We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great introduction to the first nations culture”
Review of Musee Huron-Wendat

Musee Huron-Wendat
Ranked #2 of 8 things to do in Wendake
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The museum introduces, in a very interactive fashion, a unique collection which brings one to the heart of the Huron-Wendat culture, explores themes from the historical territories and recalls native memories and knowledge. The museum offers more than a simple visit; it introduces a bona fide cultural voyage. Apart from all the collections, one can find, in close proximity to a restores brook, outdoor theme gardens where one may discover the beauty and power of the medicinal plants.
Montreal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great introduction to the first nations culture”
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We spent a few hours at this beautiful small museum full of artefacts from the first nations culture. The guided visit is a must. The guide was very knowledgeable and interesting. We were a small group (just our family at the beggining of the visit) and we had great insights about the first nations stories and culture.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank myriam_traveltips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    45
    8
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We had a fascinating vist to Wendake. We got a couple of buses up from Quebec City - the tourist office will tell you which ones to get. We first walked along the gorge and the swollen river and rapids were a dramatic sight. We went to the museum but found it was closed for lunch (from 12 -1 oddly) so we walked up to the Huron vilage which took about twenty minutes. Wendake town was not what we expected. The streets were named in both English and the Huron language and looked more prosperous thatn we had imagined. The Huron Village is in a rather unprepossessing site in an industrial park but none of that is apparent once you go in. We waited about 20 minutes for an English speaking guide to be available and then a young Huron woman appeared to take us round. She was excellent - she spoke with passion and deep knowledge about the exhibits we were seeing and really made them come alive - but also spoke in a very thought-provoking way about the history of the Huron people, what it was like to grow up in a Huron community and contemorary First Nation problems. After the tour there was plenty of time to wander round ourselves, visit the gift shop (which was better value and quality than we had seen elsewhere) and eat a meal in the cafeteria which sold tasty, good value, traditional food. All the staff we spoke to were very friendly and helpful. It was a really good visit and a highlight of our stay in Canada.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Well worth the detour!”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Very interesting museum about the Wendat culture:15 mn from Quebec, it is located in the gorgeous Hotel des Premieres Nations whose gastronomical restaurant La Traite is well worth the detour.
We did not have time to visit the traditionnal Huron site, but just going around in the village itself was very interesting
( If you are smokers, I heard that cigarettes can be purchased tax-free in the village)

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank yjg805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dialectgirl
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Experience an authentic visit on native land, learn about history in an unbiased way.”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

If you take the tour they offer, you will be guided by a native, and taken not only through the museum but also the village, and visit some original buildings, where important events occurred. This visit will give you insight into a different side of history, and is told in an unbiased way. This is important! In all, a place worth visiting, worth the money too. Before or after your visit, you can try some wild meats at the restaurant Sagamite (see review), and go walking in the village or along the river which is neat in winter as well as summer. I recommend it.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank dialectgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fascinating History...a Beautiful Museum”
Reviewed 24 August 2011

The museum is located in the architecturally stunning Hotel-Musee Premieres Nations. At first it seemed to be closed,but as we passed through a small enclosed area that featured a mural of the Huron/Wendat myth of creation, we saw people in the darkened interior. Quiet music was playing as we entered this very peaceful place. The museum tells the history of the Huron/Wendat people with the exhibits described in both English and French. There is seating in the middle of the large room to rest and view pictures projected on large screens near the ceiling. In the downstairs area there is another display room, a small gift shop with books, jewelry, and other items, and rest rooms. The Huron/Wendat museum is interesting, educational, and beautiful.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank travelteacher10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Musee Huron-Wendat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing