We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hardwicke Arms Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$251
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$241
Doubletree
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$254
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$244
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Lensfield(Cambridge)
US$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Hotel(Biggleswade)
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$239
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Felix(Cambridge)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
26
29
13
12
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
29
13
12
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswimpole estatesunday carveryattending a wedding nearbywalking groupwedding venueeach eveningneeded somewherevillage pubat short noticefull englishnight stayroom was largearmchairsstarterscambridge
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 95 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2008

This place has no redeeming features, apart from the fact that it is often the only place left with vacant rooms. There is a reason for that.

I suggest you avoid staying for more than one night. Otherwise you don't have the option of leaving very early in the morning to go home for a good scrub in your own (clean) shower.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Lalage2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2007

Having read the only other review of this hotel I found myself in total agreement with the reviewer , having stayed there recently . It came as a large shock to discover that this review was posted 2 years ago .
I don't think the carpets can have been cleaned since then and I can guarantee the rooms have not been worked on in any way since the 80's (the wallpaper , which was doing it's best to join me both in the shower and in bed , was the same as a pattern put up by my parents for a spare room in 1986/87 )
On a brighter note I would say that the restaurant is probably worth a visit as I could not complain about the food served during my stay .
My suggestion to the proprietors of the hotel would be that possibly spending a bit of time and money on their accomodation and possibly some staff training ( cleaners/bar staff ) would encourage people to return to stay . I regret to say it is too late for me although I may return one day ( but only to eat )

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Yantow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Colchester
13
Reviewed 25 July 2005

Knew that it would be old fashioned - but there is a fine line between quaint and in desparate need of repair. Was most dissapointed. Were greeted with uninterested staff, not much of a welcome given. Carpets throughout were extremely dirty and covered in moths. Rooms were an extreme disappointment.

The room itself was dirty with chipped and flaking paintwork, dirty smelly carpets, cobwebs and moths everywhere. The shower was ungrouted, dirty covered in silverfish - Taps and shower covered completely with limescale, would not have used this facility at all given the state of it and it leaked as the door did not seal. Flaking wallpaper and paint everywhere. 3 other rooms within the hotel were in similar state, and 2 others although advertised as double en-suite were tiny and in the eaves.

Would not recommend this venue at all, felt totally unclean

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hardwicke, Manager at The Hardwicke Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2007

This is a most disappointing review, and not at all a true illustration of our hotel. We would ask that future travellers read other reviews from satisfied customers (and there are many!) regarding our rooms, dining, functions and weddings. We endeavour to ensure all our clients are happy at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC