We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year's Eve celebrations”
Review of The Lymm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Lymm Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lymm
GreenLeadersBronze level
uk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“New Year's Eve celebrations”
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

We decided to travel to the Lymm hotel to spend New Year's Eve with our family and friends. I've stayed at this hotel a few times on business and as I usually use Macdonald hotels I know what I'm getting!!
Once again this little hotel came up with a splendid night of great food, service and entertainment. We started with champagne and canapés and you could tell the canapés was home made which is always a bonus, and delicious to eat!!
We had a 5 course dinner and every course was very tasty, fresh and beautifully presented. The staff detail and attention was faultless and they made us all feel so welcome and special.
After dinner we danced the night away.
Well done to the hotel team and we will be sure returning to this hotel in the near future.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank bauerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    264
    215
    70
    46
See reviews for
183
285
29
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

An excellent reception. Arrangements went smoothly; Philp Pasteiner, general manager, and his team responded positively & professionally. The food, service and accommodation was excellent. Our comparatively last-minute request for dinner for 28 or so, did stretch resources admittedly and there was the odd hiccup but the service recovery was exceptional. The chef, kitchen staff, the hotel team and the managers all played a positive part in delivering an exceptional service; nothing was too much trouble. A little attention to the bathrooms would be helpful but that did not detract one iota from our enjoyment.
Malcolm Howells

Room Tip: Room 201 is both quirky and unique. My sister and her husband stayed in this and, from their report...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macowls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasteiner, General Manager at The Lymm Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Mr Howells,
Thank you very much for your excellent review.
Your comments are very much appreciated and have been shared within the team here at the Lymm Hotel. It was good to hear that everything went well, so you did not have to worry about any arrangements during this sad time when your mind was on other matters. Once again I would like to offer you my sincere condolances and I hope to be able to welcome you and your family back in happier circumstances. Best regards, Philip Pasteiner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level Contributor
88 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This is quite a small macdonald (associate) hotel. The village it is in is very quaint- its about a 10 minute walk into the village.
The hotel has 2 distinct parts- the old building and the new section. We got a free upgrade to the larger executive room, this was in the old building.
Room was big, very warm, furniture ok but a touch dated. was clean, well presented. No complimentary mineral water- despite it saying so on its own website in "room description". Come on macdonald, don't be so mean!
Breakfast room is lovely, breakfast good too. The bar is nice and acts as a lounge too.
we would stay here again if we got a really good deal.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danbertNobacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

There were six of us for Christmas Day lunch when normally we would take it in turns to cook.
This is such a special occasion everything had to come up to expectations or much disappointment and expense for us all..... the service at the Lymm hotel was excellent from the start. We had a pre-lunch drink before being called but not rushed into a three course lunch with a glass of prosciutto and mince pies and coffee in the lounge afterwards. All served pleasantly. The food was excellent with the choice on the day not in advance as we have encountered in the past.
Congratulations to all the staff for a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindy718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasteiner, General Manager at The Lymm Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having written such a positive review. Christmas is always a magical time here at the Lymm Hotel and it was good to read that you enjoyed your family Chritsmans Day meal with us. We do have many guests who return to us on a regular basis and it is on the reputation that you outlined, of great service and good food that we have built our reputation. I look forward to your return visit next Chritmas if not before!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

After 'umming and ahhing' about what to do for my father's birthday, we decided to stay at the Lymm Hotel for 2 nights as it was located conveniently for all of our group. I am incredibly pleased with what turned out to be a very enjoyable stay.

Things were brilliant from the off, and the young guy on reception when checking us in was more than helpful in accommodating our needs and even upgraded my father to an executive room at no extra cost, (he found out about the birthday during a very pleasant chat during the check in process).

We didn't dine in the hotel in the evening; instead opting to eat in the village which is not located too far away, but if the food in the evening is anything as good as the breakfast were, we definitely would in future. Large portions and cooked to perfection with a great choice off a cold buffet.

The bar staff were also very attentive and were more than happy for our party to have a few drinks quite late on into the night, checking that we were okay and didn’t require anything else.

The rooms themselves were incredibly comfortable and clean; the bathrooms are slightly outdated, but we were told that at some point in the future they may be getting refurbished.

All in all, the Lymm provided a great base for us and was incredibly welcoming, the rooms are slightly outdated, but the service more than makes up for it. We look forward to coming back; even more so if a refurbishment of bedrooms takes place.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to make staff aware of special occasions; they will go aboe and beyond to help y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasteiner, General Manager at The Lymm Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the Lymm Hotel proved to be a good choice for your get-away. We do receive many excellent comments about our comfortable rooms and for the excellent breakfast. Dinner is always a treat and our Chef Mark Burke heads up a great team of excellent chefs who enjoy their trade using exceptional produce. The hotel being situated in the triangle between Manchester, Liverpool and Chester lends itself to being an ideal base to visit the North West. I look forward to welcoming you back to us on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I just wanted to thank the Lymm hotel and all the staff for a fantastic two night Christmas break. My family and I have never spent Christmas at a hotel and searching for the right hotel was very daunting as we wanted to make it a very special occasion. The Lymm Hotel was perfect. The rooms were clean, spacious and warm. The staff went the extra mile to make sure we were comfortable and happy. The food was exceptionally good and the lounge bar was a very relaxing environment. The Lymm Hotel was a brilliant place to stay for Christmas and I would certainly recommend it! It is also about a five minute walk from the Canal and Lymm village. A very memorable Christmas - thank you!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasteiner, General Manager at The Lymm Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for having written in so positively about the Lymm Hotel. I was thrilled to read that you very much enjoyed your stay with us. Christmas is always a magical time for us here and we do get many guests returning on a regular basis for the Festive period. Your comments are very much appreciated and I look forward to welcoming you back in 2014 perhaps!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This is the only hotel in the area which is why I think it gets away with being so poor. The bedrooms haven't been updated since the 1980s. The first room I had, hadn't been used in a long time and smelt musty. I got in the shower to find water dripping out of the light fitting above! The second room was safer but incredibly small.
The staff themselves were helpful and the restaurant service was good. The food was average but edible. I think most of it's customers are business users so perhaps they are not as particular but I wouldn't recommend this hotel for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K00kieKrumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasteiner, General Manager at The Lymm Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Warrington has got a thriving hotel sector which gives us plenty of competition. All our bedrooms have been recetly repainted and the carpets changed in many rooms. We do receive many excellent comments about our food, both for dinner and for breakfast thanks to our policy of using responsibly sourced ingedients and many fair trade items.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lymm hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymm
0.7 mi away
Statham Lodge Hotel
1.9 mi away
ibis Budget Warrington Lymm Services
4.7 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
#11 of 21 in Warrington
447 reviews
16.9 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
5.8 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lymm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lymm Hotel

Property: The Lymm Hotel
Address: 15 Whitbarrow Road | Warrington, Lymm WA13 9AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Lymm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lymm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lymm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lymm Hotel is ideal for the business traveller, offering quick and easy access to the whole of the North West. Situated just minutes from the M6 and M56 motorways, both Manchester and Liverpool are within easy reach of this hotel. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, guests can take advantage of free, unlimited WiFi powered by The Cloud throughout the hotel. Dining at The Lymm Hotel is a delicious experience. Our Bridgewater Restaurant serves sumptuous dishes prepared by highly trained chefs using only the finest local ingredients. The Steak and Gill Lounge offers a more relaxed and informal setting where guests can enjoy a perfectly cooked steak in the evening and light meals throughout the day, great for catching up with friends or a quick business lunch. With so much to see and do in the local area, be sure to take time to visit Tatton Park and Arley Hall & Gardens which are both within easy reach of the hotel, as are the many attractions of Manchester, Liverpool and Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lymm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lymm Hotel Warrington
The Lymm Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing