We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crown and Castle – Trinity Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in Orford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$45
Cuisines: Italian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Trinity is the stand-alone restaurant for the Crown and Castle. It has a lively atmosphere and the tables are close together (be aware), with one special doggie table (30) in the bar area that definitely needs to be booked, although - please note - we only take reservations generally for Sunday lunch and dinner. Our Monday-Saturday Smart Pub Lunch offers an affordable and approachable choice of British and Italian dishes. Children of all ages are welcome. In the evening our a la carte is a little more sophisticated, but not tricksy. As we believe the evening is for adult enjoyment, we do not allow children under 8 years old, and there is no children's menu. Having said that, we are ALWAYS happy to serve menu ingredients more simply, both to adults and children. Sample menus may be viewed on our website.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I stayed at the Crown and Castle a few years ago, I loved the hotel, the restaurant and the village of Orford and rented a house in the village for a short break in July 2014. Our group went to the Crown and Castle for dinner the first evening of my stay.

Despite it being a few years since my last visit, the time has not diminished any aspect of the Crown and Castle.

The food is wonderful, the staff provide a great balance of efficiency but above all frendliness and the utter lack of fuss about everything aspect of the restaurant; the menu, the wine list all creates the perfect ambience for a splendid dinner.

The wine list is commendable and we decided to opt for the house white as our second bottle and this was a superb wine (given the cost).

We all enjoyed the evening very much.

Went back for a "smart" pub lunch later in the week and again, a splendid, good value offering... sitting on the terrace on a sunny day was a great pleasure and one I very much hope to repeat before too lon.

A joy!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jcolesw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Props3, Owner at Crown and Castle – Trinity Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
It's so nice to hear that our standards haven't slipped since your first visit to the C&C. Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review and for your generous comments about our food, service and wine list. (We are particularly pleased you enjoyed our house white, Alpha Zeta soave, as we too think it's brilliant stuff.) Thank you for flagging up our Smart Pub Lunch as well. As I write, there are five or six tables of people enjoying good, honest food in the sunshine. Can't get better than that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    54
    27
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The most beautiful freshly prepared food in a wonderful environement. The staff at The Crown and Castle accomodated the seven of us ( including two little girls under 4) on a Saturday lunchtime. All of the waitresses and waiters were so nice and attentive. Fanstastic grilled mackerel fillets and dressed crab. The wine list is wonderful. We had a very relaxed time and felt attended to our every need. A wonderful experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maite M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Props3, Owner at Crown and Castle – Trinity Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed our Smart Pub Lunch (served Monday to Saturday). Thank you very much for all your nice comments about the food and our staff. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good tasty food and great wine”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely potted salmon and trout and then guinea fowl for main. All very well seasoned and cooked to perfection. Also very accommodating about changing scallops from a main to a starter for my parents. And a spontaneous birthday cake for my father. Great atmosphere, only minor comment is that we were table for three squeezed on a table for two.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael_Anderson107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Props3, Owner at Crown and Castle – Trinity Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review and for such positive comments. We are delighted you enjoyed everything from the Scottish scallops to local guineafowl, as well as the atmosphere. You are absolutely right that the table space is limited (and, while I am on a mea culpa kick, the tables are close together, too). Unfortunately, there is very little we can do about it as our public space is so tiny and most of our guests don't want to eat later than 8pm. Very different from London where people are happy to dine at 10pm or even later. But I do send you my apologies, and hope that you will return on another occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“My favourite risotto (ever)”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I won't go on about the merits of this lovely inn and restaurant nestled in the lovely village of Orford with its views of the Castle, its dog friendly garden rooms, good food etc. I will just say that the seafood risotto I ate there a couple of weeks ago was one of the best I have ever had anywhere in the world - good stock, rice al dente, perfect consistency. Nothing more to be said.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Props3, Owner at Crown and Castle – Trinity Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We are quietly proud that we make risotto as an Italian would, i.e. no b****y cream, no oven-cooking (pace Delia), no inappropriate ingredients (b****y beetroot) and the right rice. Sorry about the expletives but thank you so much for recognising that we turn out a pretty authentic risotto. Your comments are really very much appreciated as you obviously know what you are talking about. "Nothing more to be said" except thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsmford Essex
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

This is my favourite restaurant on the planet.
Always superb food, you can really order anything and it will be perfect. Ambience just right, not to formal, relaxed friendly service.
Had the monkfish , soft not chewy, cooked to perfection, after lovely pigeon breasts starter.
Wonderful ricotta and crystallized fruit desert.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank mmChelsmfordEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Props3, Owner at Crown and Castle – Trinity Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Gosh! On the planet!! Well, thank you so much for your incredibly generous review of the Trinity at the Crown and Castle. We are so pleased you enjoy our style of service and really like the food, too. Thank you very much indeed, and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crown and Castle – Trinity Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Crown and Castle – Trinity Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing