We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful food and surroundings - a must do in SW Ireland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Mustard Seed at Echo Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballingarry
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful food and surroundings - a must do in SW Ireland”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We changed our travel plans between Cork and Galway so to get to the Mustard Seed based on a friend's recommendation and the food did not disappoint. 5 star food and wine in a beautiful setting. Overall, have to agree with previous strong reviews that referenced warm welcoming staff, beautiful grounds, incredible decor, and a talented chef. I don't deliberately look for things to improve on, but in a restaurant sitting at this level of standards, I would want a few things improved - menus are tatty, we were offered 3 separate sheets of badly printed paper, we had to always poor our wine ourselves, we were not offered another bottle of wine or water when finished, and only approached when a dish was ready - no one checked on us. They also assume payment would happen over/after drinks in the lounge. Given we were driving onwards and did not have more time, instead of bringing the bill to our table, I had to go to the manager's desk and wait while the card was processed. Food excellent but to be excellent, I'd expect not to be in a position of noting these things.

Room Tip: Did not stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shootermcgavin1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    32
    20
    7
    1
See reviews for
59
181
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham Al
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

My husband and I recently spent two evenings at the Mustard Seed At Echo Lodge. We arrived on a rainy afternoon directly from a long overnight international flight from Atlanta to New York and then on to Shannon International Airport. We were very tired, jet-lagged, and hungry. We knew that it was probably too early to check in, but we just wanted to locate the accommodation before locating lunch.
Upon arrival, we were greeted by Daniel, the owner, who welcomed us, asked us if we had already had lunch (which we had not), and then asked if he could bring us some soup and sandwich, along with a warm cup of tea and/or coffee. He showed us into the library, asked one of his staff members to take our luggage from the car to our room, and returned with a wonderful bowl of Mushroom and Truffle Soup, Ham and Cheese Sandwiches on home-made brown bread, and warm beverages.
After lunch, Daniel escorted us to our lovely room which was actually a suite, furnished with antique pieces, books, sculptures, and unique collections of artwork.
My husband and I commented to one another that it was so quiet and peaceful there. We enjoyed relaxing for the remainder of the afternoon by taking a walk in the lovely gardens which have paths through a wooded area in back, vegetable and herb gardens and fruit tree orchards surrounding the rear portion of the home.
At dinner time, we spent a few moments warming by the cozy fire with pre-dinner cocktails. The wine list was impressive. The dinner was served in an elegantly furnished formal dining room with high ceilings, large bay windows with cheerful window boxes of colorful flowers. The dinner choices included several gourmet selections, accompanied by fresh vegetables and herbs grown in their own garden. Everything was delicious, from appetizer to dessert. Rory, the server, was attentive, polite,and very efficient.
The breakfast was also delicious. Breakfast choices included a large buffet of homemade breads, fresh fruits, juices,cereals, and a menu for hot cooked breakfast, ranging from the large traditional Irish breakfast, fresh omelets,waffles with fruit, and other wonderful choices.
Rory, our server, and John,one of the Managers, provided suggestions for possible activities and attractions to visit, as well as directions. We accessed the Cliffs of Moher from there in a leisurely morning's drive from Mustard Seed. However, there were several other attractions nearby which would have also been interesting.
We thoroughly enjoyed our two nights at the Mustard Seed At Echo Lodge. Daniel was the perfect host, and his his staff were extremely helpful in every possible way.
One of the other reviews stated that Mustard Seed is "in the middle of nowhere", but this gives a false impression. It is located in a quiet village which is within a short drive to the lovely town of Adare in County Limerick. It is in relatively close proximity to the Shannon International Airport, and it is a perfect place to enjoy peaceful quiet in a beautiful, warm welcoming environment.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank leapin_lemur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

I was fortunate enough to win a voucher for a two night stay with a fantastic dinner in this wonderful country house hotel. From the moment, we arrived we were made to feel extremely welcome and the staff were warm and friendly. Our room was beautifully decorated with antique pieces and quirky photos that added to the homely feel. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. The freshly baked goods are out of this world the best scones myself or my partner have ever had. The staff were so attentive to us and were helpful in every way. The twilight dinner was the perfect way to celebrate my 4 year anniversary with my partner. The food was presented to an impeccable standard, nearly too good to eat, everything tasted delicious especially my chocolate dessert! Would definitely recommend this place especially if you have an interest in fine food like me. It really is the best of Irish produce and an Irish welcome!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AislingAlicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

The Mustard Seed is an extraordinary place with a warm welcoming staff, beautiful grounds,
incredible decor, and a chef who is very talented.
We began with drinks in front of the fireplace, then moved into the charming dining room for
a dinner so delicious and beautifully presented---including vegetables grown in their own garden.The service was impeccable and friendly. We moved to the library for coffee to end a perfect evening. Breakfast was equally delicious and sumptuous.
Our room was elegantly furnished with antiques and old country furnishings, with floor to ceiling windows, a fireplace and a fabulous view overlooking the front lawn of the property. This is an enchanting place, and we were thrilled and grateful to be introduced to the Mustard Seed by our friends from Dublin.

Susan of New York City

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susannaofpatmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed there recently had read the reviews and was looking forward to something very special
The welcome from the staff was lovely they were all very friendly
Rooms are somewhat dated need a bit of work no body lotion or conditioner in the bathroom bottles of soap shampoo not working properly
Dinner was beautiful but felt meat was under cooked still stuck to the bone
Why do restaurants persist in expecting people to share vegetables each person should have their own you are charged for each person
Alsi felt rushed at end to have coffee in piano room to make room for someone else in dining
room
No bar have to wait for service for drinks no atmosphere in the place
Breakfast very good but could be better why only a half tomato ?
Drinks very expensive all in all overpriced for what you get

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haulage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Our year would not be complete without at least one visit to The Mustard Seed.

This year we brought American friends from New York and Cincinnati for dinner and overnight. They were totally enchanted with the whole experience

We received the usual warm welcome from Dan, John and all the staff. They always manage to make everyone feel special.

Our friends agreed that the food was exceptional and their rooms extremely comfortable with a lovely view of the gardens.

Noel,& Catherine Turley - Dublin

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Its in a beautiful place the Team are all lovely and the FOOD Fabulous most is grown in the lovely gardens ... It's homely yet an adventure all in one place.
Can't say enough about it ...
You just need to go and enjoy it for your self well wort ever cent.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaisyWorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballingarry
16.1 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
7.4 mi away
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
7.1 mi away
Dunraven Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.7 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
16.9 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,871 reviews
43.5 mi away
Hayfield Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mustard Seed at Echo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mustard Seed at Echo Lodge

Property: The Mustard Seed at Echo Lodge
Address: Ballingarry, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Ballingarry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballingarry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mustard Seed at Echo Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Co. Limerick countryside is The Mustard Seed at Echo Lodge, a converted 19th century convent. The celebrated and comfortable Echo Lodge is set amid mature trees, herbaceous borders, orchard and kitchen garden. Home to The Mustard Seed restaurant, the busy, buzzy dining room has long been highly acclaimed, attracting lovers of good food and fine wine from around the globe. The Mustard Seed is an oasis of understated luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Mustard Seed at Echo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mustard Seed At Echo Hotel Adare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing