We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be prepared to hold your breath”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Full Moon Garden Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Katunayake
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We arrived in Colombo late at night and wanted to travel down the coast to Unawatuna during daylight. The hotel is well located and the communal areas are nice. Just be preapred for the smell which hits you as your room door opens. A Lumpy thin mattress and pillows added to the 'ambience' of the room.

Do yourself a favour and avoid this one.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 87 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2012

booked in one night here by tour company prior to early morning flight.rooms worn out and dirty,No cold water for first 3 hours,no hot water at all during stay.Towels had holes in.
Had lunch and diiner here as no other alternatives within walking distance of hotel,food cheap but awful,Waiter and night porter excellent,other staff seem to be struggling with constant complaints from guests.on positive side only £3 (600 rupees} 5 minute taxi ride to airport

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dunstablechris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We had a few hours to kill before our flight so we went to the restaurant at this hotel for dinner. We had to wait for 20 mins for someone to come and take our order. 45 mins later we had to prompt the waiters to check if our food was ready. We felt rude interrupting their highly intense conversation. Turned out that the food had probably been sitting there for a while and no one bothered to bring it out. It was cold and the supposedly prawn fried rice didn't have a single prawn in it. When we asked the staff they said it was probably chopped up finely or mashed into the rice. WHATEVER!!!!!!!

Our table wasn't clean when we were asked to sit there.

Won't be going back there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABP85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We arrived in Colombo late on a Friday night, and didn't fancy travelling down the coast to Unawatuna during the night. I'd bumped into a cricket travelling pal at the airport who informed me he was stopping at the Full Moon Garden with some other friends of ours. So me and my girlfriend booked a room for the night.
The hotel is very close to the airport, which is a plus point (but someone should inform the taxi drivers at Colombo airport of this fact!!!)
The room wasn't the best, considering it was far from cheap (8,500 rupees we paid) with what can only be described as camp beds and not a very good bathroom.
The pool area looked ok, and can't comment on the bar, but looked ok!!
Breakfast was just an egg, fruit juice and tea or coffee.
What probably saves this hotel is the fact that 90% of guests only stop for 1 night on arrival or prior to departure from Sri Lanka and therefore suffer in silence!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whiteensign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We booked this hotel for our arrival into Sri Lanka because of it's close proximity to the airport. We arrived at 3:30 am with a guaranteed reservation. The overnite clerk did his best but our room 402 had been given to someone else. We spent the first nite in a room with one bed, not two as requested and a bathroom that smelled so horrible that I almost threw up. Next morning we were moved to our original room that was well below what we expected. Fairly clean but small and very stark. We are very used to 3rd world accomodations but were still surprised at this. The pool looked ok until about 25 young boys showed up for a swimming lesson who were not guests. This hotel pretends to be for tourists but really makes their money from local residents who use all the facilities except the awful rooms. Only bright thing was the lobby WIFI which worked very well. Avoid this property.

Room Tip: Did not see any acceptable rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wombat999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

This hotel was cheap and was booked purely to be close to the airport before I departed early the next morning.

The staff were friendly and the pool, dining area was presentable. Also they had free wifi.

The food was OK and a good price.

But the rooms were poor. My room wasn't very clean. The bedsheets were marked (I am sure they were clean but old stains). The bed was not comfortable.

The bathroom smelt of sewage and wasn't very clean or in good repair. My toilet continually refilled and there was water on the floor due to a blocked drain...blocked with lots of hair. Towels were also marked - though again I think they were clean.

I travel a lot alone and stay in many hotels, but for some reason I was nervous during my stay. The lock on the door to my hotel room was a door lock that I would have as an external door lock.

I would probably stay again if I had an early flight as it's cheap and serves its purpose but it wouldn't be a choice or a recommendation to others!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hellyb123red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We stayed less than 24 hours and managed to get food poisoning from the restaurant (raw chicken) AND to get all our bags and shoes soaking wet from a water leak in the roof.

The standards were shockingly low, the rooms dark and uncomfortable, the pool looked like a death trap with bare wires hanging around near the water. We went for a little walk but there was absolutely nothing of interest in the area.

Despite all that the hotel put us through, all they offered as compensation was a free, crappy breakfast, on the condition that we wouldn't tell anyone or complain to the travel organiser. Yeah right.

We thought that it would be a good idea to stay the first night near the airport after the long flight, so that we could wake up refreshed for the drive to the beaches down south, but since we had to stop the car several times to be sick on this journey we very much wished that we had just gotten on with our travel onwards ASAP, and never put our foot at the Full Moon Garden.

Room Tip: Perhaps one that doesn't have water dripping down the roof?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katunayake
1.7 mi away
Ramada Katunayake Colombo International Airport
0.1 mi away
Ared Villa
Ared Villa
#1 of 2 in Katunayaka
5 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Airport Garden Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Paradise
Hotel Paradise
#4 of 8 in Katunayake
14 reviews
2.9 mi away
Amagi Lagoon Resort & Spa
Amagi Lagoon Resort & Spa
#17 of 43 in Negombo
319 reviews
1.0 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Full Moon Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Full Moon Garden Hotel

Address: 754 Colombo Road, Katunayake, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Katunayake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Katunayake
Price Range: £30 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Full Moon Garden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Full Moon Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Full Moon Garden Hotel Sri Lanka/Katunayake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing