We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Heaven!”
other travellers have booked this property
interior detail
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
interior detail
four poster bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
interior detail
four poster bed
interior detail
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Barton, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
457tim70
Uckfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Heaven!”
Reviewed 9 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This was a perfect place to stay........lovely accommodation, helpful and unobtrusive hosts and great surroundings with lots to do

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirsty w
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“cosy cottage - warm welcome”
Reviewed 22 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Barton Bank was the ideal place for a short break. Owners Chris and Graham - and big Lennie - couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful and the cottage itself was beautiful. It had everything we needed - although it was a struggle to move from in front of the woodburner. We brought our dog along and she loved it - there are great country walks directly from the property, and we will definately be back when it's warmer to take advantage of the bbq in the garden.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: woodburner
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SILVERBIR...
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem...”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Chris and Graham were extremely helpful, prior to and during our stay. We got married at The Cock O'Barton on 8th August and we stayed for 2 nights. We had the option of staying at Carden Park or here, NO CONTEST. Everything was absolutely perfect for us, the views are outstanding, quiet, peaceful location. The cottage is compact, however spacious enough for two, cooking facilities aren't lacking and everything you could want is already there, even a welcome selection of breakfast goods from the hosts.

We will definitely be visiting again...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catherine...
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect! Wouldn't change a thing. ”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed 3 nights here and it was perfect from beginning to end. The cottage was adorable, so we'll planned. It had everything we needed. Even though the weather wasn't great we were able to sit outside under the covered decking area and enjoy a meal while watching the horses. We would definitely recommend Barton Bank Cottage. We can also recommend the Pheasant Inn, they have a leaflet with some circular walks from the pub. We did the second one then rewarded ourselves with a lovely meal, the Inn has fab views and if the weather allows it's a lovely place to sit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrsflypap...
Derby
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful little hideaway”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A fantastic little place in the countryside. Chris and Graham were welcoming and incredibly helpful hosts. Great thought and detail have been put into creating Barton Bank Cottage and you can really tell, from the breakfast collection they provided us to the file containing information on all walks nearby and all the nearby pubs and with their menus. The cottage was so cosy and peaceful, a great break from the hustle and bustle of Chester. I love the wood burner and the roll top bath, I brought a few bath bombs just for the occasion! We'll definitely be coming back here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The roll top bath
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynisMF
Stratford-upon-Avon
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 21 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Generous, welcoming hosts. Wonderful and abundant breakfast goodies. Gorgeous views, outside lounging/reading/eating/drinking space. Toasty woodburning stove. Outrageously comfortable and deep bath. Even the weather came up trumps: 21 degrees! If you're looking for bliss on all fronts, look no further. Thank you, Chris and Graham, utterly delightful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful countryside & lovely setting
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chewy88_1...
Midlands
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Everything we wanted and more, the perfect country break.”
Reviewed 9 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

From the moment we arrived in Barton village I knew we'd made the right choice. We received a very warm welcome from Graham who showed us around and advised us on local places to visit. The cottage itself was perfect, small but perfectly formed with everything we needed to feel at home. After a day of Christmas shopping in Chester, which is only a 15/20 min drive away, it was the perfect place to come back to and relax. We cooked a nice meal and soaked in the amazing roll top bath. If you do stay here you must dine at the local pub, Cock O Barton which is outstanding. Both the food and service was 5 stars for us. This was exactly what we were looking for, a romantics break in the quiet countryside but close to a city. We give Barton Bank cottage 5 stars and hope to return soon. Many thanks Graham and Chris

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing