We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“learn about first nations”

Site Traditionnel Huron
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Wendake
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Located on the Huron-Wendat reservation, the Huron Traditional Site is a unique opportunity to discover the history, the culture and the lifestyle of Hurons of the past and of today.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“learn about first nations”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

A wonderful look at the first nation people with their different stories, legends ,dances and crafts. There are so many beautiful things to buy and give as gift.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank christina g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    133
    39
    13
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baraboo, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
216 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Worthwhile Side Trip”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The staff was very friendly and accommodated our request for an English-speaking tour - since we were the only 4 English speakers at the appointed time, we ended up with a private tour. The guide was very knowledgeable and open to questions. In addition to learning about the Huron culture, there are things from other indigenous North American cultures, such as a teepee and a totem pole. I appreciated the effort to educate visitors not just on the Hurons, but on these other cultures as well. Similarly, the gift store is immense and has gifts from a wide variety of indigenous North American cultures.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MD
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Interesting trip”
Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

We made a short day of this. Stopped at the Huron information center to get a feel for the sights. I highly recommend that. Lots of good suggestions. We then stopped at the falls (lovely and many great photos). Then on to the center. We had lunch there onsite at Nek8arre ( good) and took an English version of the tour. Entertaining, even for our two year old.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetpea1714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Interesting site”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Beautiful hotel, well decorated. Traditional objects, paintings, furs, all around. Great for people who don,t know much about Hurons. The outdoors is great for talking walks, and the lobby has a huge window, we can just sit on a couch, relax and enjoy nature.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Aidan44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Spezia, Italy
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice visit also in winter”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I visited this site both in summer and in winter. It is very interesting and it give a different impression depending on the season. My children liked it very much and I also found it interesting. You will get a quite complete overview of the life of Quebec native people: houses, tepee, shaman ceremony, everyday life, history, culture etc. The small restaurant and the shop in the site are also good.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gaetano C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Site Traditionnel Huron also viewed

 

Been to Site Traditionnel Huron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing