There was no available rooms, so they up graded us to a better room which was awesome! The girls where super friendly and went above and beyond what was expected! The dinner was nice. We opted for six course meal with wine pairing. It was good. Out of six of the courses I enjoyed three. The raw stergon was not for me and the venison was blue rare. But just because i didnt like doesn't mean someone else would not. The waiter was friendly and spoke good English. As some of the other guest have mentioned the waiter insisted that the gratuity was not included on the up graded wine pairing from the three course meal that was part of the package. At this point we had left a cash tip at the table and not on my credit card bill. Which I could only assume he had thought we hadn't tipped. The following day we decided to have a massage at the spa. We were welcomed with smiling faces. We had an hour long relaxation massage, which was tasteful and relaxing. It was a great value and felt awesome! I wish we remembered everyone's names. We were just relieved that there was room for us and didn't have to make the trek back to Ottawa. But everyone was superb! Oh yes, the museum was fun to explore and the long horn was cool to see!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy7842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine G, Administrative Assistant at Hotel-Musee Premieres Nations, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Kwe!

We are all very happy to know that your stay was up to your expactations. The legendary welcome of the First Nations is something we are all really proud of. It is always pleasant to hear it is appreciated. We are delighted to know that your experience at the Hotel-Musée Premières Nations filled you with great memories, and we hope you will come back and visit our establishment very soon.
Be sure we will forward your good words to all our staff.

TiawenhK, Entïio chia' önenh! Thank you, have a nice day and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    111
    24
    7
    2
See reviews for
119
134
4
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

In Québec City, just a few minute from downtown, you will reach a close contact with mother nature when staying at the Premiere Nation Hotel. It's a luxe hotel with all the facility, on the side of the lorette river that you could observe from your patio door in each room. You seem to be in the midle of the woods. We try the spas experience: a bit to small,very intimate,2 small sauna no vapor sauna just dry one and a great nature hot tub to be in contact with mother nature. A great experience. We have dinner at the la Traite hotel restaurant, every thing was fine an other great experience of tasting premiere nation meal. So dont be weary it's a realfine and relaxing place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alain H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine G, Administrative Assistant at Hotel-Musee Premieres Nations, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Kwe,

We are really happy you enjoyed your stay with us!
We are really proud of the natural world that surrounds our hotel, for nature has always been at the center of the Huron-Wendat culture.
And we are always pleased to share our culnary heritage with anyone who wants to discover it. It is always nice to hear that the Huron-Wendat Nation's culture is appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again!

TiawenhK, Entïio chia' önenh!
(Thank you, have a nice day and see you soon!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caribou, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Amazing ambience, very warm and cozy interior, these guys have really though out of the box in terms of luxury, ambience, comfort, service - you name it. The real thing is equal to or better than pictures on the web. Just in case you consider it to be somewhat expensive, the price is actually quite reasonable for the experience you get, especially considering that the place is pet friendly. We would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karun T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine G, Assistant at Hotel-Musee Premieres Nations, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Kwe,
We are all extremely happy to know that your stay was up to your expectations. The Huron-Wendat Nation is know for its legendary welcome and that's something we are all really proud of. It is always nice to hear that the Huron-Wendat Nation's culture is appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again!
TiawenhK, Entïio chia' önenh!
(Thank you, have a nice day and see you soon!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

It was a pretty spontaneous two-nights getaway for us and overall we enjoyed the experience. The hotel exterior & interior were pretty exotic and genuine. The room was very clean and the decor followed the atmosphere of the hotel. We got two dinners, a brunch and a breakfast included in our package and I can describe the cuisine with one word: "Exquisite!" Exotic food & excellently cooked. The on-site museum (located in the lobby) was a very nice touch. We didn't take a guided tour but very much enjoyed reading the stories ourselves. The night in the Longhouse was a truly memorable experience - very much authentic and mystic. We heard lovely legends and songs, learned some Indian dances and cooked bread on fire. Just a little advice: if you have a long drive next day, think twice cause you may get hard times sleeping in a smoked air with rather loud "shots" coming from the fire and echoing inside the longhouse. But overall, it was a great getaway.

Now about some cons. I wish the description of the packages was more transparent. It wasn't too nice to discover that we have access to the Nordic baths only for one day. We arrived to the hotel ~4pm and had a reservation for a dinner at 8pm, so we had a couple of hours same day to access the baths and we took those to relax after a long drive. Then we were told by the staff that it's for one day only and we cannot access it again the next day. Another thing is that, well, we don't speak French and many times we had problems with staff speaking just a little or not speaking English at all. That's a common situation in Quebec but for that level & price of the hotel I'd expect staff to speak English. And the last con that added a... "flavor".. was waiters explicitly mentioning 15% gratuity even before I took out a pen to sign the receipt... or even warned us when we left less than the advised 15%. It wasn't a pleasant surprise to get such an attitude in a rather pricey hotel. Especially, since it was all about the bottle of wine: the dinner & the complementary gratuity were included in our packages.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArtySandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine G, Assistant at Hotel-Musee Premieres Nations, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Kwe!
The night in the longhouse is a unique experience indeed! We are really happy that you enjoyed Okia’s legends and songs. We shall, of course, inform her of your appreciation, as well as our staff at restaurant La Traite.
We are very sorry to learn that your package information was not clear enough right from the start. Actually, on a two-night stay including access to the Nordic baths, our guests can choose on which day they want to use these accesses. We will make sure to be clearer in the future.
It is a surprise for us to learn that you had trouble finding staff who speaks English. The vast majority of our employees who works with our clients are bilingual (French and English).
As regards the waiters who explicitly mentioned the 15% gratuity, we understand it must have felt a bit curtly and deeply apologize for it. If you thought the waiters were having an attitude and it made you feel uncomfortable in any way, we obviously have to work on the way of putting these things.
We finally would like to thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your concerns. It is a good way (the best way!) for us to improve our services and to reach the highest level of quality.
Don’t hesitate to join us if you have any more concerns.
TiawenhK, Entïio chia' önenh! (Thank you, have a nice day and see you soon!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

It was a lot of fun. The restaurant served some interesting food: I had Elk carpaccio, Red deer meat and seal meat.The most tasty was the seal. Normally I eat very little meat. This was a treat.

The decor of the building was unusual but authentic . I have never come close to see the fur of the wolf and they were majestic. Having the museum in the building was a great idea.

The shop was well stocked. I bought some CDs of Wendake music and I enjoyed listening to them.The people at the shop are from the Wendake tribe and they were helpful in explaining things.
All in all I will recommend the hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine G, Assistant at Hotel-Musee Premieres Nations, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Kwe!
What a pleasure it is to see that you enjoyed your stay!
Music is indeed a great introduction to the Huron-Wendat culture. We are really proud you enjoyed it. We would also like to let you know we do not use the word tribe anymore when talking about our people. We would rather use the term Nation.
Hope to see you again!
TiawenhK, Entïio chia' önenh! Thank you, have a nice day and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
194 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We selected the "First nations package" that included the room, the guided tour to the museum, the four course dinner and breakfast. This is not cheap but well worth it. The room was very spacious with all the modern amenities that you may want. The personnel at the reception desk was very helpful and gracious. Our guide during the museum and long house tour was very knowledgeable, enthusiastic and interesting. We went for a canoe ride on the nearby St Charles river, a very delightful experience in a beautiful scenic region. The dinner and breakfast were true gourmet experiences.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine G, Assistant at Hotel-Musee Premieres Nations, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Kwe!

We are all very happy to know that your stay was up to your expactations. The canoe ride on St.Charles River (we call it Akiawenrahk River (the Trout River)) is a great way to experience the Huron-Wendat lifestyle in a modern way. The legendary welcome of the First Nations is something we are all really proud of. It is always pleasant to hear it is appreciated. Be sure we will forward your good words to all our staff.

TiawenhK, Entïio chia' önenh! Thank you, have a nice day and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The personnel were inviting, extremely warm and engaging! The gourmet cuisine at " La Traite Restaurant" helped us discover First Nation cuisine was delightful. Personnel at the Spa introduced us to different sauna'a as well as hot and cold spas, unfortunately we did not have time to try the massages. The rooms were comfortable and a combination tradition, culture and modern life. The museum enlighten us to the hardships experienced by the Hurons as well as the development of their nomad communities. Will definitely return next year for a longer stay to visit the charm of the town as well as explore the trails and services offered by the spa! Highly recommended if you are looking for a 4 star hotel with a zen like atmosphere !!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: I mistakenly rated the fitness center. There is no gym but access to bicycles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zinmcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine G, Assistant at Hotel-Musee Premieres Nations, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Kwe!

You seem to have kept good memories of your stay and this is our main goal as you walk in Hôtel-Musée Premières Nations. You really get our concept of bringing tradition and culture together with modern life. It was a pleasure to have you, and maybe next time, you could try a massage at Nation Santé-Spa ;)

TiawenhK, Entïio chia' önenh! Thank you and have a nice day and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wendake
8.1 mi away
Le Manoir du Lac Delage
Le Manoir du Lac Delage
#1 of 1 in Lac Delage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
3.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Quebec Resort
4.1 mi away
Hotel & Suites Normandin Quebec
Hotel & Suites Normandin Quebec
#17 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Grand Times Hotel
Grand Times Hotel
#51 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
7.9 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,039 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec
Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec
#19 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Musee Premieres Nations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Musee Premieres Nations

Property: Hotel-Musee Premieres Nations
Address: 5, Place de la Rencontre, Wendake, Quebec G0A 4V0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Wendake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wendake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel-Musee Premieres Nations 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hotel-Musee Premieres Nations in Wendake. A 4-star boutique hotel where each room offers a great view of the "Akiawenrahk" river. Discover the fine Northern cuisine of our chef Martin Gagne and a Huron-Wendat museum unique in North America. The architecture—inspired by the traditional long-house, the La Traite restaurant—cuisine imbued with myriad flavours of the boreal forest, and the legendary warmth of First Nations people will charm you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel-Musee Premieres Nations reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing