We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous place, disappointing food”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jolly Sailor Inn & Pub
Ranked #1 of 3 Orford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Please bring back the kids playground.. And decent food with prices that make sense!!! We used to love this place .. Last time we went the kids food literally tasted of nothing.. Come on!! You can do better and fresher than this!! Look where you are! This place used to be packed all the time!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank planetbonkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

Dined with friends, Sunday evening at the end of May. Food choice was excellent and the quality was very good. Lovely pub in an outstanding area of suffolk.
Lots of food choice, including fish, all cooked to a very high standard. Most certainly the place to dine in Orford!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Our walking group had booked a late lunch and we had a really good time here. We were given the backroom more or less to ourselves and after choosing drinks and food did not have to wait for long for excellent food. My friend and i had fishpies and we said the were the best fishpies we ever tasted !! Everyone else also enjoyed their choices and we were being kept up with football results by the helpful waiters without having to watch it. Certainly a pub not to miss when in Orford. Thanks !!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GretaEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We've just returned from a lovely day out in orford , where we had a fantastic lunch at the jolly sailor, we have been here several times over the last couple of years and every meal we've eaten has failed to disappoint, we actually call out lunch here whale and chips as the portions is so large. Very friendly staff, dog friendly too, they even provided Oscar with a treat of his own. No doubt we shall return over the summer.

Room Tip: Sorry we didn't stay here, just visited for the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We decided, based on some reviews in Tripadvisor, to book a night here. We were not disappointed; Orford is a quiet and very "accessible" village with everything to hand, like a bakery, tea rooms a castle and nice pubs without any of the hype associated with popular seaside towns. The Jolly Sailor is set in a row of redbrick cottages down in the Quay, a short walk from the town centre. From the welcoming arrival everything went well. Our room faced east so we watched a lovely dawn rise from a very cosy bed. The bathroom was spacious and well fitted with a lovely long bath with lashings of hot water for a real soak after a windy walk along the coastal path. The evening meal was well served and offered a range of good quality "pub grub". Breakfast in the morning offered a full cooked English or kipper or smoked salmon option, all of which was served generously. Try to get to Orford in time for the Saturday market- the cakes, plants and crafts are well worth browsing.

Room Tip: Check you can manage stairs for one or two of the rooms as the staircase is quite narrow and steep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret Francis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Brilliant location.Excellent food.Friendly staff.
Fine selection of ales.
Did you know Adnams now make a malt whisky?
Well they do and its well worth a try.
Bedroom just fine, slept like a log.
Suffolk breakfast awesome. Don't miss the castle or the Church.
Bakery delish!!
We will return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mural room and it was just fine. No noise just gulls in the morning brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Minquies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed on the 4th and 5th of April, marvellous weekend of good food, wine and beer celebrating a 60th birthday. Everything to a very high standard with the friendliest and most helpful staff who were genuinely friendly as well as efficient. Rooms were very clean with comfy beds.
Orford has a lot to offer if you are looking for peaceful relaxing weekend.

Room Tip: The Mural room for a glimpse of history but be aware of the narrow steep stairway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Jolly Sailor Inn & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolly Sailor Inn & Pub

Address: Quay Street, Orford TQ14 8DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Orford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Orford
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Jolly Sailor Inn & Pub Hotel Orford
Jolly Sailor Inn And Pub
Jolly Sailor Inn & Pub Orford, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing