We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful week”
other travellers have booked this property
interior detail
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
interior detail
four poster bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
interior detail
four poster bed
interior detail
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Barton, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

sandieann...
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A wonderful week”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Arrived late after the Friday at Carfest. We were greeted by a well equipped, cozy dwelling. There was everything you could need. The main bonus which was totally unexpected was the thoughtful larder of 4 breakfast cereals (kilner jars), apples, satsumas, yogurts, butter, cheese, jam, marmalade, 2pints milk, carton of OJ, 4 croissants, white & brown bread & bottle of sauvignon blanc. Breakfast was more or less sorted for the whole week. It was a really lovely touch & greatly appreciated. The location was idyllic & peaceful-even horses in the field. A wonderful place to stay. Chris & Graeme were very friendly & informative. Thank you.

Date of stay: August 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natalie08...
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very comfortable pretty cottage”
Reviewed 23 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for two nights after visiting dog fest with our two small dogs. Cottage is small but very pretty, lovely comfy bed. Bathroom is great with both shower and large roll top bath. The only thing we would've liked and its nothing really is a bigger TV but no big deal for a few days away. Even though you're just behind owners house it's very private and you're not overlooked or disturbed.
We were left a great range of breakfast items too and milk, coffee etc.
All in all a very pleasant stay, I would definitely stay here and would recommend it.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bed
Liked least: The tv
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LinzMcM
North-East England
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 18 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic 2 night stay a few weeks ago in what is a lovely, quaint little cottage. The hosts had thought of all the little details, including breakfast items and milk in the fridge and toiletries in the bathroom. The fire was lit upon our arrival and we were given great advice as to local walks in the area. The roll top bath was a bonus! Would certainly recommend.

Date of stay: April 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim C
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Heaven!”
Reviewed 9 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This was a perfect place to stay........lovely accommodation, helpful and unobtrusive hosts and great surroundings with lots to do

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
77kirstyw
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“cosy cottage - warm welcome”
Reviewed 22 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Barton Bank was the ideal place for a short break. Owners Chris and Graham - and big Lennie - couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful and the cottage itself was beautiful. It had everything we needed - although it was a struggle to move from in front of the woodburner. We brought our dog along and she loved it - there are great country walks directly from the property, and we will definately be back when it's warmer to take advantage of the bbq in the garden.

Date of stay: January 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: woodburner
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SILVERBIR...
Neston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem...”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Chris and Graham were extremely helpful, prior to and during our stay. We got married at The Cock O'Barton on 8th August and we stayed for 2 nights. We had the option of staying at Carden Park or here, NO CONTEST. Everything was absolutely perfect for us, the views are outstanding, quiet, peaceful location. The cottage is compact, however spacious enough for two, cooking facilities aren't lacking and everything you could want is already there, even a welcome selection of breakfast goods from the hosts.

We will definitely be visiting again...

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catherine...
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect! Wouldn't change a thing. ”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed 3 nights here and it was perfect from beginning to end. The cottage was adorable, so we'll planned. It had everything we needed. Even though the weather wasn't great we were able to sit outside under the covered decking area and enjoy a meal while watching the horses. We would definitely recommend Barton Bank Cottage. We can also recommend the Pheasant Inn, they have a leaflet with some circular walks from the pub. We did the second one then rewarded ourselves with a lovely meal, the Inn has fab views and if the weather allows it's a lovely place to sit.

Date of stay: July 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.