We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed a week, would have like to stay a month” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mustard Seed at Echo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mustard Seed at Echo Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballingarry
Certificate of Excellence
Collingswood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stayed a week, would have like to stay a month”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2010

We selected Echo Lodge as a base for touring Western Ireland and our expectations were well exceeded. Our stay seemed like a cross between a visit to a friend's private estate and a five star hotel. This is a large country house on ten beautiful private landscaped acres of lawn, flower gardens, orchard, and herb and vegetable gardens. The famed Mustard Seed restaurant lived up to its billing in every way and a broad variety of hearty choices was always available at breakfast. The comfortable public rooms are decorated with an elegant mix of antiques, furnishings, books, and artwork bearing the owner's personal taste. We were given a beautifully appointed two floor suite with a fireplace stove, small library, kitchenette, and lovely views of the grounds and Irish countryside from the double doors. The bed was excellent.
Beyond the all superlatives for the food, decor, and gardens the best thing about our stay was the personal and attentive service. Dan and his staff went to all ends to please us and all the other guests. They are consummate professionals maintaining a warm and friendly manner.
While we underestimated the driving times going to the Cliffs of Moher, the Burren, the DIngle Peninsula, the Ring of Kerry, and Killarney, all were well within an easy day's drive. This was a wonderful week for us made better by selecting Echo Lodge.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2JerseyTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    32
    19
    7
    1
See reviews for
59
178
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2010

As parents of young children we can find it difficult to find places to stay that keeps everyone happy but echo lodge was just lovely. It's a lovely old house choc full of old comfy furniture and antiques. Our suite had a separate room upstairs for the kids and double doors downstairs which opened directly onto the garden. Echo lodge had been recommended to me so I expected the meal to be fabulous (and it was) and I expected the house and gardens to be lovely (and they were) but the most memorable bits for me were: how genuine and welcoming the staff were which made us feel comfortable there almost straight away, how I could relax and enjoy my meal knowing the kids were asleep in the room next door, how my city kids got to choose a freshly-laid egg from the chicken coop for their breakfast, how one of the staff saw me admiring the blackcurrants in the garden and appeared with a tupperware box for me to help myself! It really is a special place. We stayed for two nights and we were very sorry to leave!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bridera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randolph, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2010

Unbelievably attentive staff (friendly, hospitable, accommodating, unassuming) - great food!!! Excellent Manor House - some ecclectic (Eastern / Asian) decorating influences that were very understandable after talking to the owner- beautiful grounds / gardens - and did I say, Great Food! Mustard Seed is worth going out of your way to stay at!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2010

Stayed one night with partner at this lovely old country manor, staff were great, very friendly & professional, but relaxed as well. Our room was a lovely bright corner room in the main building, decor a perfect mix of old and new, Irish & exotic, many objects from Asia, including a great buddha sitting under a Celtic cross in the garden! There are loads of books and magazines lying around, overall the feel is more of staying in a really interesting and well-travelled person's house. There's a big kitchen garden & the food is great, reputation well deserved. We had a delicious 5 course meal, portions just right, interesting combinations, lovely flavours and very good service. Overall a real treat, it's not cheap but it is most definitely worth it for a special occasion, will be recommending to all!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank taisce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2010

We had a truly first class experience in the Mustard Seed. The food in the restaurant was just perfect, and as a student of culinary arts I'm finding it increasingly not to find something wrong with everywhere I eat, so that really is saying something! I found the Mustard Seed to be a magical place where I could easily wind down and think of nothing. Ballingary is an easy going town and Adare is only 8km down the road. I will be recommending this hotel and/or restaurant to every single person I meet.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aberryranby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2010

Pampered we were at this elegant hotel from the moment we walked in. 5 plus stars for everything here. A renovated convent, the Mustard Seed exudes charm, history and elegance. The staff were there to genuinely take care of your every need. At dinner the lamb dish practically melted in my mouth. The best of ingredients helped to create a one of a kind dinner and service second to none. Attention to every detail made our stay memorable. Excellent value if you are looking for a very special place to stay!

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank _scolling50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2010

The excellent reviews here led us to make this our choice for my wife and I to spend a birthday weekend here and our best hopes were fully realised. The food was as outstanding as these reviews led us to expect. On our first evening I had prawn tempura and organic smoked salmon which was a delight of a starter and the guinea fowl main was superb. We had dinner on two nights and there was enough choice to give two wonderful meals and explore each others choices. What really impressed me was that there was a birthday party for about 50 (which we had been told of beforehand – impressive of itself) and despite the large influx we were not neglected but were able to eat at a reasonable pace. I really felt not as though we were an adjunct to the dinner party but that a real effort was being made to ensure that we did not feel that way. The suite we had provided two bedrooms, a sitting room and a kitchenette all at a very reasonable price. It does not have jacuzzi, swimming pool and the like – but if you are looking for a small country hotel with wonderful food out in the countryside with great service then this is hard to beat.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballingarry
0.0 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hayfield Manor Hotel
0.0 mi away
Dunraven Arms Hotel
0.0 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mustard Seed at Echo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mustard Seed at Echo Lodge

Property: The Mustard Seed at Echo Lodge
Address: Ballingarry, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Ballingarry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballingarry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mustard Seed at Echo Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Co. Limerick countryside is The Mustard Seed at Echo Lodge, a converted 19th century convent. The celebrated and comfortable Echo Lodge is set amid mature trees, herbaceous borders, orchard and kitchen garden. Home to The Mustard Seed restaurant, the busy, buzzy dining room has long been highly acclaimed, attracting lovers of good food and fine wine from around the globe. The Mustard Seed is an oasis of understated luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your The Mustard Seed at Echo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mustard Seed At Echo Hotel Adare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing