We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Mustard Seed at Echo Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballingarry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My mum and i went to eat here but had no booking but the guy we spoke to could not be more helpful. They didn't have a table for a couple of hours but he asked if he could try The Kitchen across the water to see if they had space. we thought that this was excellent customer service as we felt that he did not have to do this but glad that he did. The only reason its not got a 5 is because we did not eat here but next time will book so can try the food.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Carrz84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

We spent our anniversary weekend here in combination with rental of a vintage sports car from the nearby Retroventure cars - and no better place to drive up to in style. The old country house setup with the friendly reception you receive does makes you feel like you're actually an invited guest. Food is lovely and the gardens are great to walk through particularly if you have an interest in growing your own food - we got lots of good ideas!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jtm33665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

My husband and I have just spent two days here with our little dog.

From the moment we walked in the door we were swept away with the care, kindness and attention lavished on us by Dan and his lovely staff. Everything is designed to make you relax and feel cherished and pampered. The food was amazing - on a par with any menu we have sampled in Dublin's finest restaurants but at a fraction of the cost - and with the added piquancy of knowing your fruit and veg came directly from the Mustard Seed's gardens! Aperitif beforehand in the exquisite drawing room, coffee afterwards in the library overlooking the sweeping front lawn, all contributed to an utterly delightful experience.

The accommodation was fabulous and even our dog slept the sleep of the innocent, notwithstanding his earlier interaction with the resident cat - no fur was spilled, however. For anyone with a dog, the gardens themselves are gorgeous but there is also a little park just a two minute walk away where you can let them run.

We were totally spoiled with the lovely breakfasts - the fruit compote was healthy enough to assuage our guilt as we tucked into our eggs afterwards - and again everything done with charm and kindness and attention to detail.

I can't recall when we ever enjoyed ourselves more away. We weren't surprised to overhear other guests from America reminisce about their previous trips here. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryhand2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We were expecting very good things.the service and atmosphere was faultless tobe fair. Food was overrated however.very small portions and the food didnt tatse too well and way overpriced.this is top d4 restaurant pricing in rural county limerick. A half bottle of house wine €18 and no room for us to drink our coffee after the meal, was a little Ott.very nice staff but sorry. .overrated for the price and travel distance from limerick.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael81_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

The Mustard Seed is good for the soul. Owner Dan Mullane realises that it's not just about a beautifully decorated country house and fabulous food, but the people who work with him. Stay once and feel welcomed; return and feel like you're visiting an old friend.

The food has changed slightly since our last stay, and reflects prevailing trends, with mention of 'soil' and 'paint' in the descriptions. What hasn't changed is the quality and taste- you are assured of a wonderful meal, with service that is attentive and friendly, but never over-bearing or coldly formal. Our dinner was delicious, and the portions were just the right size.
Breakfast is equally delicious, with rhubarb from the garden, and eggs obligingly laid by the hens. Being coeliac (as I am) is no trouble either- there's cereal and delicious homemade brown bread.

Our room was spacious yet cosy, with beautiful dark wood furniture, and a lovely corner bath in the en suite.
The Mustard Seed excels in places to sit down and relax, and there's always an interesting book or magazine nearby. There are equal opportunities to stroll or sit down and relax outside, with seats dotted around the gardens.

The Mustard Seed is simply a wonderful place staffed by wonderful people. It's the kind of place you don't want to leave and will keep coming back to again and again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good! They each have their own distinctive personality and blend of antique and mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SW2inCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I loved this hotel, very interesting architecture and furnishings with terrific art. The room was wonderful a mix of old and new! I must say, the staff was so incredibly helpful. They went way beyond the call of duty to assist me. I arrived and somehow lost my blood testing kit and it was linked to my insulin pump. They cared and took the time to taxi me to a pharmacy and the medical clinic.
The food was absolutely sumptuous and I had a chance to talk a bit with one of the young passionate cutting edge chefs there, he was in the process of reading a volume on some very specific process of cooking. It is wonderful when talented people maintain their enthusisim and share those fruits. I saw the owner doing some of the flower arranging himself and he was truly a delightful proprietor. I bet it is even better to see the grounds and gardens in the summer. I highly recommend this gem.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We visited in late November and loved the ambiance, Xmas decorations, and the food was superb. It's a magical place and part of the enjoyment is the staff--esp. John. He was wonderful and so welcoming. This is so far superior than staying at a large facility. Very intimate and a feeling of a home away from home. We've raved about them ever since we returned home. Our favorite place of all.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rad32013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballingarry
7.1 mi away
Dunraven Arms Hotel
7.4 mi away
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
16.1 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
16.9 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
1,987 reviews
16.5 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mustard Seed at Echo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mustard Seed at Echo Lodge

Address: Ballingarry, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Ballingarry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballingarry
Price Range: £159 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mustard Seed at Echo Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Co. Limerick countryside is The Mustard Seed at Echo Lodge, a converted 19th century convent. The celebrated and comfortable Echo Lodge is set amid mature trees, herbaceous borders, orchard and kitchen garden. Home to The Mustard Seed restaurant, the busy, buzzy dining room has long been highly acclaimed, attracting lovers of good food and fine wine from around the globe. The Mustard Seed is an oasis of understated luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Mustard Seed at Echo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mustard Seed At Echo Hotel Adare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing