We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Loved this place”
other travellers have booked this property
Overview of Ferry Cottage from Quay Street
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Overview of Ferry Cottage from Quay Street
Conservatory view from outside Front door of Ferry Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Overview of Ferry Cottage from Quay Street
Conservatory view from outside
Front door of Ferry Cottage
View of the garden from upstairs double bedroom
View of the garden, plenty of room for entertaining and the children to exercise
Big enough for the children to play football / volleyball / badminton or sunbathe.
View of sitting room, entrance hall and open fire
Conservatory, perfect for entertaining, a place for the children to relax or just to soak up the sun
Comfortable chairs in conservatory
Two comfortable single beds.
Dining room, extra chairs are provided for a full house.
Double bedroom with lovely views.
Guests bedroom with three comfortable single beds
Another view of dining room
Further view showing the natural light this room enjoys.
Kitchen features cooker plus large American style fridge.
Another view of the well equipped kitchen.
Comfortable chairs are a feature of the sitting room with open fire..
modern bathroom with shower and loo
Another view of modern bathroom upstairs.
Just across the road, one of the UK's premier smokehouse shops
On of the delights of any trip to Orford.
Apart from crabbing, fishing and watersports, the Quay is a great place to take in sunrises/sets
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Orford, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
JulieLITA...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Loved this place”
Reviewed 15 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Brought our dog, walked the banks every day! Ate delicios seafood from Pinneys 10 yards from our from door and relaxed in the evenings in front of the fire, perfect family break.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayestrav...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Gorgeous pet-friendly cottage with waterfront location”
Reviewed 8 January 2018 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed for a long weekend break at the cottage and loved every minute of it. Orford is charming and being just a very short walk from the Quay and from there, lovely long walks along the estuary made the location perfect. The cottage is so comfortably furnished and plenty of room for everyone. Thoroughly enjoyed relaxing in the conservatory reading books and chatting. The secluded private garden is perfect for children to play in and BBQs on good weather days. Private parking is a huge plus as space is at a premium in Orford!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambellcc
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Perfect for a young family”
Reviewed 21 December 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Orford. My children loved sailing and walking along the beach. The village has a traditional fee, wonderful food and the pub is amazing.

When Hilaire Belloc wrote “When you have lost your inns, drown your empty selves, for you will have lost the last of England.” has could very well have been thinking about the Jolly Sailor.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet L
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Quintessential British Village Holiday”
Reviewed 4 December 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Ferry Cottage is the perfect spot to enjoy the lovely village of Orford. We rode and walked everywhere. We were fortunate to stay during the Orford Flower Show, which felt like we had wandered into an Enid Blyton novel, complete with Tombola, Coconut Shy and a very entertaining Dog Race. The house is stones throw from the quay where we would watch the boats and even had our first try at crabbing. A wonderful holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod d
1 review
“Comfort in a prime position”
Reviewed 2 December 2017 for a stay in September 2016

We had such a wonderful time in this quaint little English Village in Suffolk. The cottage is just a stone throw from the river one way and a wonderful traditional Pub the "Jolly Sailor" the other. The village itself is very compact and everything is walkable.
The cottage is beautifully appointed to provide every comfort in your stay. It has very convenient off street access to be able to bring a boat. Obviously the river is a focal point in the area providing the opportunity for waterskiing and sailing but the area is also perfect for cycling and I found a real hidden gem of a golf course at the nearby village of Aldeburgh.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful cottage in a fantastic position”
Reviewed 29 November 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We have stayed at Ferry Cottage a number of times and we leave each time with another bagful of great experiences and happy memories, different each time.

We find that it has a wonderfully homely feel with masses of atmosphere and character. It has 3 double bedrooms and, importantly, all the beds are comfortable. There is a well equipped kitchen/breakfast room; a comfortable sitting room with a lovely open fire and a large conservatory - it's absolutely ideal for a winter or summer break. Outside is a large and beautifully kept garden which is amazingly private and completely unoverlooked, despite being at the very heart of everything.

There is every opportunity to discover all sorts of delights on the door step and a short drive away. Alternatively, it's the perfect spot to relax and chill out.

We will definitely be staying here again (and again, we've no doubt).

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claudek19...
Liphook, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous house in a fabulous location”
Reviewed 28 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We had a lovely week's holiday in Orford in this gem of a property which was fantastically appointed and all consideration was made to ensure we had relaxing and enjoyable holiday. Would most certainly book again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing