We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully tasty food ... we keep going back!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arrington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hardwicke Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arrington
UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderfully tasty food ... we keep going back!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Myself and my other half have eaten here on many occasions. We have tried starters and mains off the specials board (they change this quite often, and there is always delicious seasonal food on here). We have also been in to eat their special deals during the week. The curry on certain Saturday's is amazing - you can choose from 3 curries, all absolutely yummy, also some great starters like samosas and bhajee's - all tasting very freshly made. The deal that we love is the Wednesday night Steak night! 2 steak meals for £16 is an absolute bargain.. the steaks came with chips, freshly made onion rings, tomato and mushrooms. Enough to fill us up!
We always receive a warm welcome when we come here, even if its just for a drink.
The building and setting is great - we love it!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlepipit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    28
    10
    11
    13
See reviews for
26
22
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This Hotel was selected to provide our walking group with a lunchtime snack. The menu was extremely varied and all of us were able to satisfy our eclectic tastes. Very healthy options with a side order of chips meant everyone was catered for; the meals were served very quickly with friendly staff. The Hotel is definitely worth a replenishment stop if you are travelling near Wimpole Hall along Ermine Street.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael_Pat_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I would just like to express my sincere thanks for a stupendous Mothers Day lunch. I am grateful for all the effort that staff put in. I couldn't fault anything. The food was very enjoyable and the staff were friendly and helpful.
There was such a lot of thought and attention that went into everything. Thankyou

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karl7lawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I had a most enjoyable stay here recently when I was in the area. My initial booking was for 3 nights and I ended up staying for 10! The staff were very friendly and efficient, the room was comfortable, warm, clean and spacious. Food was good (breakfast & evening) and the bar was busy and fun. The hotel was easy to find and has plenty of parking. It had everything I needed as well as easy access to both Royston and Cambridge. It was definitely worth staying put here for the duration of my trip as it was such a pleasant place to come back to at the end of the day. Yes, a little quirky, but that only added to its enormous charm. A big thank you to all the staff! I would definitely use this place again if I'm in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The Hardwicke Arms Hotel is on Ermine Street, just round the corner from Wimpole Hall. Its an attractive building, an old coaching inn, set right on the road. Parking is at the rear. The kitchen is in a dilapidated, ivy clad lean-to on the back of the hotel, which does not inspire confidence. Approaching from the car-park you come into a dimly lit, grimy looking hallway, the floor has "stone" slabs which are greasy with food spills. The restaurant is not much better with sticky carpets, worn furniture, lavatories like an old people's home, luke warm food, transparent vegetables, incredibly grumpy and rude service from some, but not all, of the staff. It says a lot about a place that still serves food on oval plates with the initials of the hotel on it, like a 1970s steak house.. The whole place shakes when cars go past, I would be astonished if anyone got a wink of sleep when staying here.
The potential of the place is immense, its an attractive building in a great location for a pub. I could not find evidence of the on going improvements they mention on the website. I was genuinely shocked about how bad this place was.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank c__h2008-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Arrington hotels

Perpignan, France
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We arrived here by chance having expected to dine at another local hotel,so when we saw food supplied by the neighbouring Wimpole estate,it was a must to try.We were most impressed,and I would personally recommend anyone who has not tried the Wimpole rare breed sausages to try them immediately,we were so impressed we rushed round to the estate shop to buy a supply for home.My wife had a beautiful salad with a particularly pleasant honey mustard dressing.The meals were modestly priced and the real ale available a special treat.The Hotel is directly on the main road,but we were not aware of any traffic noise,and the locals were very friendly.If passing through,give it a try.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincelegrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Having spent a day at the nearby Wimpole Estate we needed somewhere to stay, and this was the closest hotel in the Sat Nav. Driving past you see it's charm and although it is right on the main road, since it was once a Roman Road, the traffic has a 30mph speed limit, so noise is not a problem. Room was large, with two sitting chairs for TV watching or reading. We stayed three nights - it's proximity to Cambridge is perfect, as well as Imperial War Museum. Although there is no town to wonder in, if you are out for the day as we were you are happy to eat in bar or restaurant, plenty of choice. Friendly staff and locals to chat too as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrington
6.1 mi away
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
9.1 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,164 reviews
9.7 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,311 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Cambridge
8.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hardwicke Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hardwicke Arms Hotel

Property: The Hardwicke Arms Hotel
Address: 96 Ermine Way, Arrington SG8 0AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Arrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Hardwicke Arms Hotel
The Hardwicke Arms Hotel Arrington, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing