We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good!”
Review of The Lymm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Lymm Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lymm
GreenLeadersBronze level
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed for one night at The Lymm as part of a group of 24 for a 90th birthday event. My partner and I had a very nice, well appointed room in the main building, which was very clean and comfortable and not at all tired in decor.

The birthday do was well organised and served by a good humoured and friendly staff and I thought the food was excellent. Breakfast the following morning was tasty, well cooked and plentiful.

My only criticisms were that the hotel was fiercely overheated and that ending breakfast service at 10am on a Sunday is a little too early.........resulting in an extremely over-busy dining room between 9.30 and 10 and a frantic gallop to breakfast after a late night!

Room Tip: Think the main house seems like the best bet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tobykizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasteiner, General Manager at The Lymm Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind words in your review, though I would like to think that it is not a surprise when you come to a hotel within the Macdonald group.
It was wonderful to read that you found the hotel good and that all the arrangements for the private party excellent. We do receive a lot of great feedback about our food and it was good to see that this was mirrored in the food served for your party.
We have tried to offer breakfast for a longer service period but have found that whatever time it is served until, the last half an hour tends to be very busy and would recommend that guests come a bit earlier to avoid any possible disappointment.
Thank you once again for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    264
    215
    70
    46
See reviews for
183
285
29
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

we stayed two nights, our first night we dined in the hotel restaurant.The starters were fine but the main courses were rather disappointing my wife had batter fish and home made hand cut chips, the were soggy and overcooked, like they flashed in the fryer to try to reheat them. I had the Lamb shoulder with mash and vegetables, the amount of mash and vegetables was huge to to size of the rolled lamb, by the time I removed the skin that held it together I don't think there were was a 100gms of meat left. However I did complain to the restaurant manager and he said he would arrange another portion of lamb but that would take 20 minutes to cook, so I declined. We left the restaurant and sat in the bar, where the restaurant manager said he would not charge me for my meal. which I accepted, but I should have an acceptable meal in the first place. Regarding the hotel it is rather tired as other reviews have mentioned but very clean. In our room we had a single and double bed, but the double had only one bedside table so I had to book, teacup etc on the floor. Lastly the biggest problem to me as it was raining we had to walk through the rain from our room to the main hotel, there is no direct access to the main hotel building.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveKalavilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffy12
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful stay at the Lymm Hotel from arriving until departure, pre allocated nice room, tasty bar snacks for lunch ,excellent restaurant with gorgeous sirloin steaks, super breakfast, car parking on door step and a lovely village too look around, would certainly recommend for short break or business , wedding venue. Thanks too all the team for making our stay perfect.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Booked the restaurant for 1pm on Mothering Sunday. Food excellent, service good and great relaxed atmosphere. We enjoyed having food without being rushed out for the next sitting. Would recommend this hotel restaurant

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gorgeous H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We arrived for our short break at the hotel early evening and the officious receptionist was more concerned in obtaining payment from us for our room (even though we had prepaid on a Tesco rewards deal) than offering us information about the hotel. Our room was quite small but comfortable. However when we settled down at bedtime which for we pensioners is around 11 p.m. we were unable to get to sleep because of the noise from the bar below our bedroom. My husband went down to reception and requested another room and the duty manager kindly moved us to Room 120 which was even smaller than our first room but lovely and quiet.... that is until 5:30 a.m. the following morning when the kitchen staff started banging, clattering and chattering directly beneath our bedroom. So it was two bleary eyed guests that made our way down to breakfast where Margaret the lovely Restaurant manager was totally sympathetic to our plight and went straight to Louise, the very efficient manager on duty who sorted us out yet another room this time in the annexe the furthest away from the main hotel building. The bottle of wine in our new room was graciously accepted but it did not really improve our opinion of the hotel which we have to say we were very disappointed with. I think next time we visit the area we shall stay in the Premier Inn at Knutsford.

Room Tip: Avoid Rooms 105 (above bar) and 120 (above kitchens).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mazzyking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasteiner, General Manager at The Lymm Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. It was most unfortunate that did not have a good night's sleep on your first night due to noise from other guests below and I was glad to read that we were able to move you to a quieter room for the rest of the night. It was deemed preferential for you not to be relocated outside in the Annexe at that time of the night.
When we have got an event going on at the hotel, we do try to locate our guests who are not part of the proceedings as far away as possible. Unfortunately on that night there seemed to be an impromptu gathering in the lounge bar below that we had not forseen.
It was heartening to read that you found the team here very helpful and efficient and that you enjoyed the rest of your stay.
On your next stay, please contact us directly so that we can allocate you a quiet room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I regularly stay at this hotel for convenience, the food is good, but a little pricey, the staff are friendly. The rooms are ok, but could do with a little face lift. The location of the hotel is great. Lymm is a great place to stay for a night, or to get away from the busy city of Manchester.

Room Tip: Room 201 is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dimples50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasteiner, General Manager at The Lymm Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. As you say our location is very convenient for our guests who like our easy access to all the main cities of the North West, together with the proximity to the motorway network but with a village atmosphere to relax in. Room 201 is one of our executive rooms and is certainly querky. We do get a lot of good comments about the friendliness of our team and our chefs do a great job with the responisbily sourced, where possible fair trade produced, freshly prepared food that they work with. Looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Was attending a business meeting on site for 2 days,although the hotel room is somewhat dated in decor it was clean and comfortable,the meeting room was also a bit dreary as i said to my colleagues the last time i was in a room like this they drew the curtains and cremated my dad !!!! But the staff and food certainly make up for any of this,service throughout was prompt and polite and the set buffet lunch and evening meal were superb by any standard, and the delegate rate we enjoyed was by far the best value for money i have known .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malcolm f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasteiner, General Manager at The Lymm Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. It was good to hear that the conference that you had here went well and that you enjoyed your stay. All our conference rooms are being redecorated so I am sure that on your next visit you will get a different feel to your meeting room.
We do get a lot of great feedback about our food and our chef Mark Burke does enjoy our deli buffet lunches that we do for our conferenes. Our conference guests fnd that the Lymm hotel offers a good conbination of professional meeting space, accommodation and meals with the very relaxed atmosphere of the village within a few minutes walk.
Looking forward to welcoming your next conference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymm
0.7 mi away
Statham Lodge Hotel
1.9 mi away
ibis Budget Warrington Lymm Services
4.7 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
#11 of 21 in Warrington
447 reviews
16.9 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
5.8 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lymm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lymm Hotel

Property: The Lymm Hotel
Address: 15 Whitbarrow Road | Warrington, Lymm WA13 9AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Lymm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lymm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lymm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lymm Hotel is ideal for the business traveller, offering quick and easy access to the whole of the North West. Situated just minutes from the M6 and M56 motorways, both Manchester and Liverpool are within easy reach of this hotel. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, guests can take advantage of free, unlimited WiFi powered by The Cloud throughout the hotel. Dining at The Lymm Hotel is a delicious experience. Our Bridgewater Restaurant serves sumptuous dishes prepared by highly trained chefs using only the finest local ingredients. The Steak and Gill Lounge offers a more relaxed and informal setting where guests can enjoy a perfectly cooked steak in the evening and light meals throughout the day, great for catching up with friends or a quick business lunch. With so much to see and do in the local area, be sure to take time to visit Tatton Park and Arley Hall & Gardens which are both within easy reach of the hotel, as are the many attractions of Manchester, Liverpool and Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lymm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lymm Hotel Warrington
The Lymm Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing