We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Mustard Seed at Echo Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballingarry
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We went here for my Mother's birthday as a special occasion and the food was outstanding. Will definitely go back here again soon. The service, the atmosphere and the food were all top class. Couldn't recommend it enough!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    33
    20
    7
    1
See reviews for
60
186
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

This was our 2nd trip to Echo Lodge - and I can't believe that it surpassed our first stay!
Dan and this team are amazing and so lucky to live in this wonderful Ossis. They welcome everyone like old friends, offering tea and home made snacks to us weary travellers. Our room was lovely and like the rest of the house is subtle blending of east and west.
Dinner was excellent, we both had the mozzarella salad with heirloom tomatoes (grown themselves) and a truly spectacular basil ice cream !!
I had an excellent beef ribeye with a melt in the mouth brisket served with seasonal greens including a wonderful pea purée. We finished the evening with coffee & drinks in the library just chatting and relaxing in a little bit of heaven!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jorandnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay on the way back from Waterville. Greeted warmly and offered coffee and cookies on the terrace. Room was beautifully decorated and we slept like babies. Dinner and breakfast were delicious, menu had a sonnet and at breakfast we got another a greeting. Nice touch! Our dog was given a welcome pack. Dan thinks of everything. We'll be back!


Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MissEllie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We arrived to such a warm welcome from Daniel the owner who served us tea and cookies on the terrace. Daniel made our stay in The mustard seed even more memorable as he really made us feel at home and chatted away to us even serving us complimentary champagne and freshly picked raspberries at dinner.
Our bedroom and indeed the whole house was so cosy and comfortable with huge beds and lovely finishing touches such as fresh flowers in the bedrooms
Our evening 4 course meal was delicious and presented beautifully. The confit duck was the highlight for me and my partner had high praise for the lamb and gooseberry cheesecake.
Breakfast the following morning was equally as fresh and delicious. I didn't want to leave this house.
we will definitely be back to the Mustard seed!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieBergin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Grove, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My wife and I were on our honeymoon, traveling the south of Ireland enjoying the landscape. We drove into Adare, Ireland. We stopped into the tourist information office to find out the best place to stay. Quickly, the woman behind the counter was super helpful and made some suggestions. We quickly decided on a B&B, in Ballingarry. As we approached, which by the way was not just up the road as the woman at the office stated. You need a GPS to get here, especially if you are not familiar with the area. As we entered the drive up to house, on the left you see a beautiful garden, with a water feature that was not operational, but nontheless a majestic estate. As we entered, you walk through a large grand wooden door, fully open, as if you were walking into an old southern plantation, as I visualize it. Inviting as it was grand. Antique furniture and paintings blanketed the home. We were asked to see Daniel, the proprietor of the Mustard Seed. Soon enough we meet up with Daniel, a jolly of a man, large smile and inviting demeanor who was prepping some fresh from the garden gooseberries for the next mornings breakfast. Quickly, we are in conversation and feel like I had known him for years. He showed us his place, what he had to offer, and the rooms available. Both me and my new wife loved it! The Mustard Seed had its own garden where they grow a lot of the food they cook and pride themselves in buying local for their proteins. We settled into our room and took a nice tour of the house and its grounds. The house was located in a quiet neighborhood. We had a early day that day, we decided to sit out front overlooking the large yard and garden on some wooden, padded lounge chairs. It was a cool, early evening, with the sun in western sky and a beautiful blue sky. We were sitting there enjoying the moment, we accidentally took a short nap. It was amazing, refreshed, we awoke, went to dinner. It was a five course dinner. We met John, the manager, Thomas, the maitre-de, and Ashling, the waitress. It was an awsome dinner experience. We did not feel like strangers. Breakfast the next morning was just the same. My wife had irish porridge with Jameson whiskey, she loved it. She stated it was some of the best porridge she has had. I had the irish breakfast, it also was great. I had some of the flakiest, most tender, aromatic, and best tasting blood sausage. Understanding that blood sausage consists of sheeps blood. Daniel, John, Thomas, and Ashling, thank you for your hard work and great exprience. We fully recommend The Mustard Seed if you are ever in the area and need a quiet, exquisite place to feel at home, fill your belly, sleep, and rest your head.

Room Tip: We were able to see a couple of rooms, the choices were the front and the back. We stayed in the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Juan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This place is just beautiful. I booked in with my two Jack Russell's and we were all made extremely welcome by the host, Dan. The room was lovely and doors opened out on to the front gardens, extra handy with the dogs, but also perfect for taking advantage of the super weather to just open up and sit out. I had dinner as well and the food lived up to previous reviews. A wonderful selection of half bottle wines was particularly welcome. The house would be lovely to visit out of season as well, as the reception rooms looked lovely and well set up for staying in should it be dark or the weather not great. I wish I had had more time to spend!

Room Tip: Call and mention if you wasn't to bring your canine family members. This allows Dan to allocate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alshakesby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Delicious food, beautiful surroundings and suburb service. Thanks to Dan, John and all the staff at The Mustard Seed for a great night. The duck was cooked to perfection. Looking forward to my next visit. Would recommend to everyone.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballingarry
16.1 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
7.1 mi away
Dunraven Arms Hotel
7.4 mi away
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
1,905 reviews
21.4 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,215 reviews
4.5 mi away
Rathkeale House Hotel
Rathkeale House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rathkeale
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mustard Seed at Echo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mustard Seed at Echo Lodge

Property: The Mustard Seed at Echo Lodge
Address: Ballingarry, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Ballingarry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballingarry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mustard Seed at Echo Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Co. Limerick countryside is The Mustard Seed at Echo Lodge, a converted 19th century convent. The celebrated and comfortable Echo Lodge is set amid mature trees, herbaceous borders, orchard and kitchen garden. Home to The Mustard Seed restaurant, the busy, buzzy dining room has long been highly acclaimed, attracting lovers of good food and fine wine from around the globe. The Mustard Seed is an oasis of understated luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Mustard Seed at Echo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mustard Seed At Echo Hotel Adare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing