We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in beautifull village”
Review of The Lymm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lymm Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lymm
GreenLeadersBronze level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in beautifull village”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Have stayed at the Lymm hotel three times in the last three years in the beautiful village of Lymm in Cheshire. The hotel is your typical English country hotel but also has a modern feel about it once inside. We have not eaten there in the evening as it looks quite expensive and there is a lot to choose from in the village itself. The hotel is nicely decorated and is set at the end of a quiet street in a very nice area. The breakfast was very nice on previous visits but on this occasion we had breakfast in a café in the village called to Terrace which was superb. Lymm itself is beautiful and on par with places we have visited in the Cotsworlds, there is a lake surrounded by a nice walk, a canal with Swans, ducks and geese. The village it self has a variety of shops, pubs and restaurants, cobbled streets, stocks and is surrounded by beautiful countryside.

Room Tip: We have stayed in an executive room and also a standard room and to be honest apart from size (the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redwazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasteiner, General Manager at The Lymm Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review.
It was great to read that you very much enjoyed your short break with us. Our location close to the motorways but in a semi rural setting is a huge advantage with lots of places you can visit at an easy drive such as Manchester, Liverpool, Chester and Warrington itself.
As you mention we are an English country hotel with a modern feel situated in close proximity of the cobbled stoned village of Lymm. The quality of our Macdonald Hotels breakfast is well known and there are always plenty of things to do in the area.
We look forward to welcoming you back for your next short break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    265
    215
    70
    46
See reviews for
183
286
29
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

If noisy plumbing, stained grout in the bathroom, no air conditioning, patchy wifi and used cotton wool buds in your "luxury" hotel room are your thing, then this is probably a good choice for you!

I don't know if the hotel has only recently been taken over by the normally excellent Macdonald Hotels group, but there is certainly work to do here.

The staff were OK overall with a nice relaxed checkin, but the hotel doesn't live up to it's luxury billing. On a hot summer's night, we needed to have our window open, but the noise from the car park made for a very restless night and an unexpected early morning alarm call from the kids playing outside.

Bar prices too (as may be expected) were high, reaching £11.50 for an average glass of New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc.

We didn't eat in the restaurant as we were staying to attend a wedding in the "intimate" (small) function room, and as breakfast wasn't included in our room rate, so I can't comment on these.

If you need to stay in the Lymm area, then this is probably the best choice for you if you can avoid paying the standard rack rate. Our discounted rate (for a Saturday night) was £64, which was acceptable for the standard of room we stayed in. But housekeeping standards need to drastically improve!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lexy1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasteiner, General Manager at The Lymm Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. Luxury as they say, is in the eye of the beholder! However we are very comfortable with our position in the higher quality bracket within our three star rating.
It was good to read that you found us value for money and that you would recommend us for guests coming to the area.
Your maintenance comments have been actioned and I am very sorry if they in anyway tarnished your stay with us. Although we don't have any airconditioning in our bedrooms, it was most unfortunate that other guests interrupted your sleep due to the need to open your window with the recent hot weather.
As a matter of clarification, the price for our entry level wine is £4 per 175 glass and the size that you chose was 250ml for the New Zealand Bishop's Leap.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel and the food is first class. My only criticism is no aircon in the room. And its a very hot summer day so, I had to open the window all night but the village of Lymm is such a noisy place on a weekend. But that's a small criticism and I would defo stay again!

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Ekin1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasteiner, General Manager at The Lymm Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review. It was great to hear that you were very pleased with our lovely hotel and found the food first class. Unfortunately none of our rooms have air conditioning and here in the North West the heat wave that we experienced over the those days was very unusual. We did offer fans to all of our guests who requested them at the time.
It was very positive to read that you would not hesitate to stay again here at the Lymm Hotel and I look forward to meeting you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

After a long journey it's great to arrive at your hotel with no hassle in the car park, lots of space. Then onto reception, where there is a welcome from a very helpful receptionist. The room was clean and comfortable, with coffee and even a trouser press. The outstanding quality of this hotel are the staff, well trained and friendly - thank you everyone.

Room Tip: My room was on the front of the hotel - it was quiet and sunny in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stretford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

When looking for some where for an anniversary meal for my husband and me l thought of the Lymm hotel l had been there before with friends and enjoyed a super meal. We weren't disappointed! We had late booking at 8-30pm as they were very busy and we ate in an area off the bar area it was very nice and intimate.

l had shallot and goats cheese tart husband had haggis neeps and tatties for starter.

Husband had a lovely Lemon Sole l had a very generous tick cut sirloin steak which was just perfect. With the hotel being a MacDolnals they are very Scottish influenced and the meat is sourced from Scotland which l liked.

Desert was a warm chocolate fudge cake for him and l had a knickerbocker glory
Coffee and mints followed, Staff were great wonderful service

Room Tip: We didn't stay as live quite near just used the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hazand93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

On business with a couple of colleagues but not staying at Lymm Hotel. Popped in for a meal and watch England go out of the World Cup. Could not have been looked after any better. Great food, table service for drinks. Very friendly, welcoming and personable.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonvom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I must admit I was a little put off by one or two of the reviews but, from experience, know that this can sometimes be misleading. Our first stay was faultless - from the friendly reception staff, very helpful evening bar and restaurant staff (who delivered excellent service even thought we were the last diners in) through to the excellent fresh cooked breakfast and super friendly and efficient waiters and waitresses who served it. The decor is in keeping with the age of the hotel, bed was comfy and rooms very clean. I booked a second stay on the strength of this and wasn't disappointed second time around. Just take some of the reviews with a pinch of salt - I have stayed in 4 and 5 star hotels all over the world and must say I was more than happy with the Lymm Hotel and will be staying again.

Room Tip: Room 201 is on the top floor and has a big bathroom but can get warm and there is a little bit of tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthurlee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymm
0.7 mi away
Statham Lodge Hotel
1.9 mi away
ibis Budget Warrington Lymm Services
4.7 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
#11 of 21 in Warrington
447 reviews
16.9 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
5.8 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lymm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lymm Hotel

Property: The Lymm Hotel
Address: 15 Whitbarrow Road | Warrington, Lymm WA13 9AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Lymm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lymm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lymm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lymm Hotel is ideal for the business traveller, offering quick and easy access to the whole of the North West. Situated just minutes from the M6 and M56 motorways, both Manchester and Liverpool are within easy reach of this hotel. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, guests can take advantage of free, unlimited WiFi powered by The Cloud throughout the hotel. Dining at The Lymm Hotel is a delicious experience. Our Bridgewater Restaurant serves sumptuous dishes prepared by highly trained chefs using only the finest local ingredients. The Steak and Gill Lounge offers a more relaxed and informal setting where guests can enjoy a perfectly cooked steak in the evening and light meals throughout the day, great for catching up with friends or a quick business lunch. With so much to see and do in the local area, be sure to take time to visit Tatton Park and Arley Hall & Gardens which are both within easy reach of the hotel, as are the many attractions of Manchester, Liverpool and Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lymm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lymm Hotel Warrington
The Lymm Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing