We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best dinning experience ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Mustard Seed at Echo Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballingarry
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
“Best dinning experience ”
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Quality food, friendly staff and lovely atmosphere!What more could you ask for?!Excellent. Will definitely try and repeat this experience.The drive was a bit far from Limerick city centre, it took about 30min but well worth it.Nice little hide away.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank GabrielaMg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    37
    20
    7
    1
See reviews for
63
195
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Recently my husband, our 13 years old pet dog Mr Murphy and I stayed at Echo Lodge in Ballingary for three days, we eat, we drank, we slept, we walked and we embraced the opportunity to recharged our batteries.
Echo Lodge is a wounderful peaceful hideaway and minutes from Adare, Limerick race course and city.
I want to thank Dan, Johnedward, Rolond and all the staff for the professional, friendly, homely and thoughtful way in which we were cared for during our stay.
The restaurant at this hotel is " The Mustard Seed" and the food from breakfast all the way to dinner was mouthwatering AND exciting, my fav dinner was the Partridge and pear.
They serve several types of breakfast one being the porridge made with a shot of Irish whiskey, perfect for the winter mornings!!
The accommodation was amazing, we had an apartment with, living room with fire, kitchen and upstairs bedroom with ensuite, the views very lovely and a walk of 10mins puts you in the local village of Ballingary.
Our pet was welcomed with kindness, which for those of us who treat our pets as part of our family will greatly appreciate!!
Thanks to all of you again for your kindness and you will see us in the future.
Carol Clancy,
Limerick City

Room Tip: Ask for your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caioncola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

If you are looking for amazing food, unparalled hospitality and comfortable accommodation this is the place for you. We had a badly needed time out and the Mustard Seed exceeded all our expectations. They were sold out of Fillet Steak so we opted for the sirloin which was superior quality and beautifully cooked. I am a coeliac, have an egg and prawn allergy and I was bowled over by what was on offer. We were previlaged to be staying here and felt so welcome by John Edward and all the staff. If you have a wish list put the Mustard Seed at Echo Lodge on it. We will be back

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbiegirlLimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

My wife & I and another couple recently dined in the Mustard See. It's a bit of an institution around here, known for the beautiful setting & good food.. The positives first...lovely location, excellent service and the starters & desserts were very tasty. However ... all four of us (none of whom is a fussy eater!) were massively disappointed with the quality of main courses. On arrival, we were presented with a set menu of 5 - 6 options, one of which was beef steak, with a choice of fillet or sirloin. One of our group, on asking for the fillet was told 5 minutes later "sorry, we don't have any left". This was early on a Saturday evening, about 7.30pm so I find it incredible that a well run restaurant could run out of one of the few options on the set menu so early.

As for the main courses when they arrived, the 2 of us who ordered sirloin steak found it chewy, gristly and of a quality you would be unhappy with if you had bought the cheapest butcher's cut. The very strange thing was that, for both of us, of the 3 pieces of fillet on each plate, we both had one piece which was absolutely beautiful, tender and tasty (the other 2 being almost inedible). Did they run out of the "good" stuff and decided to try to spread it around??? The other 2 in our party had the wild boar and again found it extremely tough.

I had heard previously a few people saying that the Mustard Seed was trading on it's name, with the quality of food no longer appropriate to the prices it was charging. I can confirm that this sadly is true.

I complained on the night, with the waiter saying that he'd mention it to the chef, and one of the others in our group was so annoyed that she subsequently wrote in to complain.

Really disappointing and not only will I not return, but I so annoyed at the really poor quality of food that was dished out that I am telling everyone who will listen. When I compare it to some of the other restaurants we have been to lately, where the food has been of far superior quality, and half the price (see my other reviews), the Mustard Seed owners / management should be ashamed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gombeen99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Had a great night here recently.there was a group of us the food was top class with excellent service.The rooms were old style breakfast was great.
Cannot find a fault with the place and shall return.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marley20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We were delighted with our recent trip to The Mustard Seed, a beautiful Country House Hotel set in magnificent surroundings. The extensive gardens provide lovely walks for guests, and also supply the chef with tasty vegetables, fruit and eggs.

On arrival, we were greeted at the door by John Edward and invited into the entrance hall which had a blazing log fire surrounded by comfy chairs, and were offered tea or coffee, which set the scene for a wonderfully relaxing weekend. The whole house is filled with interesting art, furniture and quirky items dotted around the corridors and guest rooms, adding to the homely atmosphere.

Dan, the owner, has a gift for making everyone feel so welcome. He takes pride in providing a personal touch, and does so with great aplomb! He spent time planning an itinerary for our day out, highlighting the points of interest to explore. We enjoyed gourmet meals in the restaurant on both nights, where it was obvious that many diners were repeat-customers - always a good sign - who had a great rapport with the very friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bettybarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed here recently on our honeymoon. We arrived on a Wednesday afternoon to a lovely welcome from John and a glass of bubbly to congratulate us. We were shown to an amazing room with a four poster bed where we relaxed for a few hours before dinner. We went downstairs and had a drink in front of the fire before going in for dinner. The place is so relaxed and we had a lovely evening. The food was very very good and there was a reasonable choice of wine. Breakfast the next morning was great as well and the service at dinner and breakfast was excellent. It's a perfect place to get away from it all and really relax.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SeoigheN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballingarry
7.1 mi away
Dunraven Arms Hotel
7.4 mi away
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
16.1 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,329 reviews
16.9 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
1,946 reviews
15.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mustard Seed at Echo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mustard Seed at Echo Lodge

Property: The Mustard Seed at Echo Lodge
Address: Ballingarry, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Ballingarry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballingarry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mustard Seed at Echo Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Co. Limerick countryside is The Mustard Seed at Echo Lodge, a converted 19th century convent. The celebrated and comfortable Echo Lodge is set amid mature trees, herbaceous borders, orchard and kitchen garden. Home to The Mustard Seed restaurant, the busy, buzzy dining room has long been highly acclaimed, attracting lovers of good food and fine wine from around the globe. The Mustard Seed is an oasis of understated luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Mustard Seed at Echo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mustard Seed At Echo Hotel Adare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing