We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable, homely accommodation, ideal for...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Highfields cottage

First floor cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
First floor cottage
Spacious Living room looking over fields and the gardens. Aga Woodburner for cold evenings
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
First floor cottage
Spacious Living room looking over fields and the gardens.
Aga Woodburner for cold evenings
The balcony view
Balcony in the evening
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom.
Your own Private garden
Garden
Amazing sunset at Highfields
One of the local lakes just a stone throw away. Enjoy some fishing
Fish from one of the local lakes.
Wildlife in the area
wildlife in the area
You might spot the barn owl
A beautiful evening at Highfields
The Nene washes is just a short walk away. Peaceful walks and bird watching
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whittlesey, Peterborough, Cambridgeshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kim131313
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable, homely accommodation, ideal for family socialising”
Reviewed 25 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We enjoyed staying at Highfields Cottage and immediately felt at home in the comfortable and spacious accommodation. We loved having a large upstairs balcony overlooking the fields behind and it was also good for outdoor eating when other family members visited us for dinner. Downstairs there is a sheltered table tennis area which also provided another opportunity for some social fun. A downstairs patio area with BBQ gave us further choice for mealtimes. The bedrooms were comfortable and pleasant and the kitchen was adequately equipped with a table for seating four people. Peter and Anita were very friendly and helpful and their commitment to ensuring their guests had an enjoyable stay was much appreciated. Ideally situated for visiting our family, we will definitely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Choice of living/eating spaces
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2016
We are so pleased that you felt at home and we look forward to your return visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Sep 2016
We are so glad you had a wonderful stay at Highfields Cottage. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Peter & Anita.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
england
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Sep 2016
We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Donzt82
1 review
“AWESOME STAY”
Reviewed 11 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We loved every minute of our stay. Peter and Anita were so welcoming and friendly. They cudnt do enough to make our stay a good one. Would highly recommend staying here. So peaceful and the house was stunning. Even the chickens were lovely. Our children loved it and even got to play a game of table tennis with Peter which they really enjoyed. Will be going back. X

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're glad you had a wonderful stay and holiday. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Peter & Anita.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alihippo
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We loved it here and will definitely come back again!”
Reviewed 21 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I’m so glad we ended up booking with Pete and Anita. From initial booking through to the very last part of our stay, they were so welcoming, hospitable and approachable. They answered any query we had, they provided excellent directions to find them, and even helped us find somewhere to eat once we got there (Visuvio’s in nearby Whittlesey, which proved to be yummy by the way!). They are there if you need them, and provide privacy if not.

The accommodation is also superb; as soon as we walked in, it felt like home. We wanted somewhere quiet in a nice setting, somewhere for us to kick back over the weekend, and Highfields Cottage more than fitted this bill. Apparently Pete and Anita say they have only just started renting through Trip Advisor. But they are clearly very knowledgeable, as they provided many little treats and items, which made for a lovely welcome. The accommodation is really spacious and immaculate throughout, I don’t think the pictures do it justice really. The rooms are all a really good size, well-appointed with furniture, spotlessly clean. The view from the balcony is lovely where there is a set of table and chairs to sit and enjoy the surroundings, and another set on your second patio downstairs, which is all enclosed. The kitchen is well-equipped and has everything you need from tea towels to dishwasher tablets. Rather than go out on one of our days, we even had a friend over for lunch, as we felt so at home there.

The local Chinese was also delicious (Lucky House), which was only a couple of minutes’ walk away; I thought it was one of the best we’ve ever eaten! There is a lovely fishing lake just up the road, which is set in a lovely woodland. This is a great place to stretch your legs for half an hour. Pete and Anita have also left lots of information in a separate room downstairs, which is also shared with their caravan stayers. Here there is a washing machine and tumble dryer for use as well.

We chose the location as we came to see friends in Peterborough, but we will definitely be back here for another stay and have a longer stay next time to appreciate the place more! I wish Pete and Anita lots of luck as they settle in with Trip Advisor, I’m sure they soon will be fully booked!

(We stayed in June 2016)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing! Maybe the wifi was a little weak but it was adequate for us.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you had a lovely time in our cottage and that everything was to your satisfaction.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future
Peter & Anita (Owners)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HasinaKha...
1 review
“Perfect Stay”
Reviewed 3 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Needed some quite time away from our busy lives. This was the perfect place. The cottage was lovely inside and out, clean and tidy with all the mod cons required. Beautifully decorated to a high standard.
The owners were great. So friendly and hospitable and always on hand to provide any assistance required.
Reasonable price, excellent service and wonderful customer service.
Looking forward to my next stay there 

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2016
Thank you for your lovely comments, and so glad you had a relaxing time. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Peter & Anita.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing