We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with an unexpected bonus”
Review of The Lymm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Lymm Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lymm
GreenLeadersBronze level
Amersham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with an unexpected bonus”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Had a minor issue with the room which was rectified straight away. All the staff we dealt with were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was one of the best we have experienced with excellent service. On checking out I mentioned that returning to the room after breakfast I had been 'mugged' by the hotel cat for the jug of milk I was carrying and it had barged into the annexe and wouldn't leave. Turns out the hotel doesn't have a cat,this was Bailey, a local moggie who has adopted the hotel as his own and turns up at various times. As a cat lover this was a charming bonus to the stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinsipuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasteiner, General Manager at The Lymm Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. It was good to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we managed to rectify your initial concern as soon as you brought it to our attention. Breakfast is always well received here and I am glad that our team looked after you during your stay.
Bailey our neighbour's cat does sometimes wonder into the building inspite of my best efforts to explain to him that he must stay outside. Luckily he is very friendly and does not mind being picked up and put back outside.
Bailey I am sure is looking forward to your next visit for his next saucer of milk and so are we!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    264
    215
    70
    46
See reviews for
183
285
29
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rawtenstall, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed one night at this hotel whilst attending an event in the area. Room was a little dated, the wardrobe door kept opening and the room was a little too warm. Staff were very pleasant, receptionist very helpful. All in all reasonable value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasteiner, General Manager at The Lymm Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and it was especially pleasing to hear that you found our staff friendly and helpful.
We are in the process of repainting all our rooms and updating our decor.
It was good to read that you judged your stay as value for money especially with the quality of our breakfast.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Lymm Hotelin the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My experience can only be described as laughable....our dear friends had made a block booking for guests to stay over following their wedding reception....when the four of us, ( two couples), tried to book in we were told no reservations had been made for us and that the hotel was now full....despite the reservation being made well in advance by the bride herself....although we tried to explain this to the receptionist she had great trouble understanding us.....and was getting cross that we had a problem at being shipped out to another hotel 2 miles away at a greater cost and would have to get taxies to and from the reception....
Ok so the hotel agreed to pay the difference and the taxi cost, but that didn't take away the fact that we were delayed for the actual wedding and greatly inconvenienced generally.
The bride and groom stayed at the hotel and their cataloge of complaints is too great to relay here, but let's just say their email to head office will make interesting reading!
My advice DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!

Helpful?
3 Thank Cate W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pasteiner, Manager at The Lymm Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. It was most unfortunate that the guest who had reserved rooms for those attending the wedding taking place in the Lymm village area to which you were invited, made alterations to the details resulting in your reservation not being present.
Not having been able to stay in our hotel must have been very frustrating and it is a pity that you did not have the opportunity to enjoy any of our facilties in order to judge them for yourseves.
I was heartening to read that we paid the difference in accommodation price and the taxi fares to and from where you were staying to the wedding venue in the village, although we were not directly at fault for having to ask you to move to another hotel.
Regards, Philip Pasteiner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers are raving about these Lymm hotels

Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed at the Lymm Hotel 6 & 7 Sept and enjoyed our stay very much. The staff
were most helpful and we found dinner on the 6th excellent and breakfasts 7th and 8th
first-class. Granted the hotel itself is undergoing refurbishment but our room was
most comfortable and had all the amenities required. Most convenient for
exploring the Canal and the surrounding area.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room and the hotel does not have lifts. During our stay there was a wedding...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasteiner, General Manager at The Lymm Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your response. It was wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the Lymm Hotel. We do pride ourselves on the quality of our freshly prepared, clearly sourced food, both for your dinner and your breakfast.
We are in the process of painting all our bedrooms and I am glad that you found the hotel fully to your satisfaction.
The hotel is very well situated to use as a base for visiting all the major sites and destinations in the North West as well as our delightful local village less thatn 5 minutes walk away next to the canal.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on a future date.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed at the hotel for a night on business - the hotel room was tired and dated - cracks down the wall and around the windows and from a by gone day - the bed was however amazingly comfortable. The Bar was dead on a Thursday night - breakfast was good but was glad got a B&B rate as it was 17.50 for it

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasteiner, General Manager at The Lymm Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your interesting review.
We are in the process of painting all our rooms and this is giving them all a tremendous lift. The particular room where you stayed I know well and it will be replastered shortly and also redecorated.
It was good to hear that you had a great night's sleep and enjoyed our breakfast. I do recommend our inclusive breakfast accommodation rates in order to get great value for money.
Best regards,
Philip Pasteiner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed here as we were eating up the road at the Church Green , They staff were very nice and welcoming , it is dog friendly so they did not bat an eyelid when we arrived with our gun dog , he got lots of fuss . It was our 1st experience of taking a dog on holiday

The room was clean and spacious and near to a door if the pooch needed a quick walk . The breakfast was lovely and poached eggs cooked to order. I love waiting staff at breakfast rather than the pile em in type of buffet and we got a great breakfast at the Lymm Hotel.

We were provided with a map for the walk around the canals that lead to the village the following day .

A nice hotel and we would definitely return as the local walking is fab if you have a dog and just want a bit of a break . It is very close to the village of Lymm along a lovely walk .

Yes as mentioned in other reviews it is a bit dated but the staff and cleanliness along with the dog friendly worked for us for one night.

The bar area in it's time would have been superb , I am an 80's girl so it all worked for me !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasteiner, General Manager at The Lymm Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review. I was so glad to read tht you enjoyed your stay with us and that you particularily enjoyed our breakfast. Our free range eggs and Happy Trotters pork make the ideal basis for a tasty brekafast that sets you up for the day ahead..
We do welcome dogs in our rooms with prior arrangement and it was good to hear that this worked out well for you.
Its a lovely base to relax and explore the Cheshire countryside without being stuck out in the wild.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The receptionist was very welcoming and complimentary ( i was wearing a new dress!)
Breakfast was nice, plenty of choice.
Check out was quick and again polite.
We did only use hotel to sleep and have breakfast as we were attending family wedding up the road.
Set in nice village.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janeah123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasteiner, General Manager at The Lymm Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. It was good to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the Lymm Hotel while you were at a family wedding in the area.
We do pride ourselves on the friendliness of our staff and I am glad that the receptionist noticed that you had a new dress and brouight it up in conversation.
Breakfast is always a treat here and I am glad that the check in and out process went very smoothly so that you could enjoy the rest of your day.
Don't hesitate to use us again if you are in the area again prehaps for another family event!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymm
0.7 mi away
Statham Lodge Hotel
1.9 mi away
ibis Budget Warrington Lymm Services
4.7 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
#11 of 21 in Warrington
447 reviews
16.9 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
5.8 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lymm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lymm Hotel

Property: The Lymm Hotel
Address: 15 Whitbarrow Road | Warrington, Lymm WA13 9AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Lymm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lymm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lymm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lymm Hotel is ideal for the business traveller, offering quick and easy access to the whole of the North West. Situated just minutes from the M6 and M56 motorways, both Manchester and Liverpool are within easy reach of this hotel. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, guests can take advantage of free, unlimited WiFi powered by The Cloud throughout the hotel. Dining at The Lymm Hotel is a delicious experience. Our Bridgewater Restaurant serves sumptuous dishes prepared by highly trained chefs using only the finest local ingredients. The Steak and Gill Lounge offers a more relaxed and informal setting where guests can enjoy a perfectly cooked steak in the evening and light meals throughout the day, great for catching up with friends or a quick business lunch. With so much to see and do in the local area, be sure to take time to visit Tatton Park and Arley Hall & Gardens which are both within easy reach of the hotel, as are the many attractions of Manchester, Liverpool and Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lymm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lymm Hotel Warrington
The Lymm Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing