We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Robbed.”
Review of Cibo Restaurant - CLOSED

Cibo Restaurant
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: THIS RESTAURANT NOW HAS NEW OWNERS - CIBO RESTAURANT GROUP IT WILL STILL BE AN ITALIAN RESTAURANT
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Robbed.”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Booked for Christmas Day a few weeks ago, received a phone call the week before asking for a deposit, when I offered to pay by card they said the machine was broken and could we go down with cash, which we did. Turned up on Xmas Day to find the place closed. draw your own conclusions about the kind of people that would do this.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
117 Thank Jeff1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    23
    19
    11
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lymm, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Very poor (potential) customer service”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

27/12/2013 Booked a table for this evening. Just returned home from an excellent meal at the Green Dragon (only 10 minutes walk up the road) because when we turned up at Cibo it was closed! Eventually found a note in a window saying restaurant was closed due to electronic problem in the kitchen. We had left a contact number on booking so have no idea why we had not been contacted to inform us of the closure, can only assume the management have no concept of customer service! First choice next time will be the Green Dragon, certainly not Cibo.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
91 Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service and friendly staff”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Although it was fairly quiet (not surprising for a Monday) the atmosphere was still nice. All the staff couldn't do more to accommodate to our needs even if that was off the menu. Food came out quick and was delicious! Would recommend the burger and penne with prawns. All the staff were very hospitable and great value for money. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordanallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Today my husband and myself went to Cibo for lunch . We had tried to contact the restaurant the last few days but without success but today there was an answer so we booked and went . We were surprised to learn that the restaurant had no manager on duty , nor was the owner there but the young staff , without anyone in authority, were amazing and looked after us really well . We are full of admiration of the way they took charge and managed everything in a very professional way .The food was excellent , the service very friendly and the atmosphere warm and relaxing . They are to be commended for their imitative and professionalism .

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank artyelsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Poorly run. Turned away at the door.”
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

We keep trying at Cibo, having visited about half a dozen times in the last year, but each time something goes wrong. I'm afraid to say that this last visit will be our last.
We had seen signs for a potentially great offer of pizza or pasta during the week at lunch for under £4, and so went down to try it. Unfortunately this time we were turned away at the door due to a private party that was taking place. There was no sign to show this, nor were the offer signs on the street removed.
Just another failure I'm afraid.
On another occasion in the last year we had been sold a hot pizza that then arrived with no chillies etc, and when questioned they said they had run out. In itself bad enough, but then we were charged the full price even though another of our pizzas had more on it but cost less.
It could be so good, if they just sorted out the problems, but as it stands it's set to close in the near future I'm expecting. Listen to your customers!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
117 Thank Caesar147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cibo Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing