We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“country pub”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arrington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hardwicke Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arrington
Reviewed 15 July 2012

This was a pleasant looking pub. The staff were very friendly. However the room, although spacious lacked a few amenities that would have made the stay a little more comfortable.
They were using an old TV with a set top box but there were no instructions on how to use it. It took several attempts before working out how to switch it on and get a picture. Also the lighting in the bedroom left a lot to be desired. There was no light by the dressing table or anything to sit on. This made putting make-up on rather tricky.
The en-suite bathroom had no shelves or windowsill on which to put toiletries. Neither was there anywhere in the shower to put soap, shampoo etc.
The cooked food was very good and piping hot and there was a good choice of menu, however service at the evening meal was very slow.

Room Tip: Only saw room we were in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teddy673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2012

I had a lovely stay here, staff very friendly and helpful and rooms clean and comfortable. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pdanaswamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Positive - Location great for Longstowe Hall, wedding venue and Wimpole Hall, Natural Trust, bedding appeared clean.

Less than positive - Puzzled about definition of word 'hotel'? When can a pub with rooms above it call itself a hotel? Room noisy as looking out onto busy main road, carpets stained, no hair dryer, no power point near mirror, both room and small ensuite in need of a good clean, one curtain hanging off pole, cobwebs .............. I expect a far higher standard when paying £75 a night.

Room Tip: If you do stay here request a room that does not face onto main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fenedge17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We stopped for lunch 2 indifferent sandwiches, mine the bread was dry and curled, 1 tonic water 1 orange juice £14-30. The young guy who served us never engaged with us never smiled in fact could hardly be bothered to speak, he was the same with everyone there so we were not special !!

Room Tip: Take a room at the rear of the hotel it is on a fast main A road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank MKTGRoyston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

we were very pleased to have stayed at this hotel.we had room number 8,a quaint double room.bed was very comforable .the on suite bathroom was very good,the room was clean and the tv worked ok. after been shown to our room we had something to eat from their bar snack menu,very nice food,ok priced as well.we did have a slight problem in that we were unable to control our heating,they have it on some kind of timer.but all turned out ok,the landlady brought us a moblile heater and heating was switched on.if we were in the area again we would stay here again.last of all the breakfast was very good,ten out of ten.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Demetris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Was very pleasantly surprised to happen upon this charming Hotel. Whilst searching for accommodation at short notice I received a very warm welcome as I walked in to enquire about availability. I was most fortunate, they had accommodation! And together with good food, clean rooms and very friendly staff (and locals) this was a most enjoyable stay. The Hardwicke Arms is now on my list of favourite Hotels in the Duxford Area and I shall be sure to return again soon.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I have eaten here a couple of times before and been very impressed with the carvery. However I went recently with group of friends and had food from the general menu. The food was generally OK. I think most of the group were quite pleased with what they had, but I don't think they made much effort with us. There were tables laid out nicely, but maybe these were only for hotel guests, as we were put in the back room next to the pool table. I am of the opinion that if you are in the catering trade you always have to make people feel like they are getting a special meal as you never know how much return trade you will get or if people will recommend you to their friends The bar is nice and there was a good choice of beer so I'd definitely recommend it for a drink. Or maybe if it's just a couple you get to sit at the nice tables.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eglantina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrington
6.1 mi away
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
4.6 mi away
Sheene Mill
Sheene Mill
#1 of 1 in Melbourn
272 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 36 in Cambridge
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge Orchard Park
9.7 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
336 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hardwicke Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hardwicke Arms Hotel

Address: 96 Ermine Way, Arrington SG8 0AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Arrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arrington
Price Range: £65 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Hardwicke Arms Hotel
The Hardwicke Arms Hotel Arrington, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing