We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Scenic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Koh Poda Island

Koh Poda Island
Book In Advance
More Info
US$22.36*
and up
4 Islands Tour to Spectacular Divided Sea by Longtail or Speed Boat from Krabi
Ranked #56 of 156 things to do in Krabi Province
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: private beach
Kolkata
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very Scenic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

I visited Poda on a longtail boat from Aonang. It takes about half an hour to reach there from Aonang. The good thing is that I went in the late afternoon when the crowd was minimal and got an opportunity to enjoy the breathtaking views from this island. Thought I could spend hours there lazing around.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debkrishna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    62
    26
    15
    8
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Scenic, but flawed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Took a boat to the islands, beginning with Poda. The beach is very nice except for the rubbish, much of which I suspect has drifted in on the currents. There are bars and food stalls by the beach, meaning loud music and many people. Main complaint was that the treed area had a fence around it and a 20b fee to enter. So you have to pay to get out of the sun.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank tw25rw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“High hopes... Not fulfilled”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

From the shore of Ao Nang it looks like a tropical paradise, somewhere to get away from it all on white sanded beaches.... In reality it's pretty dirty!

We arrived and were greeted by some nice sand then rubbish and bits everywhere (lots of lighters for some reason) I can help but think the lack of bins on the island contributes.

The water was lovely and the fish were fun.

There is a little restaurant which is horrifically over priced for the crap they serve, toilets were horrific!

Generally It was a bit of a let down - we did see monkeys and also be aware there is wildlife there like the snake we encountered coming towards us...

Probably wouldn't go again

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaysmith2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“White sand, clear water.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We hired a boat for a day and stopped for 2-3 hours on this island. We didn't stop where all the other boats where so it didn't feel crowded at all.

The sand was white and clean and the water was amazing. Clear water and some fish for snorkelling (but not amazing snorkelling).

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingDarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Get away from it all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Koh Poda Island is in the middle of a beautiful nowhere! Krabi is indeed pregnant with Signs all around us. The uninhabited (by man) islands that jutt out from the ocean breaking the monotony of the horizon is just too beautiful to witness. The fact that most of the earth's surface is underwater leads one to imagine just exactly what is all down and out there. Poda is one of the many tourist hot spots, so try visiting just before or after the rush. Being mostly uninhabited, the little shoppe on shore gets replenished with snacks etc on a daily basis by boat. How uhmazzzzing is that?!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Naadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Koh Poda Island also viewed

Ao Nang, Krabi Town
Krabi Province, Thailand
 
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
Krabi Province, Thailand
 

Been to Koh Poda Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing