We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hotel airport” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Full Moon Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Full Moon Garden Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Katunayake
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“hotel airport”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

On entry everything looks splendid.
Had a supposedly de-luxe room. UGH.
Food awful, .
Need to concentrate more on quality, than quantity.
Huge servings.
Cockroach in bathroom.
Excellent taxi service to airport, about 5 minutes away.

Room Tip: Dont go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KIM T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    18
    22
    29
    37
See reviews for
21
48
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo
Level Contributor
149 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

The Hotel is in property close to the Colombo International Airport and about 40 minutes travel to the City.

The first impression of any hotel is the service quality at the front office. In this case there is only one word "PUTRID". There are 2 Receptionists manning the Desk, both cannot communicate in English and this is where the trouble starts, because being a Sri Lankan, even my attempt to converse in Sinhala failed. On the first visit to this hotel I was kept waiting for 45 minutes without any explanation ( in spite of several reminders) to meet the Banquets Manager.

On the second visit on the day of the Banquet, where I had booked a room, for overnight stay after the function, when I enquired for the room, I was first asked if I came to meet a guest, subsequently after explaining that the room was already reserved, they insisted that the room be paid in full before check in!

The front office assistant manager then challenged me for raising this issue. You dont get the feeling of a valuable guest, but a pauper seeking alms!!

The Hotel Front Desk totally lacks PR, and they do not realize that the very existence is based on the clientele. Belligerence is the order.

The rooms are spartan. Small, bathrooms are clean, linen both bed and bath are clean.

Food particularly the Sri Lankan cuisine is tasty.

The Banquet I ordered was done well very efficiently handled by the Banquet Manager Munasinghe, and this was the only saving grace.

I ordered Tea after checking in, and received a chipped tea cup, showing the lack of attentiveness to quality.

Attempt to get two bottles of Mineral water from the night manager was another nightmare and a total failure.

The comment on this page titled " Management in the Hands of Goons" is more than apt.

Room Tip: Try to avoid if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mahinda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Katunayake hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012 via mobile

Looks good outside, but rooms are dirty and filled with blood sucking moskitos!!!
The personal was very friendly and polite.
We stayed there just one night before we left Sri Lanka.
One the hand it Is good to be close to The airport but in the other hand be prepaired to have only little sleep.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chriskathistan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

I was shocked at the managers unruly attitude towards us during our stay. Our travel agent chose this place due to its proximity to the airport, other than this, we had a terrible experience!


Stinking toilet, no mineral water in the room, waiters dont speak english at all! I ordered for club sandwich for my 3 kids, when the waiter got it to my room, i asked him to make 3 sandwichs, instead, he made 3 parcels and distributed the 1 sandwich i ordered in 3 parcels!! When i told his manager about what the waiter dis, he said i was wrong and fought with me!!! I was zapped!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moiz_Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Holland Province, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
670 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

This was booked as a refuge from the airport whilst we were waiting for a connecting flight to the Maldives. Arriving at 4am we went straight to bed. The room was comfortable enough and we slept well for some hours. Breakfast was included and we took this by the outside swimming pool. A very basic breakfast. The whole hotel is quite old and in need of updating. The hotel is literally only 7-10 minutes in a taxi from the airport. Cost was 1900 SLR. this may be a bit too much for the short ride.

Room Tip: Ok for an overnight stay close to the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skinut79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giv'atayim, Israel
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

The hotel is located near the airport, so that is the reason we stayed here.
So hotel is expensive, we paid 7200 rupees for standard room!! The hotel looks very beautiful and impressive from outside, but do not let them to foll you - the inside is just bad.
The rooms are not clean and the bathroom is just terrible. The AC performed such a noise that we could not sleep.
Satellite TV is inside.
The only beam of light in this darkness is that bed sheets and towels were clean!
The stuff was OK, helped with wake up and ordered the taxi on time.

Room Tip: do not stay in #206
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kyem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We arrived in Colombo late at night and wanted to travel down the coast to Unawatuna during daylight. The hotel is well located and the communal areas are nice. Just be preapred for the smell which hits you as your room door opens. A Lumpy thin mattress and pillows added to the 'ambience' of the room.

Do yourself a favour and avoid this one.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katunayake
1.4 mi away
The Covanro
The Covanro
#1 of 1 in Veyangoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ramada Katunayake Colombo International Airport
0.8 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Airport Garden Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#3 of 42 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
3.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ja Ela
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.1 mi away
Neo Holiday Home
Neo Holiday Home
#1 of 12 in Katunayake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Full Moon Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Full Moon Garden Hotel

Property: Full Moon Garden Hotel
Address: 754 Colombo Road, Katunayake, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Katunayake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Katunayake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Full Moon Garden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Full Moon Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Full Moon Garden Hotel Sri Lanka/Katunayake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing