We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Service at Sunday Lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Statham Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lymm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We had booked to go for Sunday Lunch for a special family event, after having our wedding there 5 years ago. We'd been wanting to go for years but hadn't got round to it. My Dad has been quite poorly recently, so it was nice that he could come out with us. When we arrived the receptionist was friendly and the person who showed us to our table was good too, although seemed very rushed. Before the mains was being served the plates were brought by someone who turned out to be quite rude throughout the whole time we were there. He wasn't in he same uniform as the others so was either new, or unfortunately might have been in charge. He didn't smile once and said the bare minimum. He cleared our starter plates away without speaking, just rushed over and leaned in. He didn't ask if everything had been ok. When he brought the plates for the main, again he rushed over and without a hello or excuse me, asked who was having the vegetarian main and then went on to give everyone else a plate but them and left without another word. He later pushed passed my Mum as she was trying to sit down and he looked cross. We also saw him in the corridor and he did then same. The person who cleared the main dishes was warm and friendly, just what you would expect at such a place and at £17 a head. The girl sorting the deserts was again rushed and unfriendly but if the other person was in charge, I don't blame her as this was the lead she was given. It left us feeling very uncomfortable throughout the whole meal. I didn't enjoy the food as my stomach was churning with the atmosphere they staff were creating. I understand that somewhere like Statham Lodge is very busy at Sunday lunch time but surely they have to realise that their diners have come there to relax. We won't be going back for Sunday Lunch again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

Had my wedding here in May and I could not fault it, the day was perfect. The staff were really attentive and looked after us and Kelly the Wedding Planner kept everything running to a t. We had the gazebo for the ceremony and the gardens look amazing on the photos. The main reception was in the Gainsborough suite and the food was outstanding, everyone commented on how lovely it was. A fantastic day at a beautiful venue, couldn't have wished for a better place.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

We booked only a few hours before we arrived and we got a suite for the price of a standard double. The rooms and hotel is immaculately clean and well organised. The breakfast was enormous red hot and I mean red hot! Tasty great local ingredients just too much for a normal appetite. Staff were polite helpful and courteous at all times and even the drinks at the bar weren't the usual ridiculous hotel prices. Well worth a stay for its beautiful gardens and location.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Friendly staff, lovely rooms, great breakfast
The gardens were beautiful too
. Ideal location if you are visiting Lymm.
Would recommend for romantic stay or family get together.
-------------------------------------------

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suejohnhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights for my sons wedding from start to finish it was excellent. On arrival we met friendly staff, nothing was too much for them, first night we ate at Chinese restaurant in village. We had excellent breakfast with cheerful staff. My son & daughter in law could not have had a nicer wedding

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Audrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

Booked relatively last minute for last Saturday. Really enjoyed our stay. There was a wedding going on but that didn't worry us as we went out for dinner at La Boheme in Lymm which was fab. Bath was great, big and deep. Shower not so good in terms of water pressure. Bed comfy, room lovely. Breakfast was great and really friendly staff. The grounds are amazing!! Only downside was the constant hum of traffic from the motorway but this didn't spoil our visit. Definitely visit again :-)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kwenatola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We arrived on a Saturday afternoon and there was a wedding in progress. Our mistake maybe for not checking ahead re the wedding! (We booked through booking.com which of course does not give any clue as to other functions in the hotels.) Some of the guests spilled over into the Bar in the evening and were very loud, which spoilt the atmosphere for us and others. The Restaurant where we had hoped to eat was closed because of the wedding and no apology was offered. Another couple arrived later in the evening who had booked a meal in the restaurant and were asked to eat in the bar, which I thought was very poor customer service. However, the Bar food was good and the bar staff very helpful. The breakfast was also good. When we booked out and paid there was no friendly enquiry as to whether we had enjoyed our stay, which we usually encounter elsewhere. Small criticisms possibly but the lack of restaurant and noisy wedding in evening put a damper on our visit. Probably lovely visited mid-week!

Room Tip: Don't book room 14 if you do not want to listen to the kitchen fan, which stopped about 9.30pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stephen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymm
0.7 mi away
The Lymm Hotel
The Lymm Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lymm
895 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
#8 of 22 in Warrington
275 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
1,519 reviews
6.3 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
1,027 reviews
14.4 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Statham Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Statham Lodge Hotel

Address: Warrington Road, Lymm WA13 9BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Lymm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lymm
Price Range: £75 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Statham Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Statham Lodges' beautifully landscaped gardens, surrounded by country fields yet with excellent network links remains a testament to careful and loving ownership. Still the focal point for excellent food and hospitality it continues to enjoy an enviable reputation. Statham Lodge Country House Hotel is a breathtaking Georgian manor house hotel, benefiting from stunning views of the Cheshire countryside, surrounded by acres of private gardens. Packed with original features, this charming and glamorously stylish hideaway is ideal for those in search of a luxury country break, superb dining & some well earned time away from busy lives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Statham Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Statham Hotel Country
Statham Lodge Hotel Lymm, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing