We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rural retreat for tired suburbanites”
Review of Wennington Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abbots Ripton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wennington Lodge
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Thanks to Tom and Lorraine for their hospitality, even though they had family staying at the same time we didn't feel forgotten or excluded, lovely farm close to A1, lots of good advice and tips for eating out (thanks Lorraine!), even got to walk the dog! Thoroughly rested and refreshed, nice one.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

was booked in for a night as had meetings at work.they were so friendly and couldnt do enough for me.i stayed in the en suite,was like been at home.breakfast was very nice.the dog was very friendly aswell.it was down a country lane in the middle of nowhere so very quiet.would stay there again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Had a room down stairs with En-suite, TV etc, comfortable, just needs little extra items like tissues, individual Shampoo etc and had only 1 towel (although I was by myself would be better to have more) a little out of the way so definitely need a car, nice Cont Breakfast included and great Hosts.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Ballinor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We arrived to the warmest welcome ever and were treated to a beautiful pot of loose leaf tea and biscuits in the perfectly tended gardens in the sunshine. Lorraine and Tom made us feel at home from the start and they have the whole B and B experience down to a 'T'.

After answering our questions about the local places of interest (Huntingdon, Godmanchester and local restaurants) we set off and returned back in the evening to an open door and another warm welcome. The boudoir and bathroom facilities were all so chic and this really felt like 'coming home'.

When we left, it was rather like leaving our long lost family behind and we were only reminded that it was a temporary home for the night by paying at the end.

The quaint little villages, duck ponds and open farmland walks would relax even the most stressed minds and there can be nowhere better to stay in the whole area in our opinion. We can't recommend this place enough. Thank you for a perfect weekend.

Room Tip: En suite or separate bathroom facilities available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GarynElisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Stayed here on business. I stay in chain hotels all the time so this made for something a little different and I would certainly stay again. What a lovely house and such a friendly and warm welcome from Tom and Lorraine from the moment I arrived to leaving the following morning after a very nice breakfast. Great value for £45 a night.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Wennington Lodge offers warm and friendly accommodation set in beautiful countryside. Not only that - but if sleeping under canvas does not agree with you - this is a fantastic option to stay at during the Secret Garden Party, which is held nearby.

Lorraine & Tom are the perfect hosts and really couldn't be more helpful during our stay. The family-run B&B has a homely feel throughout and a marvellous breakfast is freshly prepared for their guests each morning (tip for vegetarians - Tom's speciality cheese omellettes!).

Wennington Lodge certainly made our stay a comfortable and memorable one - and we certainly plan to return for future festivals!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TropikalBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I stayed overnight at Wennington Lodge whilst visiting friends. What a beautiful house, clean and tidy, with a lovely comfortable feel. The surrounding area was peaceful and had beautiful scenery. Tom and Lorraine couldn't have been more accommodating. I would recommend anyone to stay here and I will definitely be popping by again soon. Many, many thanks

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Am1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Wennington Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wennington Lodge

Address: Lodge Farm Abbots Ripton | Huntingdon, Abbots Ripton PE28 2LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Abbots Ripton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Abbots Ripton
Price Range: £40 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Wennington Lodge Bed and Breakfast near Huntingdon in the village of Abbots Ripton, CambridgeshireWe are Tom and Lorraine the proprietors of Wennington Lodge Bed and Breakfast and we extend a very warm and friendly welcome to you at our Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast establishment at Abbots Ripton, near Huntingdon in Cambridgeshire. The setting is peaceful and surrounded by countryside with beautiful views.If you are travelling along the A1 Corridor which extends from London to Edinburgh and reach the old county of Huntingdonshire, now part Cambridgeshire you will find us in a peaceful and quiet location, not far from the main A1/A14 motorways near Huntingdon.We are in the middle of Oliver Cromwell country with museums and history nearby. The Abbots Ripton rail disaster of 1876 involving 3 trains in what is reported to be the first major train crash in England occured by the largest field on the farm.We are in an ideal position for professional business people and tourists. Within easy reach of us are the cities of Peterborough and Cambridge, London is less than 1 hour by train. Local towns of Huntingdon, St Ives and St Neots are also close by.Our Bed and Breakfast B&B accommodation comprises of one double/twin en-suite, two double, one twin, and one single rooms.We have a ground floor en-suite bedroom, ideal for those who find stairs difficult to manage.We also have a self-contained Annexe (The Pad) with it's own bedroom, kitchen/diner, lounge area and shower/wc.Farmhouse/Continental breakfasts are inclusive.Bed and Breakfast B&B facilities include private entrance, dining room and lounge, access to garden with lawn, patio and parking.We have been quoted as the "Perfect B&B" along with other entries from guests at Wennington Lodge Bed and Breakfast B&B. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wennington Lodge Abbots Ripton, Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing