We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tartar sauce out of a jar!!!”

Crown and Castle – Trinity Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 9 Restaurants in Orford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$45
Cuisines: Italian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Trinity is the stand-alone restaurant for the Crown and Castle. It has a lively atmosphere and the tables are close together (be aware), with one special doggie table (30) in the bar area that definitely needs to be booked, although - please note - we only take reservations generally for Sunday lunch and dinner. Our Monday-Saturday Smart Pub Lunch offers an affordable and approachable choice of British and Italian dishes. Children of all ages are welcome. In the evening our a la carte is a little more sophisticated, but not tricksy. As we believe the evening is for adult enjoyment, we do not allow children under 8 years old, and there is no children's menu. Having said that, we are ALWAYS happy to serve menu ingredients more simply, both to adults and children. Sample menus may be viewed on our website.
Whitchurch
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“tartar sauce out of a jar!!!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We were staying in Aldeburgh at The Wentworth and decided to go to the Crown for lunch and to check it out for maybe a stay in the future!

I had the fish, which was lovely and fresh, but then they gave me commercial tartar sauce in a jar, which was tasteless and bland, why ruin excellent fresh fish with cheap tartar sauce!

The staff defended the fact with the fact it was made locally, [so what] it was still bland with no quality, it is false economy to save money on junk food, when your restaurant claims to be top quality!

I have eaten in many excellent restaurants, but I have never been offered sauce's in jars.

Any Chef worth his pay would insist on making his own, I can send them a good one, given to me by the Chef at The Boat restaurant at Irbistock North Wales.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Props3, Owner at Crown and Castle – Trinity Restaurant, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
I am sorry you found the Stoke's tartare sauce so distasteful, although I have to say that only an Englishman could devote 2 lines to praising the 'lovely and fresh' fish and 11 lines to castigating the bottled tartare sauce!! I think you have possibly missed the point of our pub lunch menu which is deliberately designed to be familiar, comforting and comfortable. That's why there are things like beer-battered cod and hand-cut chips, home-made shortcrust steak and kidney pie and Suffolk ham, fried egg & hand-cut chips on the menu. It's also why we deliberately offer Heinz tomato ketchup, Colman's mustard and Sarson's vinegar, as well as the aforementioned locally made tartare sauce. In the evening, when the a la carte menu is more sophisticated, all the sauces and dressings are, of course, home-made. It's the way we want to do it, but I understand that it won't suit everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    53
    27
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tried and tested and still good”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Having stayed here many times during our doggy days,we have been absent for a couple of years and called in last week for dinner.We found the staff still extremely friendly and efficient and the food was as good as we remembered.Very happy to find a steak and kidney pie on the menu,a bit ordinary in former days for The Crown,but very acceptable.
All in all an excellent venue in my book,and all the more praiseworthy for keeping the standard up for 15 years or so.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike1947145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Props3, Owner at Crown and Castle – Trinity Restaurant, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
All reviews are welcome but it's particularly nice to have one from a customer who has known us for the 15 years we have run the Crown and Castle. It provides a great point of comparison. We are really pleased you found the food and service as good as ever.

The steak & kidney pie you mention is, indeed, a simple, homely dish. The reason it is on the evening menu (as well as some other plainer dishes, such as Orford-smoked salmon, Orford-landed skate and Dingley Dell slow-roast pork belly) is for two reasons: firstly, many of our guests are conservative by nature and we want to offer them food they will genuinely like and appreciate, and secondly, it's a bloody good pie!! We have so much praise for our proper shortcrust steak & kidney pie that we decided not just to serve it at lunchtime but at dinner, too. Judging from the fact that you yourself ordered it, we were right to do so! But there are, of course, a great many other more sophisticated dishes on our a la carte.

Thank you again for your endorsement of the Trinity at the C&C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

When we were last in the area, 7 years and two weeks ago since you ask, we’d promised ourselves a meal at Orford’s Crown & Castle were we ever to return to Suffolk. We’d had a drink there last time and were most impressed with the place. Thanks, probably to the ghastly weather, we were able to get a table right away when we presented ourselves at 1 o’clock today, and from the friendly welcome to the super service to the exquisite osso bucco and delicious made-to-order steak & kidney pie, our lunch experience was faultless. The hotel has 21 rooms so when we come back we’ll be staying in one of them.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Props3, Owner at Crown and Castle – Trinity Restaurant, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
We are very pleased that you broke your 7 year, 2 week absence from Orford with a lunchtime visit to the Trinity at the C&C. A good decision! Thank you for lovely comments about the food (including our nearly world-famous steak & kidney pie) and service - all very much appreciated. And good to to hear that you are aiming for an overnight stay next time. We will look forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“First visit”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Had lunch here Easter Monday. Every member of staff was welcoming, helpful and professional, the ambience throughout is relaxing and unhurried. The food was lovely, we had the skate (the best he has ever had) and my simple linguine with crab, artichoke hearts and chilli was light but filling. The Chocolate and Guinness cake was to die for. We were kindly shown around some of the rooms, all decorated to a high standard, some overlooking the river. This is a delightful place.

We will definitely be returning to enjoy an evening meal and to stay in one of the rooms.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Props3, Owner at Crown and Castle – Trinity Restaurant, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you very much for your delightful review. We are very pleased you enjoyed our 'smart pub lunch' so much. Thank you, too, for specifying exactly what you ate – it's a lot more helpful for others deciding whether to visit and for us to know what really works. We hope that you will, indeed, come back to stay and enjoy dinner with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Evening!!”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Went to the crown for a Birthday meal so had quiet a large party. I made the booking before the date, arrived at the pub and had a lovely greeting by a couple of staff members as we walked through the door was seated at our table by our very pleasent waitress laura. We all settled down and laura went round us all for drinks which was very promptly brought back to the table. She gave us all time to look at the menu and pointed out there was a specials board which was helpful as quite a few of us ordered from the board. Our meals came out in good time from laura who seemed very much rushed off her feet, but always remained pleasant and polite. She continually asked if we were all ok and if there was anything she could get us. Once we finished our meals the table was cleared promptly again by laura. Puddings were ordered and delivered in the same manner to the table. We paid our bill which for a large party was good value. I would definatly use this pub again for the food and service. Thank you to laura for your polite and quick service had a really good night for my birthday.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank White3854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crown and Castle – Trinity Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Crown and Castle – Trinity Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing